Beat logo

Top 4 Underrated Gorillaz Songs

The animated band and their primate brand have more hits that you missed

By Samantha ParrishPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Photo from Sonar Barcelona

This band with the primate name has been entertaining music lovers for twenty years with the songs they did, and with the story that has been provided for the animated characters to present the music.

I can recall the first time I was introduced to Gorillaz. I was ten years old when the music CD Commercial NOW had showcased Feel Good Inc. as one of the songs on the CD random compilation for advertisement. I couldn't comprehend what I was watching when I saw an animation that was different then what I had known, I was mesmerized by the characters on the screen and I couldn't take the time to listen to the song that was showcased for the sample in the NOW CD commercial. I couldn't take everything in for that moment, but I remember how it was unlike anything I've ever seen.

A year later, I ended up finding this song again on accident, and I had the opportunity to finish watching the music video and get the chance to listen to the song. I had only known what I had seen as a sample from a CD commercial. It wasn't until nine years later at twenty years old that I could appreciate for how they changed the music scene. Now in the present day, it still impresses me how much this band had grown in their entertainment evolution and I'm glad to be present for their growth and accomplishments. Anytime an album is released, I just know I'll be impressed every time.

Clint Eastwood, Feel Good Inc. and Dare are the songs that are defiantly the most recognized in the media. Ironically, Feel Good Inc. was the only one to make a placement on the Billboard Hot 100.

But there are some accomplishments that went under the radar, after several albums, there are a few that didn't hit the radios or get to be one the music library. I'm hoping to change that by showing these four underrated songs from Gorillaz.

1. Let Me Out feat. Mavis Staples and Pusha T From Humanz

I remember hearing snippets of the new songs that Gorillaz had released after hiatus from Plastic Beach. Recently when I got the opportunity to listen to triumphant comeback of the album Humanz, I can see why it's been hailed as a comeback. The rhythm is smoother and feels that they've broadened the spectrum of their sound. Their sound of their sketchy and stylish identity is still present but polished.

The powerful opening from Pusha T about the fluctuation of frustration with the nation's status was a great way to set the mood of the song with a serious address. I defiantly recommend looking up the lyrics because some of the key words in the song are blurred out and it would help to know what and who Pusha T is describing, it changes the way you look at the song for the better to know exactly who he is addressing.

Mavis Staples sings a haunting and foreboding melody about how a change is going to happen and how something that had been dwelling within is going to be released with the warning for everyone to be ready. The first time I heard this, the frame of this song hit me right in my soul.

It's a song that vocalizes a worry about what will happen to our world and the inner release from within to change themselves and to change the world. To stop the madness going on in the world and their own madness from witnessing the anarchy. There is a gradual decline in the nation and this song serves as that commentary.

This song hits the mark on many topics, and I can see the accurate relevancy to this current scattered status of the world.

Let Me Out was the one that stuck with me and I see it as the staple to listen to if you want to start this album. It struck me for the awareness it has and how it will be a song that can be timeless for it's message about the turmoil that must be fixed.

There's no way around keeping the pain in, the release will happen one way or another with or without warning. This song is a reminder of that foreboding premonition.

2. On Melancholy Hill from Plastic Beach

When I was getting back into Gorillaz, this gem was something that I feel is the pinnacle of how Gorillaz can maintain their identity of their sound with doing something different. The reaction from most of the fans and critics cite this song as a Beatles-inspired song, after listening to it, I can agree that it feels like a modern day Yellow Submarine. The sound of Gorillaz is usually sketchy and uneasy with how they create the music and create equally sketchy lyrics to match.

This just shows that they are more then just sketchy sounding songs, even now with their newest album Song Machine does have songs that are almost on the same easy going groove like Melancholy Hill. If you have listened to the newest album, I'd go back to the Plastic Beach album and select this track to compare how Gorillaz has grown to do songs like these.

3. Tomorrow Comes Today from Gorillaz EP album

This was a song that took a while to grow on me to appreciate it. Listening to it, it has a eerie ambiance with harmonica beats. There's rarely been a song that creates an atmosphere that feels like all is lost but there is an acceptance of that loss.

This aura of the song is very dreary but there is a sense of peace that does come with this song. The singer has given up on whatever it was he was supposed to deal with or accomplish. It isn't a depressive song, it just has the singer accepted his outcome.

There isn't much to say about this song because of how short it is and the sullied soliloquy it makes , it's best to let the song speak for itself and give it a listen.

4. Stylo from Plastic Beach

This is a song I've mentioned often in my articles for a song for a road trip or a song to listen to for a sketchy vibe for writing. It's an enticing and eerie song to blast the beats in the car. It makes me feel that I'm on the run and I have to hope I can outrun whatever is after me.

Even though this is a song describing a car and how it drives. The aura in the song does give this feeling of unease that this car has to drive fast to get away from what is coming after them.

The music video created for the song is a one of the most impressive music videos that I've ever seen for Gorillaz. To have a perfect balance of animating the evolution of a new style for the characters, and having it matched to the music that was made. The song was perfectly encapsulated, I can defiantly see this song being used for a movie after an amazing presentation for the song in the music video.

This song made an impact on my driving trips to give me a sense of excitement and foreboding friction as if something was after me. That's why I listen to Gorillaz, I know I'll get a song that'll have me immersed into a world around the song they provide. To have a moment to be taken away, that's music is supposed to do, and Gorillaz did a damn good with this song.

It has to be said this way, Stylo has a lot of style.

If your a fan of Gorillaz, I hope this list has made an increase for your audio library to have some more songs you didn't know from the animated band.

I cover this topic on several articles to showcase the underrated work for various musicians that have songs that flew under the radar. It would appreciated to have a tiny tip to my ongoing work with these articles.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read this playlist piece.

list
1

About the Creator

Samantha Parrish

What's something interesting you always wanted to know?

Instagram: parrishpassages

tiktok: themysticalspacewitch

My book Inglorious Ink is now available on Amazon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.