Beat logo

Tierra Amira Jones — Changing The Game As DJ Full Xposure

Tierra Amira Jones

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 4 min read
1

What’s your name, artist name and where are you from?

My artist name is DJ Full Xposure but Tierra Jones to my friends! I’m based in Los Angeles but originally born and raised from the east coasts finest, Washington DC!

What makes you different as a person and as an artist?

What makes me different as a person and as an artist is in my process. First, I think it is important to stress that “Creativity dies with desperation” Meaning that, me, as a creative will never force myself to create content. I believe that it is important to allow yourself to rest and relax, and to also be ok with it. One of the biggest disbeliefs as creatives is that if we are not constantly on the grind or hustling that we are failures. That is not true! I have come to realize that even more with new COVID lifestyle. Furthermore, I allow myself to go off grid at times to relax and rejuvenate. Secondly, my process when I’m creating music or DJing is very spontaneous. When I DJ, I don’t plan the music choices in my set, I completely follow the vibes of the people and the environment! Nothing is planned but everything strategically flows. I chose the name DJ Full Xposure because of the way music makes me feel. Listening to or hearing music is the only time I truly feel comfortably exposed or vulnerable.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

The biggest thing that I want to accomplish in life is to motivate and inspire. I want to motivate people to get up, stand up, and make a change. Whether the change is standing of a cause or simply motivation to wake up and go on with their day. When people are motivated, they are driven to accomplish great things in life. So, if hearing my story or seeing my success can help motivate some body to do something great then I feel I have accomplished something great myself. Secondly, I want to inspire people to follow their dreams. A lot of people are deferred from following their dreams because they aren’t properly motivated. I want people to understand that in order to follow your dreams you will have to make sacrifices but those are never in place to defer you. Everything that happens and every sacrifice you make is all for a reason and pushes you closer to your dream or goal. I want to motivate you to start and inspire you to continue!

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In five years, I see myself still pursuing my first love acting, and doing more television shows and movies. I see myself having roles alongside of some of my favorite seasoned actors like Will Smith , Angela Basset, Viola Davis , and Regina King. Additionally, in terms of music I see myself touring more as a DJ either for artists or doing festivals. I would love to play festivals such as Broccoli City Festival, Afropunk, Coachella, and Lollapalooza. Moreover, I see myself continuing to do radio. I have been a resident DJ for a show on Dash Radio and had my own radio show called “Music Xposed” on Ethel’s Club. I see myself doing more local radio on station like Power 106 FM and on Sirius XM radio as well. I definitely want to expand on those two aspects in my career!

What do you bring to the music world?

I bring diversity to the music world. I love to travel and have lived in many different cities and countries. I was born and raised in Washington DC and went to boarding school in New York and Pennsylvania. From there I started to travel where I went to France for a month, collectively, and spent 7 months living in Mexico. Now that I am based in Los Angeles, the music from all those places I have travelled and lived have had an impact on the music I DJ. So, in addition to be DJing Hip-Hop and R&B music, I love to DJ different events where I get to play Deep House, Neosoul, Reggaetón, and Afrobeat. When I first started DJing I was only doing Hip-Hop music but as I have grown as a DJ, I have experienced different music and styles and been able to incorporate them into my sets. I do find myself doing Hip-Hop sets more because that music always bumps in the clubs and bars, but I do enjoy playing other genre of music as well at more curated events!

What legacy do you want to leave behind?

To me, leaving a legacy is an important part of your life’s work. I want to leave my legacy by supporting the people and causes that are important to me. I plan to support causes that deal with mental health and addiction. Two causes that very dear to my heart because I have had people in my life deal with mental health issue as well as addiction. Furthermore, I want to share my blessings with everyone! I once read somewhere that everyone has blessings to share even if it’s just a simple smile of acknowledgement. I want to be a mentor to others and inspire people to follow their dreams and the make the right sacrifices to do so. Lastly, my passions are my legacy. So, I want to continue to pursue my passions because they are infectious!

interview
1

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.