Beat logo

Ticket to Ride - The Beatles

The song that changed my life forever.

By Mac78321Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

When I was in primary school I always said I wanted to become a doctor when I get older. So I said when I was in high school I will study biology and I did.

2006 I was a big fan of Doctor Who at the time and still a big fan to this day. I was looking on YouTube at some old videos of the 1664 Doctor Who episodes. Of course it was William Hartnell at the time. I watched a short videos of a darlek related episode one time the doctors granddaughter Susan switched on the television or some sort of a viewing device and a man on a television show said "Here we have The Beatles". The song Ticket to Ride came on and my life has never been the same since. I was drawn to the music and the music just blew me away and instantly I was a Beatles fan and my career and love for music has begun.

Almost everyday, weeks and weeks I was listing to this song. I was somewhat addicted to the song and The Beatles as everyone is of course. When I saw the full video of Ticket to Ride I was more focused on Ringo, I immediately became a drummer because of Ringo. I did what every other drummer did, I picket up pencils and started hitting things all around the house, which drove my parents crazy. So I have came a long way since then. I'm not a multi instrumentalist and play in several bands. I gave all my credit to The Beatles and of course to Ringo Starr.

Because I was driving my parents crazy from hitting random stuff with pencil. They decided to get me a drum kit foe my 12th birthday. I was so happy, But I didn't know how to play because i didn't take any lessons and i didn't chose drums in school at the time. As long i was making noise with the kit I was a happy kid. I still have the drum kit to this day. I even have The Beatles printed onto the bass drum skin.

When I was in high school i said i wanted to focus on biology and have music my second choice. I was struggling with all my classes in high school due to my distillates, So I focused more on music and history and to be honest I did complete high school in five years and got a B grade in biology, So that was something. In music class I said I could play drums and guitar because those were the two instrument I played then. So I chose guitar as my first instrument and the glockenspiel as my second instrument, don't ask.

From listing to The Beatles i was also listing to other music from the same genre and year as well. I found music from The Rolling Stones, The Who. The Kinks. Cliff Richard The Shadows and the list is endless. My hero's in music are. My uncle, because he was a drummer in the 1990s. I do believe that's where it came from, It passes down from my uncle to me and possible to my nephew. My other hero's are John Lennon, Buddy Holly and Elvis Costello. I would say Ringo but Ringo made me the drummer that i am today.

I think it's also important to mention. That when I was listing to The Beatles and when I got my first drum kit when i was 12 years old. I wasn't feeling the grove. I mean I wasn't used to the four solid beats yet, Then I heard jazz music and I started to play what I heard in the jazz music, Which was easier to play and I was able to develop my right hand when I started playing Beatles songs.

Here I am 24 years old. I'm a full time musician and I dedicate it all to The Beatles. The Beatles made me who I am today. From that one small video of The Beatles playing on a television show on Doctor Who. That was the moment that changed my life forever. When ever people say "How i got into music?". I always say "I was watching Doctor who one time and four lads from Liverpool sang a song called Ticket to Ride".

My life has never been the same since.

60s music
Like

About the Creator

Mac78321

Musician, Producer (One man band), Sound engineer, YouTuber, Roadie, Manager. Magician, Editor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.