Beat logo

Those Lonely Days

Life in a teenager's self-isolation

By George HallPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

When I first came to Australia, i was very lonely. Having struggled to make many good friendships, I restored to music to help me get though that tough periods in my day to day life. Here are a few of the most significant songs of my adolescent and why they were so important to me, during that time:

1. Welcome To My Life by Simple Plan

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r0U0AlLVqpk

Watching Pierre sit on that bridge in the music video, confessing to the world how bad his life was, was a very significant song to me, as it was, essentially a standing ovation to my life, at the time. Expressing how crappy my life had become and telling the world how bad it was and how I felt like, at the time. Even though I didn't really tell anyone about it, I was essentially crying out to the world, by singing it. I feel like it has become such a significant anthem to many young people over the years, being able to express their inner most feelings and turmoil they all go though, summed up in a simple song.

2. Lonely Day by System Of The Down

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DnGdoEa1tPg

While I've never really gotten into bands like System Of The Down. Their song Lonely Day, which I first heard from the movie Disturb, which is fairly self explanatory, talking about how much lonely day suck and shouldn't even exist. Seemed very significant to me, as it described how I often felt in my day to day life, even if I was surrounded by people at the time. Another lonely day, I had to get though.

3. Nothing by The Script

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KMihKmoYfe8

I'm sure many of us had lots of young romances in the day and while I may not have had that many. I've still had my fair share and as a result, have often felt the heartbreak that being dumped or ending a relationship has on oneself and the utter torment and humiliation you feel afterwards.

4. Perfect by Simple Plan

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUi54JTgL5s

I think we've all felt the dread and doubt in our lives, when we haven't been able to live up to the expectations of others and not being able to be the 'perfect' person that your parents or relatives want you to be. This is an anthem for such people and knowing that no matter how hard you try, you'll never meet other people's expectations and you just want to be able to get along with your parents regardless.

5. Thumbawamba (I Get Knocked Down) by Chumbawamba

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCkmIyC6v00

A teenagers life can be a hard thing to navigate, often at the best of times and you can feel like your being pushed down and constantly having to get back up again. Which is why this song is the perfect anthem to help you get out of that negative place and 'get back up again!', despite how hard it may be at times.

6. Why Does It Always Rain On Me by Travis

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXatLOWjr-k

Every kids has hit a wall at some point in their young life and constantly asks themselves, why does this always happen to me?, when stuff goes wrong. Or why is it constantly happening to me or raining on me, in this case. Travis's anthem speaks to us, in our time of need, when things aren't going our way.

7. Untitled (How Could This Happen To Me?) by Simple Plan

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQ7oqmikZDQ

Another Simple Plan anthem, this one, similar reasons to Travis's anthem. How Could This Happen To Me? is often the way young people feel about their lives, when stuff goes down and makes you feel really embarrassed and upset, that said thing went down.

8. Bad Day by Daniel Porter

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gH476CxJxfg

We've all had a bad day or two, at some point in our lives and when that happens you usually want a 'blue sky holiday' to get over it and forget it ever happened. But unfortunately their a part of life, so it's better to just embrace it and have this playing loud in your headphones to help you get over it.

9. Everybody's Changing By Keane

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zx4Hjq6KwO0

I couldn't miss Keane's Everybody's Changing from this list. No one ever tells you how tough your teenage years are and the fact that their are so many changes and challenges in your life during this period, it can often be very overwhelming. So many people change during their teenage years and eventually become the people they'll be in adulthood and for the rest of their life and sometime that results in ends of friendships and relationships , among other things.

Trying to look cool

These are some of the most significant song to me, when I was younger. If I had my way, I'd probably put every Simple Plan song in my list, as they were probably the most significant band to me, during my younger years and still provide me with memories, both good and bad, whenever I listen to them. I was lucky enough to see them live for the first time and also, my very first concert. In which they were touring for the 15th Anniversary of their first album, No Pads, No Helmets, Just Balls and was overjoyed, reliving some of their classic hits. I even picked up a t-shirt to mark the special occasion. These guys among others, provided the emotional support and agony that I needed to release, whenever I was having a bad day, I could walk though my struggles and get out the other side, unscathed. Thanks to these track and many others, I've got though some of the toughest times in my life and I owe it all to music, which without, I may not be here today. Thank you music, for your love and your support, all the best George

Simple Plan Anniversary Tour T-Shirt

song reviews
1

About the Creator

George Hall

I'm a freelance creative writer from Australia, who likes to write about all sorts of different and unique things. I have a soft spot for spy and disguises related stories as well as fantasy fiction, I'm also a massive music fan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.