Beat logo

Things about Ariana Grande you probably didn't know

Things you probably didn't know about Ariana Grande

By WHBPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
ARAIANA GRANDE FATCS

Ariana Grande's early appearances as Cat Valentine on the Nickelodeon programmes "Victorious" and "Sam and Cat" may be familiar to you, and you're probably familiar with her music, including her most recent album, "Positions."

Fans might not, however, be fully informed about the singer.

Here are 10+ surprising facts about Grande that you might not be aware of.

Her career in musical theatre began.

Grande was a part of the musical theatre scene before getting a role on the Nickelodeon programme "Victorious."

Grande, a native Floridian, performed as a youngster with the Fort Lauderdale Children's Theater. She portrayed the title character in "Annie" during one of her appearances.

She appeared in the Broadway production of "13" as well.

She has a cat allergy.

Although the former Nickelodeon actress played Cat Valentine in "Victorious" and "Sam and Cat," she is allergic to the character.

In 2010, she tweeted about having an allergy to cats.

She became a famous pop star thanks to one of her tunes, which also landed her in legal trouble.

According to ABC News, Grande was accused of duplicating a line for her hit song, "The Way," featuring Mac Miller, and was consequently sued in 2013.

The lawsuit claims that "The Way" plagiarised a line from The Jimmy Castor Bunch's song "Troglodyte (Cave Man)," which was released in 1972.

According to a 2015 New York Daily News article, a secret settlement was struck in the lawsuit.

She has a few unique voice impressions in her repertoire.

On NBC's "Saturday Night Live," Grande's portrayal of Jennifer Lawrence stole the show, but the "Hunger Games" actress isn't the only famous person whose voice Grande can mimic.

On "The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon," she also demonstrated her musical impressions by channelling artists like Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera.

"Somewhere Over the Rainbow" is the first song she recalls singing, according to her.

Grande claimed that "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" was the first song she ever remembered singing in a 2012 interview with Neon Limelight.

She revealed that "The Wizard of Oz" was her childhood favourite film in the same interview.

She dislikes both the music video and her first single.

The bubblegum-pop song "Put Your Hearts Up" from 2011 was a declaration of positivity, but Grande felt the song and its music video were "inauthentic."

In 2014, Grande told Rolling Stone, "It was marketed for kids and seemed so inauthentic and false." "I still have nightmares about it, and I made them conceal it on my Vevo page," she said. "For the video, they gave me a horrible spray tan, put me in a princess dress, and had me frolic around the street.

Currently, it looks that either the video has been erased or is still hidden from her Vevo website.

Along with a few other well-known people, she has a manager.

Scooter Braun, manager of Grande, was instrumental in Justin Bieber's rise to popularity. Among others, Braun manages Carly Rae Jepsen, Tori Kelly, and Dan + Shay.

You wouldn't pronounce her last name the way you may expect.

Ariana Grande said in a 2018 Beats One interview that her grandpa didn't pronounce her last name like many people do: "Grahn-day."

I grew up saying 'Grand-ee' and I think of my grandfather and I wish I said 'Grand-ee' more, Grande told the interviewer. "My brother was like, we should say 'Gran-day.' That's so fun to say it.

In 2013, Grande declared herself to be wholly vegan.

2013 saw Grande announce that she was going "100% vegan," saying that the change in her diet made her "heart feel really good."

According to Harley Pasternak, Grande's personal trainer, her diet is "macrobiotic Japanese."

She claimed to have been raised a Catholic but now has a link to the Kabbalah in 2014.

Grande revealed that she was raised a Catholic but later developed a relationship with Kabbalah in a 2014 interview with Telegraph.

According to Grande to Telegraph, "[me and my brother] checked it out and really had a connection with it" when a Kabbalah centre was being built in Florida. Since then, my life has developed in a really lovely manner, and I truly believe that this is due in large part to the tools I have learnt through Kabbalah.

The "old wisdom" of kabbalism is on "how to receive fulfilment" in life.

Due to the damage to her hair, she began to wear it in a ponytail.

The singer explained in a 2014 Facebook post to fans who were dissatisfied by her habitual haircut decision that she made it due to damage from her "Victorious" part as red-haired Cat Valentine.

For the first four years of portraying Cat, she had to bleach her hair and colour it red every other week; as one might expect, this absolutely ruined her hair.

I now wear a wig on Sam & Cat, my natural hair has returned to brown, and I wear extensions, but I wear them in a ponytail since my own hair is so damaged, she continued.

Years later, the haircut is still recognised as being uniquely hers, and it appears to be here to stay.

celebrities
2

About the Creator

WHB

Writing is just my side hustle,editing is my passion,painting is my hobby.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Angelina F. Thomas2 years ago

    Wow. I never knew Ariana fried the hell out of her hair over bleaching it way too much!! I bleached my hair once and looked like a real blonde but the eye color didnt match my eyes are hazel. I will never bleach my hair again thank Goodness I bleached my hair once and never will do it again.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.