Beat logo

Theodore "Stretch" Travis

COO of Hip Hop Weekly Magazine

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Theodore "Stretch' Travis (COO of Hip Hop Weekly Magazine) *Provided Photo*

From The COO of Hip Hop Weekly Magazine:

My name is Theodore "Stretch" Travis from Niagara Falls NY. Growing up I always wanted to be a rapper, DJ, and singer but I didn't have that talent. My uncle was a big-time promoter in Niagara Falls and I attended one of his concerts featuring the legend Big Daddy Kane. From that point on I knew I wanted to be a promoter and own a night club.

As a teen I noticed my cousin and his friends had a rap group. That motivated me to start an independent label at the age of 19 named "Onpoint Entertainment". They were the first group I signed to the label. I also used the name to promote concerts, parties, and other events. By the time I was 21, I had a label, I promoted events, and I ran an after-hours night club in Niagara Falls, NY.

I hit a few rough patches in my 20's. A few of my artists were arrested and currently serving long sentences. When nightclubs were closing I was starting to feel stuck. I worked a few dead-end jobs and was suffering from depression. Back in 2016 one of my day one friends since the 4th grade called me and told me that he had made a few investments, and Hip Hop Weekly was one of them. He asked me to run the point, and the rest is history!

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Theodore "Stretch" Travis (COO of Hip Hop Weekly Magazine) *Provided Photo*

Tammy Reese:

What is your role at Hip Hop Weekly and what does that entail?

Theodore "Stretch" Travis:

My position at Hip Hop Weekly is COO, that entails me handling and overseeing all day-to-day activity from content, to setting up meetings with potential advertisers. Anything Hip Hop Weekly related has to come across my desk.

Tammy Reese:

What can we look forward to from Hip Hop Weekly in the coming year?

Theodore "Stretch" Travis:

I expect a big 2021 for Hip Hop Weekly especially if Covid-19 is under control. We're starting the year off with a bang by launching Hip Hop Weekly Radio, we have a few TV shows lined up and we'll announce those partnerships soon. The goal is to make Hip Hop Weekly a multimedia conglomerate.

Tammy Reese:

What have been some memorable moments with the publication so far in your career?

Theodore "Stretch" Travis:

I'm a fan of the culture first and foremost so chopping it up and being respected by some of the artist I grew up listening to was big for me. Being able to provide a platform that covers the entire culture but at the same time highlights up and coming talent makes me very happy. I'm from Niagara Falls NY, we have a lot of talent but no one is coming upstate to check for talent so with the success of Griselda Records, and the new owners of Hip Hop Weekly being from Upstate NY, hopefully that will shine a light on the region.

Tammy Reese:

What have been some challenges that you have overcame?

Theodore "Stretch" Travis:

The biggest challenge and our main goal were to change the perception of the brand. We wanted to stay away from the gossip and tabloid material and concentrate on substance. I feel it's important we own our own platforms so we can control the narrative. In mainstream media they usually associate the culture with negativity. We want to show the audience for every negative story there's 10 positive stories. For example, today everyone is talking about Lil Baby and some drama with his girlfriend, I rather concentrate on what Lil Baby does for his community.

Tammy Reese:

What do you think is the future of the Entertainment industry?

Theodore "Stretch" Travis:

The future of the entertainment industry will become more digitally I believe. With Covid-19 we were forced to figure out different ways to get the job done and I think that will continue after Covid-19 has faded away. I feel the industry will continue to grow and we'll have to adjust to what's new. Who would've thought one year ago TiKTok would be a determining factor on what's hot in music?

Tammy Reese:

What else are you currently working on?

Theodore "Stretch" Travis:

I'm working on a few projects. I have a documentary on Brooklyn Drill movement dropping in 2021, I'm also launching a record label. Being with Hip Hop Weekly has motivated me to get back in the music business and I want artist from Niagara Falls, NY to finally get the recognition they deserve.

Tammy Reese:

What do you want your legacy to look like?

Theodore "Stretch" Travis:

I want my legacy to be a person who set the tone and showed people that being from a small city shouldn't stop your dreams. I want people to use my story as motivation, but also know you must work hard, and realize it's not going to fall out the sky, you have to go get it! I love when my daughter calls and ask me how to set up an LLC. I just helped my little cousin who is more like my nephew set up his LLC. Let's shout him out Avon Dix "Self-Made Millionaires" be on the lookout for his brand.

Tammy Reese:

What is some advice you would have for anyone who wants to be involved in the media or entertainment industry?

Theodore "Stretch" Travis:

Work hard, stay consistent, and persistent. For every door that closes 5 more will open. Don't expect anyone to hand you anything. Be willing to invest in yourself. No one will invest in you if you're not willing to invest in yourself.

Tammy Reese:

Any shout-outs?

Theodore "Stretch" Travis:

Yes, I have a few. First my daughter Nevaeh Travis. We'll be launching her business in 2021. Shout out Staisha Hamilton she's been holding me down for years and getting ready to launch her business. Clarence Bradley CEO of Hip Hop Weekly and Armadale Vodka he seen the vision first and made that initial move. Our EIC Kash Jones, salute Dirty-O and the 4th2North Movement, Rob Welch he just launched several businesses, my brothers Stefan, Mann, the twins, Cozy, Shaggs and if I missed anyone, I apologize.

Be sure to follow Hip Hop Weekly which is an National media platform covering the entire Hip Hop culture from TV, Music, Fashion, Sports, Politics & Celebrity News on all social media platforms including:

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Keep up-t0-date with Theodore "Stretch" Travis and his career journey by connecting on Instagram.

interview
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.