Beat logo

The Ultimate Labor Day Playlist

Check out these tunes for your long weekend

By Jennifer BarnesPublished 4 years ago 14 min read
Like

Not everything has to be different about the long Labor Day weekend this year. No matter where you are at, chances are you’re wearing a mask and social distancing. Luckily many of the best Labor Day activities work out just fine with the two. Whether you are chilling by the pool, grilling, getting outside or just laying on the couch the playlist curated below can change an average day into an epic one. From country megastars Blake Shelton and Carrie Underwood to pop icons Harry Styles and Miley Cyrus there is something for virtually everyone on the list. Do yourself a favor and plug these into your best Bluetooth speaker and start jamming. Hope everyone has a happy and safe Labor Day!

Harry Styles - “Watermelon Sugar”

Tastes like strawberries on a summer evenin' / And it sounds just like a song / I want more berries and that summer feelin' / It's so wonderful and warm / Breathe me in, breathe me out / I don't know if I could ever go without / I'm just thinking out loud / I don't know if I could ever go without

Caroline Romano - “I Still Remember”

I'm caught up in second chances / You've been passing my advances / Guess there's nowhere else for us to go / Can't you see that / I've been mending what I'm missing / You've been making bad decisions / But you're all I've really ever known / You get to me / We both know we're no good together / But I still remember / We used to be / Young and lovin' / And nothing was better / Did that even matter? / All you do is walk away / I keep trying anyway / 'Cause I can't watch you leave / You get to me / We both know we're no good together / But I still remember

Jabe Burgess - “Everything But Us”

Driving all night on this empty highway / Been so long since I’ve been back home / Life keeps moving but I can’t seem to move on / I don’t wanna tell you I’m sorry / But I know I screwed everything up / Close my eyes feels like we’re still in love / Same town, same roads, same old spots where we used to go / Stars would shine, your eyes looking back in mine / Eighteen, prom king, high school lot you were kissing me / Everything still looks just like it was, everything but us

Clark Beckham - “Luckiest Man”

I’ve never seen the moon so bright / It’s never felt this good outside / I’ve never been in love but I / Wouldn’t mind spending life with you / Spending my life with you / I never thought it’d feel like this / The way we laugh the way we kiss / It’s slow at first and then it hits / Knocks me out I’m fallin to the floor / Every day I fall a little more / If my heart stop beating / If my lungs stop breathing / And we’ve just got this evening / Till I’m out of time

Blake Shelton - “Happy Anywhere”

I'm running wide open / I was born with my feet in motion / But since I met you, I swear / I could be happy anywhere / Any mapped out location / You're always my destination / You're the only thing that I'm chained to / I could be happy anywhere / I could be happy anywhere with you / You're the beauty, you're the Northern Lights / And my mind is faded / The blue sky over Telluride / Next to you's kinda overrated / The winding road, let it twist / My home's wherever your heart is

Avenue Beat - “F2020”

December 31st, I grabbed a beer / Threw it up, said, "2020 is my year, bitches" / (Three, two, one, Happy New Year) / And I honestly thought that that was true / Until I gave this motherfucker like a month or two / This is getting kind of ridiculous at this point / Yo, my cat died and a global pandemic took over my life / And I put out some music that nobody liked / So, I got really sad and bored at the same time / And that's why I'm like / Lowkey fuck 2020 / Still sad, still ain't got no money / I ain't got a watch up on my wrist / I just got some shit I gotta fix (Yeah) / Lowkey fuck 2020 / I don't know about everybody else / But I think that I am kinda done / Can we just get to 2021? (Please) / Lowkey fuck 2020

Bailey Hefley - “Gotta Find Out”

Wrote your number on my coffee cup / Trying to decide if I should call ‘cause / You could be a blessin’ or a lesson / You could be the answer or a question that / Leaves me up all night waiting on a call / Or a goodnight kiss that makes me wanna fall / To a love song dancin’ in the car / Or to Queen Bey “Single Ladies” at the bar / You could love me keep me leave me let me down / But I gotta find out

Cole Swindell - “Single Saturday Night”

Sitting over in the corner, baby, I saw / Pretty red lips working on a White Claw / Shaking to a little, shook me all night long / And I thought, man, what a beautiful sight / Ain't a morning you don't wake up in my shirt now / Even holding hands walking out of church now / Who'd of thought, baby, looking back that / That would be my last single Saturday night, yeah / My last single Saturday night

Miley Cyrus - “Midnight Sky”

Yeah, it's been a long night and the mirror's telling me to go home / But it's been a long time since I felt this good on my own (Uh) / Lotta years went by with my hands tied up in your ropes (Your ropes) / Forever and ever, no more (No more) / The midnight sky is the road I'm takin' / Head high up in the clouds (Oh, oh) / I was born to run, I don't belong to anyone, oh no / I don't need to be loved by you (By you) / Fire in my lungs, can't bite the devil on my tongue, oh no / I don't need to be loved by you / See my lips on her mouth, everybody's talkin' now, baby / Ooh, you know it's true (Yeah, yeah) / That I was born to run, I don't belong to anyone, oh no / I don't need to be loved by you (Loved by you)

Amy Jack - “Game Day”

It's game day / Running like a freight train / Through the sun and the rain / And I feel no pain / It's going down right now / From town to town / Bout to get loud / Taking over play by play / It's game day / Game day

Luke Bryan - “One Margarita”

Everybody here ain't from here / But we're here doin' our thing / Lettin' go a little, little by little / Sippin' on a frozen drink / Tiki bars tik'n, pourin' all weekend / Clouds ain't leakin' no rain / Two pieces shakin', white caps a-breakin' / We ain't feelin' no pain, it goes like / One margarita, two margarita, three margarita, shot / Don't worry 'bout tomorrow / Leave all your sorrow out here on the floatin' dock / When that sun lays down, we'll be on our way / One more barefoot round, one more last chance to say / "Hey Señorita, don't you think we need / A salt and a Buffett song?" / One margarita, two margarita, three margarita / We'll be gone

Priscilla Block - “Just About Over You”

Why'd you have to come back in right then / Right when I was just getting good and gone? / Guess I was in the wrong place at the wrong time / You must've heard I was moving on / Then right out of the blue / A quarter past two, I'm all about you / When I was just about, just about over you / I was just about, just about over you

Carrie Underwood - “Southbound”

Tan lines and gas station cheap sunglasses / They're coming here from all around / To get a little southbound, un-wound / Tennessee honey kind of buzz / Them south sounds up loud / Summer dripping off of us / From the river bank to the Party Cove / 'Long as it floats we'll rock the boat / And it's all looking up when we get down / And get a little southbound, southbound / Get a little southbound, southbound

Joey Hendricks - “Yours Or Mine”

Whose head turned first when we locked eyes in this dim lit dive / I say it’s yours / You say it’s mine / Whose hand reached first when you dropped your purse on that hardwood floor / You say it’s yours / But I say it’s mine / We’ve danced, but we’re dancing ‘round it / We’ve talked, but not about this / Do you wanna find out / What I wanna find out / Who, whose arms gonna wrap around who / Whose place are we headed back to / Somebody’s lips gotta be the first to cross that line / Who says only fools rush in / Whose bed are we waking up in / Whose heart will take it harder when we say goodbye / Yours or mine

Lady Gaga ft. Ariana Grande - “Rain On Me”

It's coming down on me / Water like misery / It's coming down on me / I'm ready, rain on me / I'd rather be dry, but at least I'm alive / Rain on me, rain, rain / Rain on me, rain, rain / I'd rather be dry, but at least I'm alive / Rain on me, rain, rain / Rain on me / Rain on me / Mmm, oh yeah, baby / Rain on me

Gone West - “Gone West”

Headed out to California / Gone west to see the sun / There's a fortune here if you got time, but I've found mine / Buried in the golden hair she spun / Sailin' off to search the islands / Gone west for somethin' new / Found paniolo and wave riders, but chose neither / Picked the sweetest sugar cane they grew / I've gone west, rollin' down the highway like a tumbleweed / I've gone west, where the canyons fall into the deep blue sea / Took a left from the hills of Tennessee, yeah / I've gone west to bring the best back with me / I've gone west to bring the best back with me

Amanda Kate - “Gypsy”

I could be happy riding horses on a range in colorado / Smiling on the beach of Waikiki / Gamble south Dakota hitch a ride to Oklahoma / Steamboat down the Mississippi I'm a gypsy yaaa yaa / Can’t plant a garden in the same old spot year after year / Put roots where it gets too hot I’ll drink too much beer / When life gets stormy I’ll head back west / Nothing’s holding me down but the beat of my heart I guess

We The Kingdom - “Cages”

What if I got real honest? / What if I took a risk? / What if I opened up my heart / And let you see in? / What if I took my mask off? / Trying to fit in / I don't wanna be a mannequin / What if I let my guard down? / What if I took a breath? / What if I wasn't perfect? / What if I was just a mess? / What if I bled my soul out / Givin' all I could give? / I'm so tired of pretending / I'm comin' out of my cages

Ryan Hurd - “Every Other Memory”

We were both drunk at the party / When I told you that I loved you / You laughed like I was crazy / But I swear, girl that's when I knew / What we had / Looking back on it right now / That last call, first kiss never left my mind / That old school Springsteen gets me every time / And when I see that leather jacket / Think about how you had it / Wrapped around your shoulder / That whole October / And that sunset, barefoot, fire on the beach / I can still feel your hands all over me / And when the sky lights up / Girl, it's your shade of blue / 'Cause every other memory / Every other memory is you

Megan Thee Stallion ft. Beyonce - “Savage”

I'm a savage, attitude nasty / Talk big shit but my bank account match it / Hood, but I'm classy, rich, but I'm ratchet / Haters kept my name in they mouth, now they gaggin', ah, ah / Bougie, he say the way that thang move it's a movie / I told that boy, we gotta keep it low, leave me the room key / I done bled the block and now it's hot / /Bitch, I'm Tunechi, a mood and I'm moody, ah / I'm a savage, yeah (Okay) / Classy, bougie, ratchet, yeah (Okay) / Sassy, moody, nasty, yeah (Hey, hey, nasty) / Acting stupid, what's happening? (Woah, woah) / Bitch, what's happening? (Woah, woah)

Russell Dickerson - “Love You Like I Used To”

Girl I've always loved you, but something's changed / Blame it on time, the road or the ride It ain't the same / It's a different kind of feeling, not the one I knew / From the sweet of your lips, to how your hand in mine fits / Girl I've always loved you but / I don't love you like I used to / This gets better every time you kiss me like this / It's stronger the longer I'm with you / More than every single day before / Didn't know I could ever love you more / Than I did, but baby I do I don't love you like I used to / What we got ain't got no ending, like a band of gold / It's sweeter with time like strawberry wine It gets as good as it gets old / Oh we thought we knew what it meant back then / But I keep fallin all in higher than I've ever been / I don't love you like I used to

Carly Pearce - “I Hope You’re Happy Now”

Go run my name into the ground / Tell everyone you know just how / How I slammed the door on our forever / But I promise you it's for the better / I hope you find what you were looking for / I hope your heart ain't hurting anymore / And you get moving on, all figured out / And you don't hate me somehow / 'Cause I hope you're happy now

Chris Tomlin - “Be The Moon”

I wanna be the moon, up among the stars / Fly around the world / Lighting up the dark at night / I'm nothing without the Son's amazing grace / On everything I do / If You're shining on me, I'm shining right back for You / I wanna be the moon / Lord, I wanna be the moon for You / Yeah, there's gonna be some cloudy days / Sometimes it's gonna cover up the work You're doing in me / But still with every breath I breathe

Liddy Clark - “Hit & Run”

I fell fast, forgetting everything I knew / Forgot the crash, the burn, and only saw you /I thought love, thought hope, thought fantasy / To realize now that you never really needed me / And there I was wide eyed, lost in your trance / Wish I knew that I didn't stand a chance / Right when I fell, I lost everything / In my heart, in my head, in my soul / I couldn't tell, it was only a dream / Didn't mean anything at all, all, all / Promises in the dark made to my heart / But you knew it was nothing right from the start / It was a lie, it was a fairy tale, the shortest one / It was a hit and ru, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh uh, uh, uh, uh, hit and run

Justin Bieber ft. Quavo - “Intentions”

Picture-perfect, you don't need no filter / Gorgeous, make 'em drop dead, you a killer / Shower you with all my attention / Yeah, these are my only intentions / Stay in the kitchen, cooking up, cut your own bread / Heart full of equity, you're an asset / Make sure that you don't need no mentions / Yeah, these are my only intentions / Shout out to your mom and dad for making you / Standing ovation, they did a great job raising you / When I create, you're my muse / The kind of smile that makes the news

list
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.