Beat logo

The talented & versatile Bri McKay

Bri McKay's first solo single “Hurts So Good” was released Friday, August 7th, 2020.

By mysoundMusicPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
3

Bri McKay has developed a catchy style of melodic and lyrical writing influenced by Kelly Clarkson, Taylor Swift, and Demi Lovato with subtle hints of Prince and Madonna creating a style all her own.

The rising star has been said to “captivate[s] a room when she performs, truly telling a story.” It is clear this strong performer-at-heart female is a force and voice to be reckoned with and will be making waves in the industry.

21 Questions with Bri McKay

What first got you into music?

I first started with singing. I always loved it. When I started writing, it was on my grandpa’s computer- just as a way to healthily express myself. He told me what I had written was good and encouraged me to continue. Obviously, I took his advice.

Do you play any instruments?

I know some basic piano but my main instrument is my voice.

Do you have a chosen genre?

I have been trained in many genres and have classical and musical theatre at my roots, but I always aspired for my music and vocals to be a mix of pop, rock and soul. You also might hear a country twang every now and then .

Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

I do both. Hurts So Good was a collaboration / my lyrics and melody with my past band mate writing the instrumentals.

It looks like “Hurts So Good” is your first single release. You must be extremely excited?

Hurts So Good is my first solo release and yes I am ecstatic. I did release an EP “Letters To You” with my “Hurts So Good” collaborator (Jason Watkins) - as Current Waves. Though I thoroughly enjoyed being in the duo band, I always knew my career was meant to thrive as a solo artist and we have very different styles of music as individuals. So it’s been exciting to see the development and support for this new journey.

Tell us a little something about your song “Hurts So Good”

This is probably the most vulnerable song I’ve released. The first time I sat down with Jason to put lyrics to music, I couldn’t get through it, so I’m very emotionally attached to it.

Is there a hidden meaning in your music?

There is always meaning to my music. It’s my form of healing so the music is very personal to me. That being said there are some songs I’ve written where people think it’s a love song or about a relationship when it’s not. Art is life so I make my life art. Almost but not quite in a Taylor Swift-type fashion.

Have you performed publicly?

I love performing live! I don’t do so as much due to everything going on in the world right now, but I’ve performed in a few clubs around Dallas, Tx where I’m from. And of course my background is in Musical Theatre so I’ve performed live in that respect as well.

Have you ever dealt with performance anxiety?

Oh absolutely. I used to have so much adrenaline from both nerves and excitement that I used to have noticeable tremors. It doesn’t happen so much anymore. I think having some amount of nerves is healthy though.

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

Like I said before, my music is my form of healthy expression, so I use it as a platform to express my authentic self and my thoughts. Funny enough, though I love performing, I’m actually a pretty private person, so my music gives people a glimpse into who I really am and what I think. My goal is to inspire and help people realize they’re not alone in whatever they’re facing or to envoke a feeling inside of them whether that be inspiration, fun, or relating to the pain.

Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? If so, what would be your first stop?

I have wanderlust like crazy! My 2nd dream goal in life is to travel the world, and I hope to do so with my music. I think my first stop would be Japan.

Tell about a magical moment or positive experience that has happened during your music career.

I was maybe 11 or 12 years old. I was in my school musical and had a huge solo number. One evening after the show, this lady came up to me. I didn’t know her or who she came to see, but she told me that I was going to be the next Kelly Clarkson. I swear I never forgot that. That comment is what really made it sink in that I was really good, and I could make a career out of singing. It added fuel to the small flickering flame.

What music do you listen to ‘for fun’?

My music library has such a variety. Top mainstream artists like Ariana Grande, Lizzo, and Rihanna to bands like Dance Gavin Dance, Mayday Parade and We the Kings. I also have musical soundtracks and we can’t forget my 90s playlist!

Who inspires you musically?

I have taken inspiration from a variety of different artists and genres. You know Kelly Clarkson is one already. I’ve taken rhythmic inspiration from Prince. With the right song, I can bring soul like Aretha Franklin (I was actually told this by someone), and incorporate whistles like Mariah Carey if I feel it appropriate. I love deep, heartfelt songs that allow me to belt like Demi Lovato, but also love to sing the feel good, empowering dance songs like Lady Gaga.

If one artist were to perform at your party, who would get the call?

Wow that’s hard- haha! I’d probably have to go with Justin Timberlake. He puts on a hell of a show and I’m a huge fan. I would kill to work with the man. He’s brilliant!

What advice would you have for someone wanting to follow in your footsteps?

Just like everything else in life you have to be dedicated, so just start and cultivate a strong belief in yourself. I struggled and sometimes still struggle with self confidence, but at the end of the day if you know it’s what you’re supposed to be doing with your life then don’t EVER let someone make you feel like you can’t do it and don’t you dare ever give up.

How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

It has given me a platform and the ability to release my music on my terms. Now, I don’t have to live in New York or LA to get noticed or to gain exposure. I also have my music playing all over the world. Radio stations and CDs are no longer the only way to find new music and play it. The opportunities are endless and it gives me new ways to connect with fans across the globe.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

I am most active on Instagram: @brimckay_music

As far as music platforms, I enjoy Spotify but love iTunes as well. Can’t forget about YouTube either. You can find the music video to “Hurts So Good” there.

What is one message you would give to your followers?

Just a HUGE thank you. As an artist, I love hearing your stories and connections to the music and or something I post or write. So don’t be afraid to reach out and communicate with me! I LOVE my fans and supporters.

What does the future hold for you?

I’m currently working on a new single to be released before the end of 2020. This will be a fun upbeat song. I am always writing, and I’m open to collaborations. I know the future holds great things, more music, more success and a whole lot of fun!

Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I did not address.

I just wanted to say I hope everyone is staying safe and healthy during these times. The arts and music are crucial now more than ever to help us express ourselves, lift our spirits, spread awareness and stay connected to one another. Music can unite us in common causes and bring hope so keep the headphones on babes!

I completely agree!

interview
3

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.