Beat logo

The Soundtracks of our Lives…

are Roadmaps to our Souls…

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Photos Courtesy Pinterest/Prince.org

Greetings, Salutations, Blessings & Accolades

a.k.a.:

Hey y’all hey 👋 why am I awake at 11:44 on Saturday Evening? 🤣🤣🤣

Truth is I dunno if I’m laughing because how pathetic that statement must sound to those folk who are not Gen Xers like myself, or if it’s because of the insanity that transpired earlier this evening in “the household”.

I’m not even sure how this conversation got started and part of that is because I am tired af 🥱 and the other part has to do with the rabbit holes 🕳 my #BFFSIS and I travel down when it comes to music.

Real music.

::Enter the old lady who comes to her screen door in a dusty-rose (the color not the condition) bathrobe with matching ballerina slippers 🥿 and scowls at the kids playin on her stoop:

“Y’all bammas don’t know nuffin bout good music”

We are the generation who read the liner notes that came with our ALBUMS.

Some of those albums came in colors like pink and purple and we could shoot ourselves for not recognizing their value at the time.

I digress…

Not only did we read the liner notes, but some of us could even discern a certain producer by the way instruments were arranged.

I’ll never forget the time we were playing “Name That Tune” and my #BFFSIS was able to guess “Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’ by Michael Jackson by the first three drum 🥁 beats.

😱

I know right, she’s that good.

And a sneaky, sneaky lil musical genius with an EXTREMELY observant EYE 👀 and ear apparently 👂

PEEP THIS:

Music is playing in the kitchen and of course Prince was brought up which led to us naming our favorite Prince songs

🕳 into the Minneapolis Sound

🕳Jimmy Jam , Terry Lewis, The Time, the fact I was aware of Morris Day’s Instagram account 🤣, and somehow I either slipped in activator or the cuff of my rayon pajamas or both. So I was regaining my composure.

Therefore, I was not ready for what my #BFFSIS said to the room:

“If you look at the video for Creep by TLC and the video for Screams of Passion by the Family, it’s pretty much the same video and TBoz is just a knock off Paul Peterson”

Disclaimer: The above wasn’t a direct quote, but it was pretty freakin accurate.

Seriously, I Googled The Family because I had no idea that the blonde from The Family’s name was Paul Peterson

But LOOK 👀:

She wasn’t lying.

🤣🤣🤣

But not for nothin, if you watch both of videos side by side you start finding either a bunch of coincidences or blatant copyright infringements

🤣🤣🤣 ok no, not REAL copyright infringements but I felt the need to take poetic license and alliterate 🤣🤷🏻‍♀️

Look it’s my blog 😐🙄🤣.

Anyhow, anywho, I was gonna do a side by side comparison of Creep & Screams of Passion but, it’s late and why is the video for Screams of Passion almost seven minutes long??? 🥱🥱🥱

My bad, I just can’t do it, but I’ll leave both videos here for y’all & y’all can peep it. But I’ll leave you with a few of my observations.

•The funky blonde haicuts

•Dancing in rayon pajamas

Was that rayon or silk? 🤦🏻‍♀️

Look I’m not cultured I dunno 🤷🏻‍♀️.

•Peep the “fake wave 🌊 “ in Screams of Passion!!! Was that the inspiration behind the epic, award-winning video for “Waterfalls???

Inquiring minds would like to know, but MiMi’s mind is exhausted…so feel free to comment, tip, pledge if your heart is led and as always…

✌🏼💜💨

Peace, Love, Exhale.

industry
2

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.