Beat logo

The Song That Everyone Should Listen To!

DAY6's Zombie is relatable to our current situation

By tracydtnPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
The Song That Everyone Should Listen To!
Photo by Alice Donovan Rouse on Unsplash

The anthem of the year for me would have to go to Zombie by DAY6.

The Korean version is great but the English version is the version I prefer. Let me tell you, the English version hits differently.

It's a song that resonates with everyone. The lyrics are relate to the situation that we're all facing right now. The emotions and vibe of the song allow you to reflect on what life is. It's evident with the YouTube comments on the video where everyone is praising the song. Either way, the song is up to your own interpretation.

How our days are:

This song released at the perfect time. We're somehow halfway through the year and it hasn't been a great one.

The current world situation leading to us staying inside and adapt to online work and study. We go through a simple and mundane routine every day to get by and hope for the best. Face to face meetings are no longer in person and we are doing them in the comfort of our own homes. We are wearing pajama pants on the bottom and wearing a nice shirt unless there are no cameras. The transition to online hasn't been easy but it has its advantages with us being in the comfort of our own homes.

The year has flown by but the days are passing slowly. I felt like each day was combining together because I was doing the same thing. I have forgotten which day it was many times because I kept doing the same things every day.

1. Wake up and check phone notifications

2. Eat breakfast and brush teeth

3. Prepare for classes and attend them.

4. Eat lunch

5. Sneak in exercise (if I didn't go in the morning) and then dinner.

6. Lie in bed watching YouTube or Netflix before I brush my teeth getting ready for bed.

7. Repeat steps 1-6 all over again.

Wandering lost with hopes and dreams:

The future ahead of us is unknown. We don't know what will happen in the future and there is uncertainty with a 'new' normal. What is normal now with what we're currently experiencing?

I am lost in this world. I have recently completed my studies in my bachelor's degree and I'm unsure about my future. I don't have clear-cut plans but I do have things I want to try. I have already gone ahead with applying for graduate jobs and to gain experience. I want to further expand my personal brand and start a podcast. I may jump upon an opportunity to take on postgraduate studies to expand my knowledge. There's much to do and a world to explore.

Wherever life leads me, I will take it as it goes.

The reality of the world:

You can take it a step further and take in the meaning of the song, it's the sad reality of our world. People are working endless hours to make ends meet because that's how our world is.

The pandemic has shown the light on this reality with how fragile life is and how broken the system is. The capitalistic world where the economy matters and humans are second to it. The constant talk about restarting and stimulating the economy when people are struggling. The world is cruel which the top 1% continue to thrive and the majority are suffering.

Finally, the video itself expresses the song well. The imagery speaks for the song and the emotions conveyed the lyrics amazingly.

I hope you listen to the song and feel the lyrics as I did. It's a masterpiece that everyone needs to listen to.







song reviews
2

About the Creator

tracydtn

A 20 something-year-old taking life day by day writing her thoughts out loud.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.