Beat logo

The Phenomenal Women Involved In The Music Industry

My Main 7

By Shanaeka JeanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Phenomenal Women Involved In The Music Industry
Photo by Matt Botsford on Unsplash

When I was a toddler, I started dancing around to music from anywhere such as other car radios, the house radio, parties/celebrations, and etc. When I got a little older singing became a thing for me. The main women that stood out to me and play key roles in the music industry are Alicia Keys, Rihanna, Brandy, Whitney Houston, Tayla Parx, Missy Elliot, and Debra Lee. When it comes to my views on music it has progressed from being you and trying out new things to figuring out what’s to your liking along with embracing who you are in the process. These women have displayed just that either throughout their careers and/or late in their careers.

Remember one of Alicia Keys’ hits “No One”, well it became my actual favorite song. From there, I explore more of her music from “Woman’s Worth” basically a song that displays the concept of a woman's worth especially towards the eyes of men and how they’re supposed to treat them to “In Common” another song that speaks about people being similar to one another in terms of having flaws and for it to bring out the question of “Will you accept me or Do you love me the way I am?”. As a woman, especially a black woman, I feel some type of liberation now and when I was young. From "Umbrella" to "Only Girl In The World” along with other hits Rihanna started to become an icon. Even though she’s successful in music and business, she reminds us that she’s human too along with being able to relate with her fans. One thing that I admire is how genuine and honest she is and that she never changed who she was but only improved and that has really made an impact on my growth in life.

With hits from "I Wanna Be Down" To "Put It Down" featuring Chris Brown, Brandy became cultivating along with the term unique as an artist in the 90s and beyond that. Her career has brought a sense of strength towards me and others, also being able to be vulnerable in my own way. Another artist by the name of Whitney Houston has made bops such as “Greatest Love Of All” to “I Look To You”. She has quite an influence on me and other fans and her career has impacted me and other fans in a way where we were able to get through challenges in our lives especially the personal ones as well. Tayla Parx is known to be a songwriter who wrote major hits for artists from Arianna Grande to ChloeXHalle. But in the midst of doing what she loves, which is music, she showcases her skill as an artist who wrote her own bops like “Runaway” featuring Khalid to “Slowing Dancing”. Her career has impacted me in a way where I can truly embrace who I am as a person and as a woman plus enjoying it all in the process.

Missy Elliot is also known to be a rapper, producer, and another trailblazer for rap/hip hop artists such as Nicki Minaj and others. Missy’s career has given me an idea to try new things and to try to have fun while you’re going about it. In fact, it’s something that I’ve been trying to continue to carry with me as I got older. Now, Debra Lee is known to be the former chairwoman/CEO of BET (Black Entertainment Television). She allowed many music artists, especially the new ones to showcase their talents on different BET spotlight specials. Her presence in this position has shown us that women can do it and truly be on top despite the adversities we face.

These phenomenal women continue to remind us that it’s okay to be ourselves. Plus, it’s okay to go through storms but it’s all about the comeback and surviving the storm to see the sunlight. This is why I choose to celebrate and highlight them as remarkable black women in music.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Shanaeka Jean

A writer by heart that can express herself and her curious mind to try new things and show them to the world. With the words interactive and relatable on my side, all I need to do is sweep you off your feet. :-)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.