Beat logo

The Number One Song on Your Birth Day

My Family and I

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 3 min read
4
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I’ve seen a couple of articles over on the Medium site about the song that was number one on the day you were born and it got me curious, because to be honest, I’d never thought about it.

So here are the number one songs on the birth day of each of my family members.

This is a vast range of genres and years. Interesting to see the change in music over that time span.

I think my favourite birth day music would have to be the day my oldest son was born and a close second would be the day my little brother was born.

Sibling Number 1 — Older Sister

Australia : Tom Dooley - The Kingston Trio

On 20th December, this rose to the sweet top for a massive 8 weeks all told.

US : Stagger Lee - Lloyd Price

9th February saw this rise to number one for 4 weeks.

Sibling Number 2 - Older Sister

Australia : A Scottish Soldier - Andy Stewart

It was in the top spot for 1 short week, beginning on 24th June.

US : Quarter to Three - Gary US Bonds

For 2 weeks from 26th June, this hit the top spot.

Me

Australia : Que Sera Sera (Whatever Will Be, Will Be) - Normie Rowe

For 8 weeks this hit the number one spot, commencing 9th October.

US : Yesterday - The Beatles

This song rose to number one on 9th October for 4 weeks.

Sibling Number 3 - Younger Brother

Australia : Devil Gate Drive - Suzie Quattro

Hit the number one spot on 28th May for 3 weeks.

US : Band On The Run - Paul McCartney

Only stayed number one for 1 week, commencing 8th June.

My Oldest Son

Australia : End Of The Road - Boyz II Men

On 21st November it topped the charts for 4 weeks.

US : I Will Always Love You - Whitney Houston

An astounding 14 weeks as number one, commencing 28th November.

My Youngest Son

Australia : Here’s Johnny! - Hocus Pocus

Topped the Charts on 25th March and stayed there for 6 weeks.

US : This Is How We Do It - Montell Jordan

This song went to number one on 15th April for a total of 7 weeks.

This was actually a lot of fun to put together because I had no idea what was the number one hit on each of my loved one’s actual birth days. It’s not something that most people think about and I think that’s why I liked the idea so much, when I saw others had put together their lists.

From what I’ve seen most people concentrate on the number one hit on their own birthday. I have also seen one article, where the writer listed each song for each of her birthdays. Another interesting idea.

If you enjoyed a glimpse into my hereditary path and years, I encourage you to complete the same exercise. You may be surprised to discover the musical popular genres on the day you entered the world.

If you do decide to take part, please let me know, as I’d love to check out your finished article. Happy exploring and learning my friends.

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

60s music70s music90s musicfeature
4

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    very interesting piece. Love it.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I love these types of things!! And I appreciated that you put the US hits as well. It's so interesting to see what other countries listen to :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.