Beat logo

The Music of Mexico City

My love for the punk subculture in Mexico

By Kyra LopezPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
3
The Music of Mexico City
Photo by Ivan Diaz on Unsplash

Think the U.S has some intense metal fans? Try visiting Mexico City this October!

While I have always been into the punk rock scene from the states, getting into the Mexican subcultures of music was entirely new for me. Yet, it is also the perfect vibe for getting into the spooky month ahead.

What better way to kick off the Halloween season than to listen to some rock music? Especially, when it’s based on this awesome subculture!

For me, Halloween is a time for gothic angst, and diving into an alternate story where you are the main YA character in a novel. It is a time to be cheesy, to vamp out, and to enjoy the indulgence of emo music in high school that I still get involved in to this day.

After speaking with some friends who were already immersed within the music scene of Mexico, I fell in love with a myriad of musical tastes. The first subculture that ever caught my ear's attention was the slow-tempo cumbias of Cholombiano culture. Even though I am well-aware of some artists from my family's home country, I wasn't exactly sure what the youth there were listening to on a normal basis. Seeing the history of this subculture in Monterrey, a city in northern Mexico, was absolutely incredible! I was shocked to see how this distinct brand of music and fashion has thrived over the years, despite it heading into a soft decline in 2021.

Many young adults and teens of the Cholombianos listen to slowed-down versions of Colombian cumbias. Their fashion is dramatically pleasing, showing off wild hairstyles and various pieces of baggy clothing. Seeing this culture was refreshing, being that it is a symbol of uniqueness. What I liked most about it though, was that it presents itself against all aspects of the status quo.

Dipping my toes into the pool of Mexico's music subcultures was only the beginning of my love for the punk scene. After countless hours of research, I found that the spanish punk bands really adhered to my tastes. Even though my experience was with US artists, I felt that I should expand from what I was always familiar with. In order to do this, I had to start combing the charts for the top punk bands of Mexico.

Highlights of Mexico's Punk Scene:

In this YouTube clip by AJ+, the punk rockers of Mexico City gather in a flea market called "Tianguis Cultural del Chopo." This is a large shopping destination for punk, metal, goth, and emo merchandise. A collection of Mexico City's rockeros (rockers), goths, punks, and metalero (metal) subcultures all gather here!

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

As you would expect, many of the heavy metal and rock music fans dress in variations of black clothing. For the rockeros, many rock listeners wear leather jackets, band shirts, have piercings, and display dyed hair. Punk rock youth dress in similar styles with studded belts or jackets, spiked dyed hair, and carry a rebellious feel. Some will have ear gauges, multiple piercings, or even outlandish body mods. All of these style additions make the Mexico City punk scene a buzzing hive for those who crave angst! This is the type of style I had always wanted to mirror, and I actually started doing this for myself with small adjustments to my "look".

When I was 20, I had multiple nose piercings and wore a lot of Metallica and Slayer shirts to class. Even though I couldn't be physically present at the events within Mexico City's punk groups, I wanted to be there in spirit!

Now for the goticos (goths), you may see people wearing all black clothing or chained jewelry. Having heavy eyeliner, side bangs, and skater-like attire is the basis of all emo style, while goths tend to wear more Victorian looking black clothing pieces.

The punk community is special for all walks of life and economic classes within Mexico. It is especially important for their local communities, as a way of healing from the problems of the streets. I love this music subculture because it is an emotional release, a way to let loose from anger or pent up emotions of daily life, and an excellent outlet of creative expression.

Music of Rockeros:

As we all know, music makes the world a little better. Here are some classic hits that you should listen to!

1. Acidez- En Las Calles

  • Classic punk sounds and heavy guitar riffs. Headbanging is expected!
  • Loud and in-your-face, this song is a perfect intro to the Mexico City punk scene

2. Sedición- Extintos

  • Fast-paced, gritty punk
  • This song is a good wake up call, gets you feeling hyper, and always puts me in an energized mood!

3. Viento- Caifanes

  • Soft and relaxing rock
  • This song is usually a classic for when I am drawing, painting, and writing! It is mellow, while incorporating rock elements of the 80's that I love.

The Writer's Playlist:

bands
3

About the Creator

Kyra Lopez

Writer from the 773

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Kyra Lopez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.