Beat logo

THE JOURNEY OF SUNIL CHHETRI

hi I'm similar to three player Bangalore FC and the international team let me do it once again

By muhammed labeebPublished 3 days ago 4 min read

THE JOURNEY OF SUNIL CHHETRI

hi I'm similar to three player Bangalore

FC and the international team let me do

it once again

hi I'm Sunil Chhetri player

International Day and Bangladeshi I

think my mom played for the Nepal

national team father used to play for

his battalion eme so getting the sports

into my system wasn't difficult it was

natural my my professional football

started when I was 17 when I signed for

my own began or maybe before that when I

was play for City Club in Delhi yeah

they did play me for two months

yeah but getting the game into my system

was as early as I can remember and I

used to play a lot of different sports

now when I look back I understand that

that really helped in my hand eye

coordination so that was my upbringing

my biggest competitor was my mum I used

to try to beat her in Chinese checkers

chess carom board volleyball badminton

football wrestling sometimes trying to

avoid she slapping me and all those

things and then father wasn't home often

because he was posted here and there in

everywhere whenever he was bad could be

were three my sister is non sporty one

in our family she was the one who never

liked playing sports that much but the

other three of us we always engage in

some sport other and I'm so thankful

that I've I've got a set of parents who

were so much into sports that was a

sport part but I think the best teaching

that I've got my parents was to do

exactly what I wanted you know I think

being disciplined and respecting

everyone was paramount and necessary in

our family apart from that you allowed

to just express and do whatever you

wanted which in turn helped us in

studying when you wanted to study play

when you wanted to play eat when you

supposed to eat watch TV when you wanted

to watch TV

there was no force doesn't matter what

you want to do would make sure you're

doing it wholeheartedly now I I

I think about it and I think it was it

was so profound but then I thought it

was normal but none of the other friends

were having this luxury at their home so

yeah thank you mom and dad that was

Beautiful

like Oracle from one began before that

it was always that I'm good added I

represented my country and that meant

that even if I get a 70 or percentage in

class 12 I might get into sense defense

which was my dream then a lot of kids

tree so I got some 74% in class 12 I was

like you know I have a strong chance but

I think after getting the result the

fifth or sixth day I got a call from

Oregon they saw me at the Durand Cup I

was playing for city club in Delhi a

local club in Delhi and they gave me a

call and they said we want you here so

when I got the call I thought they might

want me for the CL Academy which was a

great break in because you know when you

when you get into a sail Academy in

Wuhan which is a part of Mon the gun

then you know you develop more and you

might get a chance in bigger clubs never

ever I thought that Mon bond is actually

calling me from Andhra when I reached

there I think super duper - Arya and now

my father-in-law was the coach he said

that the main team is 10 days at you to

come main team of the burritos are they

any saying I'm that here later watching

my sign and I said yeah you know what

it's a good chance there were few of

call and they said we want you here so

when I got the call I thought they might

want me for the CL Academy which was a

great break in because you know when you

when you get into a sail Academy in

Wuhan which is a part of Mon the gun

then you know you develop more and you

might get a chance in bigger clubs never

ever I thought that Mon bond is actually

calling me from Andhra when I reached

there I think super duper - Arya and now

my father-in-law was the coach he said

that the main team is 10 days at you to

come main team of the burritos are they

any saying I'm that here later watching

my sign and I said yeah you know what

it's a good chance there were few of

I was playing freely as you know as boys

are less and he wants me to join there

and I was playing and after about one

week they said call your father because

I was 17 and he can't sign a

professional contract there was no

agents then I'm a forceful man in San

Shi yeah so I called my father he cam

still had no clue and till that day

we had no clue they're going to offer us

a contract and the next day after the

training there was a match and we could

embrace the corner to the room in her

father and they said here this here

contract

interviewhistory

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MLWritten by muhammed labeeb

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.