Beat logo

The Four Seasons: Spotlight on Geri Polci

The lead singer on December 63 (Oh What Night) has made his mark in the world.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

A classic is born

Oh, what a night

Late December back in sixty three

What a very special time for me

As I remember, what a night

Gerry Polci was born on June 9, 1952, and was a member of the American rock and pop band The Four Seasons which was spearheaded by singer Frankie Valli. Polci joined the group in 1973 as a singer and drummer and remained off and on until 1990. In 1976 he sang lead on December 63 (Oh What a Night) which has become a cult classic and continues to be popular today.

Oh, what a night, you know I didn't even know her name

But I was never gonna be the same

What a lady, what a night

Oh, I, I got a funny feelin' when she walked in the room

Oh my, as I recall it ended much too soon

Oh what a night, hypnotizin' mesmerizing me

She was ev'rything I dreamed she'd be

Sweet surrender, what a night

I felt a rush like a rollin' ball of thunder

Spinnin' my head around and takin' my body under

Oh, what a night

Oh, I, I got a funny feelin' when she walked in the room

Oh my, as I recall it ended much too soon

Gerry Polci facts

Polci was briefly married to Frankie Valli's daughter Antonio and their daughter, Olivia Valli, is now a musical theatre performer who took on the role of her own grandmother in the musical Jersey Boys that dramatizes the band's early days. In 2015, Polci married Rhea Gay Chiles, the daughter of late Florida Governor and U.S. Senator Lawton Chiles and Rhea Grafton Chiles.

After leaving the Four Seasons, Polci returned to college at Montclair State University in New Jersey because he desired a career change. At the age of 43, he began a teaching career at New Providence Middle School. In 2007 he co-founded and performed with the band 'The Hit Men'. — Two of the members are his former bandmates in The Four Seasons, Don Ciccone and Lee Shapiro.

Oh, what a night

Why'd it take so long to see the light?

It seemed so wrong, but now it seems so right

What a lady, what a night

December 63 leaves a lasting impression

December 63 was released in December 1975 and went to number one on the UK Singles Chart on February 21, 1976 and did the same on the US Billboard Hot 100 on March 13, 1976. It remained in the top spot for three weeks and spent one week on Cash Box The single reached number one on the RPM National Top Singles Chart in Canada on April 6 and was the final Four Seasons' song to reach numero uno status. Billboard ranked the song as the No. 4 song for the year 1976.

There are people today who say they still get goosebumps and chills when they hear Polci sing in his falsetto voice the words "Oh What a Night" In the video you can see that he really is giving his all to the tune and fans love it. Although Valli is the leader you have got to give Polci his props.

I felt a rush like a rollin' ball of thunder

Spinnin' my head around and takin' my body under

Oh, what a night

Oh, I, I got a funny feelin' when she walked in the room

Oh my, as I recall it ended much too soon

Oh, what a night

The Nostalgia of December 63

December 63 is filled with nostalgia as it brings back fond memories of what people were doing and where they were when the song first became a hit.

Oh I felt a rush like a rollin' ball of thunder

Spinnin' my head around and takin' my body under

Oh what a night

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do, oh what a night

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do, oh what a night

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do, oh what a night

Do-do-do, do-do-do

Do-do-do-do-do-do, oh what a night

Billboard praised the production of the recording, the lead, and harmony vocals. and says of December 63 " It has the flavor and fun of '60s rock with a disco feel." Cash Box said it has "one of the sweetest melody lines you'll have heard throughout 1975" and added that the song is "easy enough to sing along to, combined with an unforgettable bass line".

December 63 is about a young man losing his virginity to a prostitute but that does not stop fans from singing along, enjoying the melody, and recalling fond memories from the past.

70s music
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.