Beat logo

The Comeback of Melanie Martinez Through a TikTok Trend

An Old Fans Reaction to The Young Stars Comeback

By Sam SanonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image from an interview Martinez did with coolaccidents.com about her new release "K-12"

When Melanie Martinez was first featured on The Voice in 2012, I fell in love with her instantly. From her creepy babydoll style, to her love of photography, all I wanted to do was watch her, a 17 year old just graduating high school, embrace the gap in her teeth and her scary sweet voice that seemed to embody every bit of all songs she covered. When Martinez was eliminated from The Voice, I continued to follow her journey on Instagram, and didn't hesitate to buy her first EP "Dollhouse" when it came out two years later in 2014.

At this time, Melanie Martinez stood for everything I didn't. She embraced her flaws and wasn't afraid to stand out and be weird. When her debut album "Cry Baby" released my senior year of high school, I nearly exploded with excitement. I purchased the album on iTunes and on vinyl for my record player. "Cry Baby" was everything I had wanted from Martinez and than some. A mature album with hidden meanings and entire worlds built for music videos.

Now where did I fall off? I continued to love and follow Martinez through her career as I began college, trying to put as many of my new friends and roommates onto the Cry Baby train as I could.

In 2017, an allegation broke my relationship with Martinez. In a messy sexual assault allegation, Matinez's old friend Timothy Hiller accused Martinez of sexually assaulting and raping her. Many statements came out on both sides about the matter, but being in an abusive relationship at the time myself, and feeling as though someone I had looked up to for so many years like a close friend had just let me down in an unforgivable way, I unfollowed Martinez off every social media platform and stopped listening to her music.

Fast forward to today, the year is 2020. Like many young adults my age, I recently decided to download TikTok, even though I had complained for so many months prior that it would never hold up to what Vine once was in my eyes. Needless to say, TikTok has become my new obsession and I check it multiple times a day. "Play Date" a song off of "Cry Baby" made it's sudden appearance to me in a Timothee Chalamet meme like post of him slo-motion dancing from some movie he was in. (spoiler alert, I have seen all 0 of films featuring this man). This sudden burst of nostalgia of an album I once loved and than the sudden anger that out of all the bops on that album, this was the song that was blowing up, coursed through my veins intermittently, and lead me to do more research on the artist I once knew and loved.

I've since looked up where Martinez is in her career to see that she's doing well, her latest album "K-12" was on tour before the pandemic, and her two toned hair and creepy style is still keeping her fan base strong and always wanting more. Although I do feel like I've outgrown Martinez, both in style of music and aesthetic, it's been confirmed that the sexual assault allegations were false, and her strange relationship with dolls and teddy bears is still as strong as ever. I encourage everyone to check out more of Martinez's music, not just the songs that remain popular on TikTok, ESPECIALLY her cover of Britney Spears "Toxic" that she sang while a contestant on The Voice.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Sam Sanon

photographer // trash tv connoisseur // dyslexic bad bitch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.