Beat logo

The CD pickup of 2022

All the fabulous local music CD's I have collected on my travels

By Charlie SmithPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - January 2023
16

I must start by wishing you all a happy new year! I hope that father Christmas delivered everything you wanted. Whether that was a brand new guitar, drum set or some socks. Hopefully, you were all good in 2022. I was certainly very good in 2022 or rather I wasn't as bad as I could have been which is something.

I wanted to write this article today just really showcase some of the fantastic CDs I collected from 2002. I know that vinyl is making a come back but CDs really deserve a comeback as well. As you may know, it is not always easy for artists to make money so it's always handy to have some CD stock for artists to sell at their gigs. Having just said that I must confess I didn't buy any of these CDs at all! No, I traded for most of them or (As you will find out) maybe I took part in a music video and got given it as a reward. Anyway, it got me feeling a little bad so thought I should support local music and give them a bit of a shout-out. Before we get into the CDs I just want to give a quick shout-out to all the great music I've heard online. I might not have been able to get a CD for all the great local/non-local music I heard last year but I've added lots to my playlist 'Indiependant' So please do check that out for more music from great unsigned acts.

Keepers Brew

First up we have 'Keepers brew' with some hard electro music. I must say I really love the artwork here the whole CD package and the CD itself is beautiful. I'm not really into dance/trance music so I couldn't tell you too much about it specifically, but what I would say is that it sounded like music from a video game. The reason I got given this was quite random. I got invited to be an extra in a music video they were filming. I can't lie I was a bit drunk but the time I arrived (As I had been playing an open mic before) but hopefully I had a cinematic presence that was worthy of the CD.

Nick Haynes

Next up we have local singer songwriter 'Nick Haynes' with his EP 'Alive in sunny Southampton'. My favorite part of the EP is back vocals and crowd interaction. Recorded at the cricketers arms in Southampton. Sounds like you are there down in the pub. Very cool.

Markus Moody

I absolutely love (Sorry for the pun) the 'Love letter' EP from Markus Moody! An awesome collection of broody and moody tunes. I'm lucky enough to watch him play live a few times now and I would very much recommend it. Hope to catch him again in 2023.

Die IV you

I saved the heaviest till last of course. I got this CD at the punk at the railway which was a gig I stepped up to fill in at the last minute. My favourite tune is by far the man that time forgot. Very underrated punk rock track in my opinion.

There we have some lovely CDs that I have managed to collect this year! I really hope that everyone who brought my CD last year really likes it as much as everything I have collected. I hope that CDs do make a proper comeback because it's so great to collect them from gigs. I'll leave a link below to link my handmade CDs where you can find all my merch, hopefully, see you all at a gig soon where we can trade CDs like Pokémon cards. I look forward to the 23' collection.

Charlie

album reviews
16

About the Creator

Charlie Smith

I'm new to this but hey I'm giving it ago. I sing and play guitar. I'm here to share a few bits of info I learn along my journey

https://linktr.ee/CharlieSmithMusic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Sukunaabout a year ago

    Nice , keep it up

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    This is an awesome list! Thanks for sharing this!

  • Aj Gabout a year ago

    dds

  • Heather Lunsfordabout a year ago

    What a great reminder music is much more that the top 40 constantly thrown at us. I'm sure these local artist appreciate your shout out!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congrats on the Top Story! This was a wonderfully put together and interesting read. I enjoyed listening to the previews you included. Great work :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.