Beat logo

The Angels - Symphony Of Angels Concert (Review)

Brisbane 03/12/2022

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
4
Rick Brewster (left) and John Brewster (right) (Photo courtesy of the Author)

Anyone who knows me well, knows that my favourite musical band is, and has always been, The Angels.

I was I guess, one of their top groupies back in the day. I followed them from pub to pub, gig to gig and never missed a show back in the 1980’s.

The band was formed in 1974 by Doc Neeson, John Brewster and his brother Rick Brewster, in Adelaide, their home town.

My fondest memory is a gig at the Morley Pub in Perth and I thought it was going to be the first concert I missed. Why? Because I was broke and couldn’t afford the cover charge to get into the venue to see the show.

But someone from way up high was looking after me that day, as a friend leant me the money to get in.

I arrived early, was one of the fans that was at the front and eagerly waited for the best band in the world, in my eyes, to adorn the stage.

It was hot, extremely hot, almost pass out hot and of course I never had a cent for a cooling drink, but I didn’t care. I was right where I needed to be.

The night started and Doc Neeson was almost at touching distance. In fact we were constantly getting showered in his sweat but it was a night I’ll never forget. Doc could never be surpassed as a singer. He was pure talent.

On each side of the stage were the Brewster Brothers, Rick on lead guitar and John on rhythm guitar. Both as cool as cucumbers, as they played, not a reaction to anything around them. They stood still, they stood tall, never a smile. Nothing ever rattled them.

The audience however, couldn’t stay still and of course it all contributed to the heat. People were fainting and having to be passed up on to the stage to get them out of the crowd, Doc was showering us with water trying to keep us cool.

It truly was a fantastic concert.

At the end of the night, I was one of the last to leave, as I was packed in at the front of the stage.

They were selling singlets down the back but of course I didn’t have the money to buy one — until that was, after the crowd began to thin out. I really, really wanted a shirt and when I looked down onto the floor, there sat a lonely $50 note. Someone had dropped it.

I scooped it up and it was just enough to purchase the last singlet they had on sale. Of course, being the last one, it was way too big for me but I didn’t care. I was over the moon.

I still have that singlet to this day, almost fifty years later, framed along with The Angels record albums I purchased in the eighties (all album covers still hold their original records).

Photo courtesy of the Author

As I got older, had children, moved to the Northern Territory, I began missing some of their concerts. Life just gets in the way sometimes.

Still, I go to every concert possible, as I know we are all getting older and one day they will be no more.

Doc Neeson left our world in 2014, much to our horror, from a brain tumour and he was eventually replaced by Dave Gleeson from Screaming Jets.

Dave doesn’t hold a candle to Doc, in fact, I don’t like him at all. He’s rude and crude, and doesn’t fit well with the personality of the Brewster Brothers, who I believe, to be the last two true gentlemen of the rock n’roll era. The total opposite of the rude and crude Dave Gleeson.

However, I still follow the group religiously and tolerate Dave Gleeson as the music and songs will always be epic and worthy of my loyalty.

Last night’s show was a little unusual for The Angels, in the fact they had a full orchestra and choir backing them up and it worked. This is not the first time I’ve seen them live and backed by an orchestra, so I knew it was going to be a fabulous night — and they didn’t disappoint.

Photo courtesy of the Author

The crowd, although seated, still rocked that Concert Hall to all the old favourites and when The Angels played the fabulous ‘Am I Ever Going To See Your Face Again’, the audience knew the resounding answer, shouting ‘No way, get fucked, fuck off’ on cue.

Photo courtesy of the Author

I was extra fortunate to have a third row seat, in the middle, facing the stage. A close up view I appreciated immensely.

It goes to show that a room full of fifty, sixty and older rockers, can still party hard and rock the night away.

Photo courtesy of the Author

A brilliant night and I’m now hanging to see The Angels again in January 2023. I have my ticket to this show but unlike last night’s rendition, the concert in January is back in a pub, it’ll be like I’m living in the 1980’s all over again. I wouldn’t miss it for the world.

I’ve included some YouTube videos of The Angels best songs. Enjoy!

I will forewarn you though, these videos all include Doc Neeson, as he is the one that belongs with this fantastic band.

Am I Ever Going To See Your Face Again

No Secrets

We’ve Got To Get Out Of This Place

Face The Day

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

70s music80s music90s musicbandscelebritiesconcert
4

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Oh no, I'm so sorry about Doc 🥺 From what you've said, I've decided I don't like Dave either. And whoaaaa you were so lucky to have found the money on the floor!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Well-written review. Glad you enjoyed the show.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.