Beat logo

The Albums That Made Me Want To Be In A Band

Growing Up In A Musical Household And The Like

By Connie MatthewsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - September 2021
6
Elastica's Self-Titled Debut Album

I'm sure that most musicians say this, but I truly knew that music was something I had to do as a career pretty early on. I'm lucky to have grown up in a musical household, where I was continually encouraged to explore my creativity and find the path that suited me the best.

There are so many factors that led me to the point I am at now (playing bass in a band called wych elm, and working as a Marketing Assistant in the music industry), but today I thought I would talk you through the albums that I grew up listening to that inspired me greatly.

Elastica by Elastica

Alrighty, let's start with this cracking album. I can't actually remember being introduced to Elastica, or the moment I first listened to their debut album, because they were always just part of my life (I may or may not have a family member that was in the band). However, there isn't a day that passes by where I don't either listen to a song off this album, or attempt to learn one of Annie Holland's magical bass lines.

Hearing about these three incredibly cool, strong women playing music that I absolutely LOVED was just life-changing for me. Catchy, energetic, effortlessly interesting - this entire album, from start to finish, just exudes everything that I wanted to make myself. Just iconic.

American Idiot by Green Day

My older brother was big into his emo music, that's what it was referred to as in the early 2000s, probably not anymore. He used to watch Kerrang! and MTV Rocks, and all those great channels. Being eight years older than me, he had first dibs on what we watched on the TV, so music videos it was, and I loved it.

This is where I was introduced to the likes of Green Day, Foo Fighters, Blink-182, Avril Lavigne (more on her in a bit), Evanescence and the wonderful world of 2000s Rock Music.

American Idiot by Green Day, however, still to this day stands out as one of my life-changing albums.

Every single song on that album is so different to anything I had ever heard before. It was loud, fast, catchy, whilst also telling a story and in some ways, was extremely theatrical. The way Jesus of Suburbia has basically loads of little songs entwined into one, the dramatic bridges and emotional, yet sometimes funny, lyrics. It taught me that music has no rules, no limits, and can be whatever the hell you want it to be.

Doolittle by Pixies

Definitely the oldest album on my list, but actually the one I discovered the latest. When I joined wych elm, my mam told me that she really liked our "Pixies-esque guitar riffs" and I felt like I needed to do my research. I had always known Pixies' "hits", you know, the famous ones, but hadn't, I don't think, ever listened to any of their albums all the way through or paid them the attention I should have.

Well, when I tell you that I went from zero to a hundred pretty quickly, that would be an understatement.

I started with Doolittle, and it truly changed my LIFE. What an interesting, beautifully-written and exciting record.

I then went on to listen to the rest of their discography and now I am truly obsessed, and I can hear it in my bass-playing and see it in my song-writing.

Let Go by Avril Lavigne

All I need to write here is this: ask my mam about the videos of baby Connie stood on a box with a microphone singing along to Sk8er Boi.

Brutalism by IDLES

Alright, we have reached almost the end of my list. I was surrounded by so much music that this list could go on forever if I could be arsed to keep writing. Alas, I am ready to get an early night and turn my laptop off, so let's chat about the most recent album that made me want to join a band.

I was introduced to IDLES at Swn Festival in Cardiff, purely for work purposes. Their set changed my life.

After watching their set and falling in love with their debut album, it lead me to start a blog (not this one, ha), move to Bristol, somehow play guitar onstage with them (twice), be interviewed for their documentary and, honestly it still baffles me to write this, support them at o2 Academy Brixton in January 2022 (only 4 months to go, I am terrified).

This band not only have inspired me in becoming the person I am today, but have actually supported me and helped me on my journey. It's a beautiful thing.

To finish my list, it wouldn't be a Connie blog post without something that a normal person would find embarrassing. The final album that made me want to join a band:

Hannah Montana by Hannah Montana

YES, THAT'S RIGHT FRIENDS. Hannah Montana's, aka Miley Cyrus', 2006 album gave this little girl the hopes and dreams of being a rockstar. I might not have The Best of Both Worlds, but I sure am Pumpin' Up The Party as wych elm's bassist.

bands
6

About the Creator

Connie Matthews

Hi friends, my name is Connie and I play bass in a band called wych elm. This blog is for me to write down my inner ramblings, talk about music, being in a band and just whatever the heck I want.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.