Beat logo

The 12 Songs that Made My 2020.

My favourite song of each month, from January to December.

By Ciarán ColemanPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
4

Consistent is probably the last word I'd use to describe 2020 - well, except for the music I listened too. With more time than ever before to explore new genres, artists and songs, 2020 has proved to be the best year for expanding my music catalogue yet. A small feat to some but for an avid music lover like me, this simple fact has proven to be an ever-present light in the dark of 2020.

Here's the 12 songs of 2020 that mattered the most to me;

Month: January

Song: Grew Up At Midnight

Ah January, an unknowingly beautiful time, a time before Covid invaded my life and threw it into turmoil. Why did this song etch its way into the best memories from that carefree month? It wasn't amongst my most listened to.

For two main reasons.

January 16th exists as an incredibly poignant date in my mind; in 2020, not only was it my 17th birthday but also my schools talent show where my band 'polxroid' performed for the first time. We ended up winning and I spent the night amongst my best friends, laughing and celebrating both my birthday and victory. Its importance unknown to me at the time, it has since become the sound of that euphoric night, a memory of a simpler time that I'll always cherish.

Month: February

Song: Fade Into You

February's scream lazy Tuesday mornings and 2020's was no different. I spent the majority of the month ignoring my studies and looking forward to the midterm break after Christmas. The only memory that stands out is the meal I shared with my girlfriend, Cat, on Valentine's day. We ate poorly made spaghetti bolognese and listened to Mazzy Star's masterpiece 'Fade into you' on repeat. Looking back now, it's laid back melancholy perfectly encapsulated the lazy innocence of that month.

Month: March

Song: My Life Is Over and I Couldn't Be Happier

March, or, as I like to call it, the month everything went to hell. Covid hit Ireland like a train and my school shut down before St. Patrick's day. My love for punk rekindled as my frustration and stress over my ever-nearing exams led me to PUP, an explosively raw pop-punk band. The sardonic, self-deprecating lyrics matched with the fun and energetic guitars seemed to mirror my feelings exactly - happy to be free from school but apprehensive about what was to come.

Month: April

Song: Carry On

It wasn't long before the high of being free from school dissipated into periods of stress, worry and sadness. Being away from my friends for weeks with no end in sight was infinitely more tough than I thought. Despite the days, weeks and months starting to blur together I remember my love for this song rekindling one bright morning nearing the final days of April. A song I'd enjoyed as a kid found new meaning and importance as the days of quarantine stretched on.

Month: May

Song: Remember When

Never has nostalgia tasted so bittersweet as it did in the long, long month of May. What would ultimately prove to be the final month of the first quarantine, it definitely didn't feel like it during. The sweltering month was spent studying for exams that, in the end up, never happened. I found solace in memories of better days, and what song better than this synth-infused, pop song by Wallows. Bright and laced with nostalgia, it was the definitive sound of May 2020.

Month: June

Song: King of The Rodeo

June stands out amongst the other summer months, as I was reunited with my friends, albeit for a limited time. On top of that, my Grandad turned 80, I was able to write more music with my band and get back in the studio, the sun was shining; what can I say, life was good. The energy and pumping bass on this infectious rock track made it the song of my 2020 summer, even if it was a summer short lived.

Month: July

Song: Grace

What can I say? Summer vibes or not, 'Grace' will never not make it onto a list of my favourite songs. July was a mix of freedom and quarantine, but no matter which one I always had the ethereal magic that is Jeff Buckley with me. I remember the month as the most confusing and messy time of 2020 (and that's saying something). The only coherent part was my passion for music, that only grew with every Jeff Buckley song I heard.

Month: August

Song: Private Presley

Despite being unique and incredibly present, 'Private Presley' is somehow smooth and effortlessly fades into the background. It's hard for August to seem any different. The entire month can be compared to a docile, pleasant evening, warm but not too warm, slow but not too slow. I found a certain familiarity I hadn't felt all year as the yearly August blues set in. Unlike every other year, however, I wasn't going back to school. I still don't know if that made things better or worse.

Month: September

Song: North

Keeping with the chill vibes of August, 'North' sums up the direction September took me. Despite struggling with not going to College, I was able to (finally) go back to the gym, have regular meet ups, etc. My life was back on track or, at the very least, it felt like it. Getting back into a regular routine impacted my mental health in a positive way immensely and my old friend, dopamine, even popped in to say hello. Things were looking up, or rather, north.

Month: October

Song: Lazy Eye

Things did get better and stayed better, for the most part. Quarantine didn't rear its ugly head at all and I was able to rekindle my passion for writing thanks to all the free time I had. Unfortunately that passion led to me dabbling with Freelancer where I had more than a few awful experiences that threatened to ruin the spooky season. 'Lazy Eye's strong melody and raw vocals helped me through the dark patch of freelance writing I experienced before I found Vocal.

Month: November

Song: My Honest Face

November catapulted me into my third lockdown, which, surprisingly was the easiest. Why? Because of Vocal, of course. The long days suddenly had a purpose, as I spent each one writing stories and articles. I found an Irish band named 'Inhaler' and got lost in their synth-rock, 80's feel. Their catchy song 'My Honest Face' reminded me of my ongoing struggle with identity. Putting passion into each story helped me come closer to understanding my own self in weird way.

Month: December

Song: SUPERBLOOM

At last, 2020 is coming to an end. December had its ups and downs but in the end, it all turned out ok. Christmas was calming and chill and the days before and after were happy and full of laughter. At the end of a rocky year, I can't say I'm not more than willing to give my all to 2021. And what better song to end the year than the groovy 'SUPERBLOOM' by MisterWives, I've had on repeat this entire month. As an anthem for overcoming the dark, I think it's rather fitting.

Like this? Wanna see more? Just click the little picture of me for tons of content just like this. Feel free to leave a like or even a tip. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! - Ciarán

list
4

About the Creator

Ciarán Coleman

'There's no time for hatred, only questions

What is love, where is happiness

What is life, where is peace?

When will I find the strength to bring me release?'

- Jeff Buckley

Interested in me writing for you?

Gmail; [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.