Beat logo

TÊI 1013

ViZuewl Network

By Tammy ReesePublished 4 years ago 9 min read
Like
TÊI 1013

About TÊI 1013

You know him as a new face on the horizon, but this man is not new to the scene! Formerly known as “DJ Bam Bam” of SPI Fame and one of the Original “IDRC Record Pool DJ’s” of NYC, he has re-invented himself as the artist now known as TÊI 1013!

TÊI 1013 has come a long way since the beginning. Starting his DJ career back in the old school days when everyone went to USA Roller Skating Rink in Edison, NJ. The evolving club scene was mainly growing from the clubs within the skating rinks at the time, so TÊI made that natural transition. Along that journey, Têi 1013 enjoyed residencies at such clubs as Poor Billy’s in Woodbridge NJ, Mingles in Sayreville NJ, Club 35 (now known as Club Abyss) in Sayreville NJ, Club 88 in Newark, NJ, and finally ending at the infamous Club 3-5-7 in New Brunswick, NJ.

After gaining notable experience and recognition as being a dominant part of the NJ club scene. TÊI 1013 was able to secure prominent bookings in some prestigious clubs in NYC. Including but not limited to The Tunnel and the Sound Factory (as seen on MTV).

After years of following his dreams as a DJ, TÊI decided he wanted to serve his country in a different way by joining the Armed Forces. Since his accomplishments as a DJ, he has gone on several military combat deployments, including four to Afghanistan and two to Iraq. Having the insatiable drive within him for music and DJing, TÊI 1013 has decided to pick up where he left off and make his resurgence in the music scene. Having the natural ability to rock any crowd, TÊI 1013 will bring his experience and soul into any mix.

TÊI 1013 has also taken on a residency on "The REMIX TOP 30 Countdown” show hosted by Sean “HOLLYWOOD” Hamilton. The Remix Top 30 is a three-hour show featuring the biggest mainstream pop hits of the week remixed by the country’s biggest DJ’s and producers. Hosted by Hamilton, each EDM-intensive hour also features special appearances by top-named artists and celebrity guests. The Remix Top 30 Countdown is North America’s most listened-to, syndicated radio mix-show in the country. The popular franchise can be heard on WKTU / New York, WIHT/Washington, D.C., WJMN/Boston, WISX/Philadelphia, WZFT/Baltimore, KPPT/Denver, KKRZ/Portland, WEBZ/New Orleans, KUUU/Salt Lake City, WPXY/Rochester, KBKS/Seattle, KPLV/Las Vegas, and WKFS/Cincinnati, among other major markets. It’s also available on iHeartRadio, iHeartMedia’s free, all-in-one, digital music, and streaming radio service.

You can also check out TÊI 1013 at "The Mix Lab Satx" on Saturdays from 6 to 9 p.m. -https://www.facebook.com/TheMixxLab/

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese:

How did your career as a DJ begin?

TÊI 1013:

I would have to say that my DJ'ing career started when I was about 13 years old. "Way back in the day" when Roller Skating Rinks were popular. One of my older cousins had a DJ set up in his bedroom, and it intrigued me so much that I always wanted to visit their house to watch him practice. Whenever I got the chance, I would also watch him perform at the skating rinks, which just blew my mind! That's when I decided that I wanted to be a part of that lifestyle as well.

I remember the first day that I told my father that I wanted to be a DJ and that I needed some DJ equipment. He just looked at me, and said, "Are you sure that this is what you want to do" I replied, "Yes, this is what I want to do right now" I remember those words specifically -> "Right Now" LOL, as I was still thinking ahead, about what if something else comes up later. My father, throughout my life, was very supportive of everything that I wanted to experience. So, he got me my first DJ setup, the Numark DM 1, and two technique SL 1200's. From that point on, I didn't do anything other than practice mixing outside of football going to practice.

Before I knew it, I was DJ'ing at small local parties, which escalated into the skating rinks quickly and then into some of our local teen dance clubs. "That's Right," I said, "Teen Dance Clubs" we had those back in the day. You don't see too many of those nowadays when today's children need something like that. My DJ'ing career hit the mainstream after I became a police officer. At that time, I was one of the youngest ever put on that police force during those times. I believe, back then, the age to become a police officer was 21 years old. I was 19 years old when I started the Academy, and I just had turned 20 years old, on graduation day. After serving out my rookie year on the police force, I was then assigned to a Drug Narcotic Task Force that conducted operations within the tri-state. I was then sent to Los Angeles, California, to a professional DJ School (Which I won't divulge the school name.) to learn professional DJ techniques that would prepare me for my undercover assignment in mainstream dance clubs as a DJ.

After spending 13 months in California, I returned to the task force and worked as an undercover police officer in mainstream dance clubs. And at that time, I would have to say, that's what took my DJ career to an entirely different level, as far as performing in all mainstream dance clubs within and outside of the Tri-State's. It was definitely a journey, but being an officer, and a young officer at that, I got burnt out over the years, really fast. I'll end this story here, on that note, be continued at another time. Smile.

Tammy Reese:

Thank you for your service! What inspired you to serve our country?

TÊI 1013:

It has been an honor serving our country throughout my 22 years of active duty military service in the United States Army. Thank you for your acknowledgment.

Tammy Reese:

What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

TÊI 1013:

I would have to say that, most of my memorable moments took place while I was undercover as a DJ, which I’m sure that I really shouldn’t be talking about. However, those were some really crazy and interesting stories/times. (Maybe that can be a book someday) LOL, but there is one time that I can speak about, and that was the first time that I performed in front of a crowd that head over 15,000 people present. I remember walking the runway (that’s behind the scene path to the stage), and as I was nearing the stage ramp to the mainstage, I started feeling sick to my stomach, and I had to turn around and run back to the bathroom, where I immediately threw up! LOL. This was also my first outdoor “gig” Music festival!!! LOL. So when I finally made it back to the stage, or should I say onto the stage, my nerves were all over the place, right on up to a point, where I hit the PLAY button on the CDJ deck!! LOL, but then, the energy from the crowd just took over and whisked away all of that fear. That was crazy!

Tammy Reese:

How did the ViZuewl Network come to fruition?

TÊI 1013:

Vizuewl Dramatics “ViZ•D” was created off of a premise that I had from working within a show called “The Mix Lab Satx” that showcased and featured new upcoming DJs from San Antonio, which quickly escalated into featuring new upcoming DJs within the state of Texas. The whole purpose of the Mix Lab SATX, is to give young upcoming DJs in the local community, a platform, where not only can they be heard, but be seen as well. A complete performance for the world to view. The Mix Lab SATX was doing so well; I decided to open it up to Single solo artists, producers, and bands. In the two years that it has been running, we’ve had over 200 DJs perform here, 60 Song Producers, and 25 Single Solo Artists. Then, I came up with another idea of creating an even bigger platform and offering it to people with a talent, a dream, or something special that they want to share with the world. And Vizuewl Dramatics “ViZ•D” was born.

The main vision of ViZD is “Pure Entertainment, written by the People, for the People,” and what I mean by that is just everyday ordinary people, wanting to express, show, and share their goals, dreams, and passions with the world. However, I may have some “A” list or “B” list celebrities on the network for inspiration from time to time. This network will be mainly focused on the upcoming and new talents of the industry.

Tammy Reese:

What types of shows will be on your platform?

TÊI 1013:

ViZ•D shares its intent to showcase untold stories, and in so doing, educate, uplift, and inform a diverse audience, along with “Live” and Pre-recorded Music performances, Stand-Up Comedy, Documentaries, Reality Shows, African American Cinema, Critically Acclaimed LGBTQIA, Educational, How to Do’s Fitness and ViZ•D Exclusives.

Tammy Reese:

Are you currently taking show pitches or guest feature inquires? If so, how can people submit to be showcased on your platform?

TÊI 1013:

Absolutely! I’m always looking for new content providers and show pitches. All offers/Pitches, ideas, or if you want to become apart of the ViZ•D team, all emails should be sent to [email protected].

Tammy Reese:

How will your platform be different from others?

TÊI 1013:

What I would have to say that mainly separates Vizuewl dramatics from all the other networks out there is that we’re not celebrities, nor are we professional athletes. We are everyday people, providing great conversational content from around the world. Our mainstream News /Media displays and reports nothing but negative stories. However, we are surrounded by so much better that goes unreported. That is a baseline for ViZ•D is to “Hunt the Good Stuff” and remain as nonpolitical as possible.

Tammy Reese:

What other projects are you currently involved with and working on?

TÊI 1013:

Some projects that I’m currently working on are The Mix Lab Satx, The Mix Lab Global, which includes Mix Lab New York w/ co-host Jason Rios Brooklyn NY, Mix Lab Tampa Fl w/ co-host Fredrick Sullivan, and soon to come, Mix Lab Las Vegas, Mix Lab Los Angeles, Mix Lab Dubai, and Mix Lab Johannesburg. I’m also working on some upcoming Reality “Exclusives” that will only “Air” on ViZ•D.

Tammy Reese:

What do you want your legacy to be?

TÊI 1013:

I want to be remembered as someone who helped “Pave the Way” for people with an unclear or cluttered path. Everyone deserves to live out their dreams and passions. Also, everyone deserves a second chance at life, with a complete, and a clean slate.

Connect with DJ TÊI 1013 on Instagram

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.