Beat logo

Taylor Swift does it again and I ain’t even mad

Taylor surprises us overnight with the drop of her 9th album and I ain’t even mad

By Virag DombayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Let’s set the scene shall we; it’s about 11:30pm on a Thursday night. I’ve just come home from seeing a theatre performance and am mid-way through writing my review of it when my partner calls me. Now, I knew that my partner had a 6am shift the next day so I knew that he’d only call me if he had something extraordinary to tell me or if something had happened to him. Thankfully, it wasn’t the latter. He was calling me to tell me to check my socials as Taylor Swift had just announced a surprise 9th studio album Evermore, a skated album to Folklore, which is one of my favourite albums ever recorded. So naturally, I went into a state of shock and only had total of about three hours of sleep before I had to go and teach children the next morning.

As always, I’m in constant awe of Swift, from the records she’s broken, to how she created a career as a result of her hard-work, networking and dedication and the impact she has on popular culture. But most importantly, I’m in awe of how she created not one but two albums during lockdown featuring songs which have some of the best prose and imagery I have ever read and I read A LOT of poetry. She is currently re-recording her old songs so we may even be getting a third lock down album and my heart truly can’t deal with that.

I only finished work an hour ago and as soon as I finished I have a virtual listening party with a couple of friends of the new album and it’s brilliant. Lyrically, it’s equal to the writing in folklore, but has a more of a country/indie vibe and uses more instrumentation and vocal lines in the tracks. As I said, I’ve only listened to it once but the prose of Evermore and Marjorie continue to haunt my ears, Ivy feels me with so much joy, no body, no crime is a bop and I can’t get willow out of my head. It’s video clip is stunning as well. And by the time this article live, I will have probably listened to this album at least five times if not more so I’ll probably have fallen in love with even more tracks.

I’ve always loved Taylor’s music although I will now contradict myself by saying that I wasn’t a massive fan of her Reputation era because I felt that her songs during that time weren’t lyrically as strong. I love her music as she takes us on a journey through the spoken word of not only chapters of her life, but chapters of our lives. When I broke up with my ex, I couldn’t stop listening to Red and when I started to fall in love with my current partner, I couldn’t stop listening to Lover and Folklore. I love how she can conjure up the most vivid images in my mind through her lyrics and how she continues to create a safe place to land for me.

Taylor Swift, I believe, is one of the storytellers and greatest poets of our century and I’m so grateful for my generation and the younger generation of girls to have such an incredible role model to look up to. A role model who is public about seeking justice for all, about everyone having a voice and about the grey area in the entertainment industry. A role model who teaches you that grief is universal but that you have the strength to navigate it, that love is what makes you glow and that every story is meant to be told, even if that story hasn’t been written that.

Evermore is available on all streaming platforms including Spotify and YouTube.

album reviews
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.