Beat logo

Tapping Into the Connection Behind Mental Wellness & Music with Singer & Songwriter McKenna Camille

Music artist, actress, model, and mental wellness advocate McKenna Camille opens up about her journey as an artist and dedication to rise above the haters by empowering others.

By Jae MoniquePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Music artist, actress, model, and mental wellness advocate McKenna Camille opens up about her journey as an artist and dedication to rise above the haters by empowering others. Dive into this personal interview with McKenna to uncover the reality, struggle and passion behind becoming a music artist and how writing, journaling, and music led her to become an advocate for mental wellness.

Tell us your name and a little about yourself.

My name is McKenna Camille. I am 18 years old and a student at the Atlantic Acting school at NYU Tisch. I am very loud. Aside from that, I pour myself into everything I do, whether that is acting, music, or whatever. I am a very passionate person, which might be why I am so loud. I am definitely an oddball. I have many interests, ranging from Greek mythology to fashion, so it's really hard to sum up a little about me.

What exactly does your company do?

Well, considering I am my company, I really try to keep myself busy. I am a full-time student at NYU Tisch, and between classes, I am posting on social media, writing song lyrics, recording self-tapes, and working on 100 other projects.

What were the biggest challenges you have faced and how did you overcome them?

I don't really think there is a right answer for this question. I have had some crazy stuff happen to me, but in the grand scheme of things, the challenges I have faced have really helped me grow incredibly. With that being said, I was severely bullied for most of my school experience and I think that, coupled with dealing with mental illness, was really hard. My upcoming single, "Bad One" is actually about the bullying that I dealt with for years—and it sucked—but I definitely learned how to stand up for myself, and I now know what kind of person I don't want to be. I think I overcame all of that because I focused on work, school, bettering myself, and reaching my goals, instead of focusing on what other people were saying to me.  

What piece of advice do you wish someone had given you at the start of your career? 

I wish someone had told me that the best thing to do in music is to write for yourself and no one else. There have been a couple songs that I have worked on in the past where I have thought “yeah I can see this being a catchy song, but is it me?” I tried making songs for other people and burying the experiences that I have had, but that just didn’t work out, I didn't enjoy it. I actually realized this right before we wrote my upcoming single “Bad One.” I was watching an interview that Billie Eilish had done a while back, and she was talking about how important it is to make music for yourself. 

Who are your biggest influences and people you admire and why?

Well, I've been obsessed with Miley Cyrus since I was about 5 years old, so I think she is definitely my biggest inspiration. As far as influences in my music, I would say Olivia Rodrigo, Billie Eilish, Bea Miller, and Tate McRae all impact my songwriting and style. I also love the 70s, so I take inspiration from a lot of 70s music and artists. 

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are.

I have a great team, honestly. I have a couple of really close friends who help me with all of my music and social media. I also have a great relationship with my Casting Director Joey Paul Jensen, who I take acting classes from, but I really see her as an amazing mentor. 

What do you see as your greatest success in life?

My greatest success has to be my passion for everything I do. I know that is super cheesy, but I really have so many creative endeavors and am able to pursue them all because of how passionate I am. I'm just starting out in the music industry and at the same time I am working on starting my own business. I’m all over the place, but my passion for each thing I do allows me to be. 

How can people follow your journey? Please list your social media URLs.

  • Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mckenalee/
  • TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMeqQEHQT/ 
  • Snapchat: mckenna027
  • Website: mckennacamille.com

interview
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.