Beat logo

Take Be Back

Not to Far

By Dale CalhounPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Lady in the Alley

Take me Back

A Screenplay by Dale Calhoun

Seattle Washington, Afternoon, May 2020 , Chapter One

Producer slash engineer KAISER is arguing with loving computer programmer ALLYSSA MABEE. KAISER tries to hug ALLYSSA but she shakes him off.

ALLYSSA

Please, don't leave me alone I need my space.

KAISER

I'm sorry KAISER, give your music sometime to get on the charts. You need some play time we got your album out there.

ALLYSSA

When do we start my concerts everything’s on hold?

Allyssa looked frustrated.

KAISER

I'm sorry, I wasn’t ready for this CIVID19 Thing neither was the whole world look where were at now.

ALLYSSA walks out the door heading home without any drama.

ALLYSSA, enters he Condo in a hurry to sit down AT HER HOME Music STUDIO Where she has a file of a new song she’s been working on.

Moments later, gangster rapper (UTAH KATO) alias UK calls a friend on his iPhone not in a very good mood.

TREVOR’s Samsung 10 blows up and as he answers it.

Hello??

UK

You guys going to pay up???

TREVOR

Look UK hard times man this Covid19 thang.

UK

You big baby’s. I’m making money.

TREVOR

Yea selling drugs, nothin to do with music

UK

Boy I’m going to mess you up if you keep it up dude.

TREVOR

OK, we know we owe you for studio time for our new album of which all concerts where cancelled so know way to pay everybody back right now. Hell, I can’t even get a dish

washer job.

UK

You tell your gang of four you got another week or my roadies will come and take your instruments.

TREVOR

Omg that’s how we make money to pay you back get us some gigs.

UK

Now I might be able to apologue their T I got some underground party’s I’m hosting

TREVOR: That might just work out and pay you back….what we owe you. Once cash pass’s through our hands.

UK

You owe me dude it should be free.

TREVOR

You for get our session stands with our T-Shirts and Hats that pulls in as much as a live concert if the concert good, therefore you must provide the sound equipment and stage lights and everything.

UK

You know what TRVEOR?

TREVOR

What?

UK

Oh, its on, and I’ll contact you where to show up with your band. But you know what Trevor???

TREVOR

What Dog?

UK

Don’t Dog me Mule, I take it all back. (with and evil smile.)

If you mess this up, I’m coming for your instruments and equipment and take your band in for my own group.

This has been three months and you’re not working.

TREVOR

DUH! So, hasn’t the rest of the world.

UK

Oh, your pushing my buttons I’m about to ready to beat you with my Kane. Walk lightly dude, contact your group tell them what I said.

TREVOR who felt for Kato down deep but with limited means sucked it up.

I’ll will UK I promise man I’ll try my best. He said.

1-5 HIGHWAY HEADING NORTH TO BLAINE

QUINN gets a call from TREVOR

QUINN answers his iPhone: which sits on the dash with voice commands to answer the call.

QUINN Hello, TREVOR sop

TREVOR

Our friends not very happy.

QUIINN

Couldn’t get him to budge, huh?

TREVOR

He threatened me.

QUINN

With death?

TREVOR

NO.

QUINN

Then what???

TREVOR

He’s going to take my instruments and the band and put me out on the street.

QUINN

Who the school of hard knocks huh? (smirks)

TREVOR

That’s rough QUINN being out again. I dished washed at Denny’s most of my life, no more I want the music.

QUINN

OK, how much we into with your studio time with UK?

TREVOR

And easy 35k QUIINN.

QUINN

Well what’s is this manager going to do with you guys. I’m more of an investor then a manager I spring you guys out all the time.

TREVOR

I know QUINN you always come threw for us.

QUINN

Well this crazy world we’re living its not your fault. You haven’t told them who your MANAGER source comes from?

TREVOR

As you requested your still anonymous.

QUINN

Let me get back with you TREVOR I got some calls to make.

TREVOR

As you say QUINN talk with you later.

QUINN

I got my own roadies TREVOR let me get back with you.

TREVOR

Sure

WADES BODY SHOP GETS A CALL.

A man answers his iPhone

QUINN

Sop

GUNTER!

Wop bro?

QUINN

What do you know about UK’s roadies and his thug music?

GUNTER

There UK’s group man bunch of Thugs.

QUINN

Are they a Rap or Hip-Hop group?

GUNTER

There an indie like your group you manage.

QUINN

Do they do covers?

GUNTER

Yes, with their own originals mixed

QUINN

So are they like a gang?

GUNTER

Guess you could say that, man.

QUINN

So they do that gangster music?

GUNTER

Yes, there following is growing their groupies act like thugs.

They do the same things some GOTH MUSIC does they have

their own type of mosh pits, working up a frizzy slamming each

other pushing and shoving. Charges where dropped on them

when several people died in human wave pushing each other

back and forth enough they found a lot of shoe left behind.

QUINN

I remember it happened, now that you reminded me. CRAZY

GUNTER

You've bet?

QUINN

Yes, that happened last year

OCEAN PARK – AN HOUR LATER

As QUINN sat in the park alone listening to some Rock and Roll music, it all reminded him of things that happened before.

He watches the Sunset as it sunk into the bay.

QUINN

What do I do now Universe? Speaking out often in his meditation, but like usual he never had the answers straight forward

Quinn could feel this was going to take another intervention like when he was in Los Angeles things started out bad then changed by his own hand, he made it stop.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Dale Calhoun

Writer, singer/songwriter, musician on spotify artist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.