Beat logo

Surrender Once More to the Music of RuPaul’s Drag Race

Lady Camden unveils her "Dirtiest Secrets"

By Ben NelsonPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Marco Ovando

RuPaul's Drag Race sensation Lady Camden returns to the spotlight with the highly anticipated follow-up to her chart-topping hit "Surrender." The glamorous queen, known for her electrifying performances and captivating presence, is ready to take the music world by storm once again with a brand new single and music video, "Dirtiest Secrets."

The song is a sultry and empowering anthem that showcases Lady Camden's versatility as an artist. With its catchy hooks and bold lyrics, the song explores themes of self-discovery and embracing one's true self, no matter how unconventional. Lady Camden's vocal prowess and stage charisma shine through in "Dirtiest Secrets", making it clear that she's not just a drag superstar but a formidable musician too.

Its accompanying music video is a visual spectacle with stunning costume changes, mesmerizing choreography, and a cast of diverse performers who bring Lady Camden's fantasies to life. We spoke with the RuPaul's Drag Race star from her California home.

Photo by Marco Ovando

You were a ballerina in the "Surrender" music video. In "Dirtiest Secrets", you’re a dominatrix. Why is it important that you run the gamut between pure and sinister in your art?

Lady Camden: Wow, I love this question! What’s most freeing to me about drag is that I can play with both parts of who I am. Sometimes I aspire to be nothing but a pure ballerina, in a world of fantasy and where glitter decorates the air. Sometimes I want to be a nasty rockstar. Wanting to run the gamut between both is simply a human craving to enjoy both or even need both.

What is the main message in “Dirtiest Secrets”?

Lady Camden: I think everyone has a kink or a fantasy they would like to explore. You’re lying if you say no. Some of us act on it and some of us consider it a dirty secret. Embracing that I like to enjoy both sides of who I am has made me enjoy sex a lot more and it’s made me realize I don’t need to be one or the other for someone else’s comfort.

What inspired you to write and record the single?

Lady Camden: Since competing on RuPaul’s Drag Race, I have made a vow to myself to keep creating. Even if I’m on touring, which I do throughout the year, I’m going to make something for myself, unrelated to the tour or the show, just to keep my brain ticking. I met Daniel, the producer through a friend. When I told him about someone I used to hook up with and their fantasy of having me dress up, we immediately started writing the song. It’s a tale of someone’s dirtiest secret… mine!

You have said that the song and visual are a culmination of lots of brilliant ideas. Whose ideas have you included in the piece?

Lady Camden: The idea of the overall image is mostly from my chaotic brain but everyone who contributed to this has given their spice to it. Whether it be the director’s choice of lighting, the choreographer telling us how fast we need to move in a certain section, the producer wanting more yearning sensation on a certain lyric. It takes a village to make a song and music video. Each and every member of this project cared about the details, asked questions and invested in every part.

What do you hope your fans take away from “Dirtiest Secrets”?

Lady Camden: Loosen up and have fun with role play! Whether it be in the bedroom or in how you dress for the day. Are you taking care of your needs? What are you craving from today and who are you feeling like being at the moment? Is it slightly out of the ordinary for you? Would some others raise an eyebrow? Why should you care if they do? See what happens when you give in to what your most hidden desire!

Lady Camden’s “Dirtiest Secrets” is available on Spotify.

Follow Lady Camden.

pop
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.