Beat logo

Sucker for Jonas Brothers

Behind the beat

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Here are the Jonas Brothers!

I was in junior high school when everyone was obsessed with the Jonas brothers. All the girls had some sort of crush on each of the Jonas brothers, fights in the halls would break out because another girl claimed she had kissed one of them, but let's face it we are all liars when it comes to that. I never had a crush on any of them, their hair cuts were weird or too curly. I did like their music and their funny music videos I was a different type of fan girl. I was busy memorizing their songs and picturing me singing them during a talent show all by myself. I knew "SOS", "four minutes" and of course the "year 3000" my sisters and me would practice singing the songs because they were upbeat and fun. I remember we would use the spatula and other kitchen utensils to sing the Jonas brothers. The first song I discovered was from a disney album when they sang a rock and roll version of "poor unfortunate souls" I just thought this is cool there are three brothers and they are in a band, me and my sisters could do that if we were talented. Before I knew it they were starting to be on every cover of teen magazines and there were quizzes to tell you which Jonas brother you should date or which one are you? I hated these quizzes because they were inaccurate and weird. My and friends and I did the which Jonas brother are you supposed to be with, one of my closest friends had a huge crush on Nick Jonas and on the quiz I came to be a "flirt" with Nick Jonas. She just glared at me as I said we are getting married, but I did not find any of them attractive, my friend knew that yet for a week she was upset with me. I was all about Josh Hutcherson, so I could have cared less. Anyways, then high school came around and the Jonas brothers had faded no one had pictures of them in their lockers anymore, it moved on to the leader singer of Maroon 5, but I was still crushing on Josh Hutcherson. High school passed and everyone seemed to forget about the Jonas brothers when I searched them up one day to see where they were I found out Kevin Jonas got married so the group broke up and then Joe Jonas was sadly attempting a solo CD, which was awful and weird. Nick had somehow fallen off the face of the earth. Years later, I discovered a song called "Cake by the Ocean" and the leader singer was no one other than Joe Jonas and he was much more attractive now. When I was listening to the song first I recognized that voice with the slightly higher pitch, the heard breaths of him getting air into his lungs. It had to be Joe Jonas and I looked it up and certainly there he was throwing cake at a beach. Then, the song "Toothbrush" came out and it was just as fun I was hoping for more songs that would get me happy, but then it was announced that the Jonas brothers were getting back together and that's when "Pom, Poms" came out and that was six years ago now. Finally, the song that I had been waiting for came. The song titled as "Sucker" I watched the video over and over again I could not believe my ears. Unmistakably was Nick Jonas voice, then Joe joins in almost like the good old Jonas brothers days. With Kevin's support vocals were there too and the fun clapping part of the song and the easy sing-along lyrics the funky tune in the background brought the music back to life, now where does this song change my life? well, you see there are so many artists that have come and gone. I used to listen to Jesse McCartney, but then with the Jonas brothers his music faded and he has tried to make a come back but it was not very successful. Justin Timberlake was stepping away from the stage and made an amazing comeback just as the Jonas brothers did. It changed my life because it proved that after years of being broken up, they managed to pull back together and still make pretty good music. Instead of recording a failing album they managed to come back strong. It reminded me that life can be hard, sometimes we fade, but then there will always be a big boom to bring you back from it. No matter what it is that you stop, you will eventually go back to it. For example, if you used to play piano a lot as a child and then you stopped because it was not fun and then you get back to it and you found that love again from when you first touched the keys. We can always go back to our passion no matter how long it has been, even if we forgot how to love our passion, we can always come back to it.

bands
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.