Beat logo

Suave YourSelf

Ready? Set! Enjoy you.

By Ariana GonBonPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
3

Admittedly, this will not be immediately cathartic. It will be more of a suave-yourself-up-to-go-out-with-the-girls-and-the-gays feeling. Post-pandemic, of course. This playlist (listen here) is truly meant for anyone hyping themselves up, either for a night on the town or grooving by yourself, but either way dancing needs to be involved. Listen to this straight through, starting when you start getting yourself ready for the night.

I actually love Valentine’s Day because I love platonic love. I think it’s a wonderful day to celebrate other types of love besides romantic. For Valentine’s Days past, in high school and college, I would buy a bag or two of Hershey’s kisses. I would then walk around campus, handing out a Kiss to anyone I knew. I hope this playlist serves as a Hershey’s kiss to all of you.

Ready - How you see yourself

Let's get started with “What’s Golden” by Jurassic 5, there’s a WOOP at the beginning that gets everything going. Most of this article is for you all, but a lot of it is also me reminiscing about going out - I didn’t think I would be reminiscing in my mid-20s. But this beginning is focusing on how you take care of and enhance yourself. I love this part, because I’m good-looking and love to make myself look even better - for me. By the end of it, you’ll be looking and feeling Classic, so it’s a good time to end with Nina Simone.

What’s Golden - Jurassic 5

Hypnotize (2014 Remix) - The Notorious B.I.G

ICY GRL (Bae Mix) - Saweetie, Kehlani

Hot Girl - Megan Thee Stallion

Good as Hell - Lizzo

I’m Legit - Nicki Minaj, Ciara

Freakum Dress - Beyonce

Worth It - Fifth Harmony, Kid Ink

Buzzin - Mann

Feeling Good - Nina Simone

Set - How you’ll be seen with a dash of Fuck all y’all that lost me

Your looks are set, maybe even with setting and/or hair spray. It’s time to admire yourself, and play into a little bit of pettiness. “Best of Me” might be a controversial choice after Nina Simone, but the smooth ways of Nina Simone remind you who the fuck you are, and the rock of “Best of Me” reminds them who the fuck you are. You may have been dumb in dating some dumb people. You may have had your heart broken. You may have been the one getting forgotten. But tonight, you’re remembering that you are the genius, and the heartbreaker, and getting your own “forget you” on.

Best of Me - Morningwood

She’s a Genius - Jet

Sugarbaby - Morningwood

How to Be a Heartbreaker - MARINA

Bad Karma - Ida Maria

IDGAF - Dua Lipa

You Broke Up with Me - Walker Hayes

Enjoy - Let’s go out

Pettiness is out - enjoying the moment is in! This is like the part of the night where the DJ plays the best songs so you’re feeling good at last call. Get the stress out of your body through your hips and up to your shoulders. My advice: dance in front of your mirror when no one else is around. What do you have to be embarrassed about? It’s just you being sexy! You run this!

We Run This - Missy Elliott

Trini Dem Girls - Nicki Minaj, LunchMoney Lewis

Shake Senora - Pitbull, T-Pain, Sean Paul

Simon Says - Megan Thee Stallion, Juicy J

Boys - Lizzo

Kiss the Sky - Jason Derulo

Fireball - Pitbull, John Ryan

Mr. Brightside - The Killers

Take Me Out - Franz Ferdinand

Moving In the Dark - Neon Trees

The Anthem - Lil Jon, Pitbull

Uptown Funk - Mark Ronson, Bruno Mars

End the night on a high note. I love the feeling of satisfaction after a nice night out, knowing that I had a good time and that as I listened to these songs, they listened to me. They know I look good, they know I can be petty, but mostly, they know how to have a good time. Ready? Set! Enjoy you.

dance
3

About the Creator

Ariana GonBon

26yo bi Xicana. There's always more to write about, in more interesting ways than white men. Follow me @arte.con.ariana, all tips will go to @openyrpurse, both on Instagram.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.