Beat logo

Stay/Animal Mashup cover Shannon King

Rihanna and Mike Snow

By Shannon KingPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Disclaimer: I do not own nor did I create any of the instrumental/musical background or compose the melody or lyrics of this song. Credit is attributed to the original publisher/author and the only part of this creation I own is the voice singing the song to a karaoke version that was available via youtube.com. The correct references are also notated for the biographies on the artists. Thank you!

This mix, recorded approximately 2014, was inspired to me by the youtube duet sung by Jessica Rotter and Emily Colombier (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PC-KyfnWxzE). The video was brought to my attention by my then-roommate, Jill, who heard it and said the song reminded her of me and what I was going through at the time. I loved it and replayed the song a million times since hearing it! I have recorded on my own a couple of times, but this was the only version that survived throughout the years. I hope you enjoy it!

STAY BY RIHANNA LYRICS:

All along it was a fever

A cold sweat, hot headed believer

I threw my hands in the air, said, "Show me something"

He said, "If you dare, come a little closer"

Round and around and around and around we go

Oh, now tell me now, tell me now, tell me now you know

Not really sure how to feel about it

Something in the way you move

Makes me feel like I can't live without you

It takes me all the way

I want you to stay

It's not much of a life you're living

It's not just something you take, it's given

Round and around and around and around we go

Oh, now tell me now, tell me now, tell me now you know

Not really sure how to feel about it

Something in the way you move

Makes me feel like I can't live without you

It takes me all the way

And I want you to stay

Ooh, the reason I hold on

Ooh, 'cause I need this hole gone

Well, funny you're the broken one

But I'm the only one who needed saving

'Cause when you never see the light

It's hard to know which one of us is caving

Not really sure how to feel about it

Something in the way you move

Makes me feel like I can't live without you

It takes me all the way

I want you to stay

Stay

I want you to stay

Ooh

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: John Stephen Sudduth / Justin Parker / Mikky Ekko

Stay lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Universal Music Publishing Group, Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd.

ANIMAL BY MIKE SNOW LYRICS:

There was a time when my world was filled with darkness, darkness, darkness

And I stopped dreaming now

I'm supposed to fill it up with something, something , something

In your eyes I see the eyes of somebody I knew before long long long ago

But I'm still trying to make my mind up

Am I free or am I tied up

I change shapes just to hide in this place but I'm still, I'm still an animal

Nobody knows it but me when I slip yeah I slip

I'm still an animal

There is a hole and I tried to fill up with money, money , money

But it gets bigger 'til your hopes is always

Running, running, running

In your eyes I see the eyes of somebody of who could be strong

Tell me if I'm wrong

And now I'm pulling your disguise up

Are you free or are you tied up

I change shapes just to hide in this place but I'm still I'm still an animal

Nobody knows it but me when I slip

I'm still an animal

I change shapes just to hide in this place

But I'm still, I'm still an animal

Nobody knows it but me when I slip, yeah I slip

I'm still an animal

I change shapes just to hide in this place

But I'm still, I'm still an animal

Nobody knows it but me when I slip, yeah I slip

I'm still an animal

I change shapes just to hide in this place

But I'm still, I'm still an animal

Nobody knows it but me when I slip, yeah I slip

I'm still an animal

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Andrew Wyatt Blakemore / Christian Karlsson / Pontus Winnberg / Henrik Jonback

Animal lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group, Downtown Music Publishing, BMG Rights Management

About "Stay": ""Stay" is a song recorded by Barbadian singer Rihanna for her seventh studio album, Unapologetic (2012). It features guest vocals by Mikky Ekko, and was released as the second single from the album on January 7, 2013. "Stay" was co-written by Ekko and Justin Parker. The song's lyrical content speaks of temptation and the inability to resist true love. Music critics were generally positive in their opinion regarding the balladry, with most describing it as a standout track on the album.

Upon the release of Unapologetic, "Stay" charted on multiple charts worldwide. Following its release as a single, it reached number one in Bulgaria, Canada, the Czech Republic, Denmark and Israel and the top five in twenty-four countries worldwide including Australia, France, Germany, New Zealand, Norway, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. It peaked at number three on the US Billboard Hot 100, becoming Rihanna's twenty-fourth top ten on the chart, thus surpassing Whitney Houston's tally. Furthermore, it has charted at number one on the US Pop Songs chart and 16 on the Hot Dance Club Songs chart. Worldwide the single has sold over 10[1] million copies making it one of the best selling singles of all time.

The song's accompanying music video, directed by Sophie Muller, depicts Rihanna naked in a bathtub filled with cloudy water, while Ekko sings in a separate bathroom. Critics likened the vulnerability and raw emotion in the video to the song itself. Rihanna premiered "Stay" on Saturday Night Live in the United States, while she performed the song in the United Kingdom on the ninth series of The X Factor. Rihanna and Ekko also performed "Stay" at the 2013 Grammy Awards. The track was included on the set list of the majority of her 777 Tour promotional tour dates, in support of the album, while it was included on Rihanna's fifth headlining tour, the "Diamonds World Tour" in the encore and the opening song of her seventh headlining tour, the "Anti World Tour"(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stay_(Rihanna_song).

About "Animal": ""Animal" is a song performed by Swedish indie pop band Miike Snow. It was released as the first single from the band's 2009 self-titled debut album on 17 February 2009 through Columbia and Downtown Records. Written by the band alongside Henrik Jonback, "Animal" is a pop song with instrumentation provided by horns and staccato synthesizers. Lead singer Andrew Wyatt has explained that it has an ambiguous meaning; its lyrics can be interpreted as dealing with matters such as addiction, basic instincts or dissatisfaction when one's needs are not met by society.

Applauding its catchiness and pop sound, critics were positive towards "Animal". Following its release, the single managed to peak at number 50 in Scotland and number 98 on the UK Singles Chart. It was later certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). Two music videos were made to promote the release of "Animal"; the first was directed by Sebastian Mlynarski and depicts the band wearing different animal masks, and the second video, directed by Anthony Dickenson, features a mixture of projections, animation and performance footage" [(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animal_(Miike_Snow_song)].

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Shannon King

Born in St. Augustine, Fl, Shannon has a Master of Arts Degree in Applied Behavior Analysis from USF. She is currently pursuing a career in music, singing and writing with a focus in poetry, biographies, and inspirational messages.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.