Beat logo

Sorry dear world

Raphaël Klemm delivers a powerful melody, with an ultra-catchy chorus that gets into your head, never to leave again.

By mysoundMusicPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Though influences as diverse as The Rolling Stones, Muse, David Bowie, Radiohead and many others can be spotted, "Sorry dear world" nevertheless has its own style and a genuine sound identity, perfectly in tune with its times.

Mixing haunting rock riffs with an irresistible electro-pop atmosphere, supported by a warm and powerful voice, "Sorry dear world" is one of those singles that you catch and love from the first listen... and even more the following ones!

A French- and English-speaking songwriter, Raphaël Klemm is a real musician, a passionate guitarist nurtured on the roots of legendary rock. But also an inspired singer and lyricist.

After having written and composed many songs in French, particularly acclaimed for the quality of their lyrics, he now shifts to the other side of his musical and linguistic passion: That of all these mythical groups which shaped the musician within him.

Thus he offers us "Sorry dear world", a melodic bomb with bittersweet lyrics, where God has decided to ignore the calls of a world he no longer recognizes. And where Men are forced to leave a message on his answering machine, which he may never listen to...

What drew you to music?

Girls, of course ! As a teenager, I was picturing myself playing the guitar and girls instantly falling in love with me. Guess what ? That didn’t happen…

Do you have a preferred genre?

I’d say pop/rock, which covers a very very wide spectrum. Mostly, I love songs with catchy melodies, and meaningful words (if possible!)

Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

I compose and write alone, I think it’s a personal process. Or maybe nobody wants to work with me and I had to come up with that excuse ?

Tell us about your sound and what sets you apart?

I think each musician is the sum of their musical influences. And there are no two identical sums.

Are there any challenging aspects to writing and/or recording your music?

Recording is the best part, the long-awaited reward. The writing, on the other hand, can be a struggle, when you’re chasing words that don’t want to be caught.

Do you write and release or do you plan each release?

I’m like an impatient child. Most of the time, when I have a new song ready, I need to release it.

You recently released your EP ‘Sorry Dear World”. Can you tell us a little about this song?

It’s a bittersweet song, about God deciding to ignore the calls of a world he no longer recognizes. And where Men are forced to leave a message on his answering machine, which he may never listen to...

Do you create music for yourself or for fans?

Fans ? What’s this word ? Never heard of that… Please elaborate.

What is the best song you ever released and why?

The best song is always the latest one. Or better still, the one ahead of you.

What song do fans seem to favor?

Again this thing with fans, I really need to check this word out...

Which of your songs is, or do you think would be, fun to perform live?

I have a few songs in french that people like a lot when I play them live, because they’re ironic. Like «J’ai croisé Dieu samedi soir» (I met God on a Saturday evening)

Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? If so, what would be your first stop?

I’d love to. Let’s start not too far away from home, like in the UK.

Tell about a magical moment or positive experience that has happened during your career.

I did concert openings for very famous artists, some french ones, but also for Lionel Richie or the late Chuck Berry.

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

I just want my songs to live their own life. They’re like kids to me.

Who inspires you musically?

It’s a wide mix of influences, that range from Stevie Wonder to Muse or Aerosmith and so many more… The only common point is their music is melodic and powerful.

If one artist were to perform at your party, who would get the call?

Nuno Bettencourt, I guess. He’s always been my guitar hero.

What advice would you have for someone wanting to follow in your footsteps?

Be nice to others, demanding with yourself.

How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

It made it so much easier, and so much more confusing at the same time. Anyone can produce and share their music like never before. As a result, listeners are flooded with music, good and bad.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

I’d say Spotify and streaming platforms in general, as opposed to social media, since I think my songs are much more interesting than me.

What does the future hold for you?

If you happen to know, please call me, any time.

Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I did not address.

I’d say you’ve been thorough as a body search after 9/11.

LOL

interview
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.