Beat logo

Sophia Venn

Singer, Songwriter and Music Producer

By mysoundMusicPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
7

Sophia Venn found me while promoting her new R&B, Soul song Life I Knew. A song describing life changes and how something can crash down on you and change the way of life and how you knew it but you have to stand tall step outside and breathe the fresh air to move on with a new life.

Needless to say, I became an instant fan. Sophia Venn is an extremely talented singer, song-writer with a voice and talent that should be shared and enjoyed around the world.

Please take a few minutes to get to know Sophia.

What is your chosen genre?

I prefer to sing Rock, the crowds are wild when on stage. They are more active, which makes me feel the energy more.

How long have you been creating music?

I’ve been singing live since I was a child. But that was mostly covered songs. I started writing my own music about 10 years ago. I was always shy about it and only published around 7 songs in that time. Since the epidemic came about I realized life is short and I want to share something with the world before it is too late.

What drew you to the music industry?

Well, since I was old enough to speak. I told my family I wanna be a star on TV. I started singing at family gatherings and weddings as well as putting on little acting skits. When I went to Beijing for my University, I decided to stick with singing rather than acting.

Who are you inspired by?

Rihanna and Jessie J mostly when I was younger until I was introduced to Rock N Roll. Then it became Joan Jett and Janis Joplin. But truly nowadays every Artist inspires me in way or another. Like my new found singer “Jelly Roll”. The passion in his voice while he is singing is very moving.

Please explain your creative process.

Kind of a strange tactic, I listen to the beat and come up with the tones first. Then later on the story line will come to me. Usually always in the middle of the night or from a dream I had. That feeling will inspire the story. Then I start writing it to the tones I created. So far, I have always written true stories that had happen in my life.

Is there a hidden meaning in any of your music?

Nope, I’m pretty Straight forward with my lyrics.

What is the best song you ever released and why?

Call My Name. Since it was my first Hip Hop/ Rap song and mostly because I had a chance to Dis my ex friend. Releasing all that anger that has been built up from all that wrong doings she had done. Including all her lies she is still doing.

What is your favorite song(s) to perform? Or, if not performing, what song do fans seem to favor?

Actually it’s the cover song I Hate Myself for Loving You by Joan Jett. I’ve been performing it as a bonus song for those that don’t know my songs to sing along with. The crowds love to hear it and see the energy of me going crazy on the stage. It’s always a crowd pleaser.

As for my songs, it’s Kiss Me. One of my older songs but when I’m on stage I always have sexy back up dancers with me. So the crowds really enjoy the show even more.

Do you think you could get any better as anartist/band? If so, how would you achieve that?

I can always get better, as I learn more and work with higher artists and recording producers. I feel each song I put out is better than the others. I’m always open and looking to become better. Now, that I’m expanding my Music Globally and into every Genre, I’ve been studying more and reaching out to others to learn more.

Are you strictly a solo act or do you collaborate with others?

I mostly perform Solo. I collaborated with many Artists as a feature Artists on their tracks or them featuring on mine. I feel like that is an exciting way to expand my music. I also perform with my Band and fill in as a lead singer to some fellow bands.

Have you ever dealt with performance anxiety?

Hell no, I absolutely love being on Stage and in the Spotlight. My life glows more every time I’m on a stage.

Love her confidence and passion.

Tell about a magical moment or positive experience that has happened during your music career.

The most magical moment is happening now, I’ve been working with a 4 time platinum recording artist on some special songs that will be featured music on a new TV reality show of Pop culture. Can’t say much cause it’s still in the works. But I’m meeting and working with some of the best in the industry and it’s very exciting and magical for me. A dream coming true.

Wow. Exciting. Congratulations.

What advice would you have for someone wanting to follow in your footsteps?

Never give up. Many people will step on your Dreams and Break your heart. But if you stay Strong and passionate, you will overcome it all. Stay Strong and Healthy .

How do you feel the Internet has impacted the music business & your music?

It’s Amazing! You can reach out to the whole world. We as musicians now have the opportunity to find out where our music will grow and expand ourselves as an international Artist.

If you could go open a show for any artist who would it be?

Couple weeks ago I would say Black Pink. I think as of now, it would be Jelly Roll. I’m really inspired by his lyrics and voice. The opportunity for me to share a stage with an upcoming Artist like this will be more valuable to me rather than a Star already known worldwide.

Who would you have open for your show?

I believe it would be a local to the Show Area. I really believe in giving the opportunity to others.

Please discuss how you interact with and respond to fans

This is kind of a new thing for me. I’m from China and Out here they don’t really interact with fans as much. You stick with your own levels. I always hated that. I enjoy talking and learning more about what my fans like. This is my first couple years of engagement with fans and I’m loving it. Everyday I try to respond to everyone and start conversations and more with them.

What is one message you would give to your fans?

Stay tune, Stay True more is coming soon. Lol.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your fans Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

I think Instagram and then Facebook. These outfits allow me to talk with them on a personal note.

Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I didn’t address?

Just Thanks for the interview and I hope that everyone has a better idea about me.

interview
7

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.