Beat logo

Son of the 215

Carries Philly On His Back With The Release Of His Latest Album Veterans Day 2

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Son of the 215 (Provided Photo)

Philly’s own Son of the 215 carries the city on his back with the release of his latest album Veterans Day 2. With hits like Trap Keep Winning, S.O.E. featuring Freeway and GoodFellaz featuring Dutchieman, Son of the 215 brings the anticipated heat. Notably, Son of the 215 has been making heads nod as Veterans Day 2 boasts over 70,000 streams already.

Just as Son of the 215 brings the lyrical heat, there were some heavy hitters working behind the scenes on the project as well. Veteran’s Day featured two mega producers Masonic Mozart credited for his work with DMX, Eve, Young Chris, and many more, and Jaz Williams acclaimed for his production for Mac Miller, Raekwon, and Bone Thugs and Harmony just to name a few.

A follow-up to his 2019 album Veteran’s Day, the project’s name credits the fact that the soldier was born on Veteran’s Day, and the work Son of the 215 has put in the game.

His talent has taken Son to work with legends such as the famed Carol Riddick to bless legendary stages such as the A3C, OVO Fest, South By Southwest, SOB’s and the TLA.

When asked about his earliest memories of performing, Son says he always wanted to entertain. He recalled the beginning being as early as middle school. As a mere youth, Son would perform in talent shows and even was a member of a group named 3 Way.

Coming from a place with the moniker The City of Brotherly Love, but can also be the mean streets of Philly, Son said, “90% of our raps are from pain.” As a lyrical linguist, Son uses that pain to create masterpieces.

In addition to being the dope lyricist that he is, Son also spends his time and efforts in the community supporting numerous initiatives. He says through all his experiences, it is all about the relationships you build.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese: What do you love most about being a music artist?

Son of the 215: Being able to express myself artistically and representing my city of Philadelphia. I do not have a 9 to 5, so doing what I love for a living is rewarding.

Tammy Reese: What messages do you try to convey through your music?

Son of the 215: Peace, Love, and Lyrics. I want to introduce the world to my city, and show why we are home to the spitters.

Tammy Reese: What was the last song you listen to at max volume?

Son of the 215: Philebonics which is out now.

Tammy Reese: What music artists are you listen to these days?

Son of the 215: The Big Homie Freeway, Beanie Sigel, and of course Jay-z Nas, I respect the legends.

Tammy Reese: What are some of your own favorite songs? Why?

Son of the 215: New Philly, part one and 2, 11 11 which is the day I was born (Veteran's Day).

Those records are my favorite because it speaks to who I am as an artist and what I stand for.

Honestly, I love all of them, but if I had to pick those would be it.

Tammy Reese: How has the music industry been for you during the pandemic?

Son of the 215: It has been amazing, I put out a project during the pandemic, I was part of a group, and I recorded with one of my favorite MC's which was Freeway.

The pandemic hasn't stopped anything at all, if anything it has pushed me to be a better MC and perfect my craft.

Tammy Reese: What are you currently working on?

Son of the 215: S.O.N Success or nothing is my next project featuring Mark Murelle ENess, NuNu, and a few other surprises.

I am looking forward to sharing my elevation.

Tammy Reese: What are some highlights in your career so far?

Son of the 215: Opening up for Casanova 2x, Benny the Butcher, being called on stage by Freeway, and performing at A3C.

At SXSW there are so many highlights. Most recently being up for 4 awards and winning the Underground Hip Hop Artist of the Year Award in Philadelphia.

Tammy Reese: What else can we be on the lookout for from you?

Son of the 215: Going on the S.O.N. Tour starting in March which begins in ATL. Then I will be going to Nashville, Lousiville, Miami, and then back to Philly.

After that, I go right back out to Ohio, Tampa, Baltimore, and NYC.

So catch me in a city near you, and you can find my music through EQ Distro on all platforms.

Keep up-to-date with Son of the 215 and his career journey by connecting on Instagram.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.