Beat logo

Something to Hope For

Original Song by Jim Gaven

By Jim GavenPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
3

This is a music video filmed by an NYU undergraduate in 2010 of a song I wrote called, 'Something to Hope For'. As you will see, the equipment is low-budget, but the students told a great story and did a stand-up job with the equipment at their disposal.

We walked around various parts of NYC to best capture the feelings of hope and love as that is what the song is about. After starting in Manhattan, we moved onto Governer's Island and then back to Manhattan. I remember it being a cold day with snow on the ground, and not much relief from the wind.

Fun fact about this song is that it's actually about 9/11 several years after that event.

Here are the lyrics for you to read along if you so please:

"Something to Hope For"

Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven

1st Verse: we’re not getting any younger, standing here, now would be a good time, to look in the mirror, you can see we’re growing older, year by year, saying over and over, soon disappears, we’re holding back from something, that seems so cold, it could even be nothing, but no one knows, but until we go out there, with open arms, we may never know cold hands means a warm heart

Chorus: give me something to hope for, something to believe, can you tell me you want more, for you and me, give me something to hope for, something to believe, can you tell me you want more, for you and me

2nd Verse: we’re not making any progress, so stop right here, now would be a good time, to face your fears, you can tell we’re at a standstill and it’s so clear, we’re close enough to fall through, but far too near

Chorus: give me something to hope for, something to believe, can you tell me you want more, for you and me, give me something to hope for, something to believe, can you tell me you want more, for you and me

Bridge: we need to stick together, through thick and thin, through the stormy weather and wars, peace will win, before there were grey skies, and they were covering, both of your beautiful blue eyes, but now they see, and we sing

Chorus: give me something to hope for, something to believe, can you tell me you want more, for you and me, give me something to hope for, something to believe, can you tell me you want more, for you and me

bands
3

About the Creator

Jim Gaven

My mission is to write inspirational stories that make you feel good about yourself, put a smile on your face, and think of things in a different way.

www.keyofawesomemusic.com

www.jimgaven.bandcamp.com

www.patreon.com/keyofawesomemusic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.