Beat logo

Someone You Loved Cover Shannon King

Lewis Capaldi

By Shannon KingPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Disclaimer: I do not own nor did I create any of the instrumental/musical background or compose the melody or lyrics of this song. Credit is attributed to the original publisher/author and the only part of this creation I own is the voice singing the song to a karaoke version that was available via youtube.com. Thank you!

SOMEONE YOU LOVED

By: Lewis Capaldi

Sung by: Shannon King

Lyrics:

I'm going under and this time I fear there's no one to save me

This all or nothing really got a way of driving me crazy

I need somebody to heal

Somebody to know

Somebody to have

Somebody to hold

It's easy to say

But it's never the same

I guess I kinda liked the way you numbed all the pain

Now the day bleeds

Into nightfall

And you're not here

To get me through it all

I let my guard down

And then you pulled the rug

I was getting kinda used to being someone you loved

I'm going under and this time I fear there's no one to turn to

This all or nothing way of loving got me sleeping without you

Now, I need somebody to know

Somebody to heal

Somebody to have

Just to know how it feels

It's easy to say but it's never the same

I guess I kinda liked the way you helped me escape

Now the day bleeds

Into nightfall

And you're not here

To get me through it all

I let my guard down

And then you pulled the rug

I was getting kinda used to being someone you loved

And I tend to close my eyes when it hurts sometimes

I fall into your arms

I'll be safe in your sound 'til I come back around

For now the day bleeds

Into nightfall

And you're not here

To get me through it all

I let my guard down

And then you pulled the rug

I was getting kinda used to being someone you loved

But now the day bleeds

Into nightfall

And you're not here

To get me through it all

I let my guard down

And then you pulled the rug

I was getting kinda used to being someone you loved

I let my guard down

And then you pulled the rug

I was getting kinda used to being someone you loved

Source: LyricFind

About Lewis Capaldi: "Lewis Marc Capaldi[2] (born 7 October 1996) is a Scottish singer-songwriter.[3] He was nominated for the Critics' Choice Award at the 2019 Brit Awards. In March 2019, his single "Someone You Loved" topped the UK Singles Chart where it remained for seven weeks, and in November 2019, reached number one on the US Billboard Hot 100, it was nominated at the 62nd Annual Grammy Awards for Song of the Year and won the 2020 Brit Award for Song of the Year. Capaldi also won the 2020 Brit Award for Best New Artist.[4]

On 17 May 2019, he released his debut album, Divinely Uninspired to a Hellish Extent, which remained at the top of the UK Albums Chart for six weeks. In May 2020, it was announced that Capaldi's song "Someone You Loved" had become the longest-running top 10 UK single of all time by a British artist.[5]

Capaldi was born in Glasgow, Scotland,[2] and lived there until he was four years old.[6] He is the youngest of four children. His mother is a nurse and his father is a fishmonger.[7] Capaldi went to school at St. Kentigern's Academy, Blackburn in West Lothian.[8] In 2016, he graduated with a HND in Music from New College Lanarkshire, Motherwell.[9]

Early childhood:

Capaldi learned to play drums and guitar when he was two, and began his musical career singing in pubs aged 9.[10] By 17 he had committed to a career in music. [11]

In 2014 Capaldi took part in a three-date tour as part of the 'Hit the Road' project run by The Scottish Music Centre. He played in Dumfries, Edinburgh and Fort William alongside Jacob and Rory Green and Zoë Bestel.[12]

Aged 18, he was discovered by his manager Ryan Walter through an iPhone recording Capaldi recorded in his bedroom and had uploaded to his SoundCloud account. The day after first contacting Capaldi, Walter flew from America to Britain to hear Capaldi play live.[13][14]

He released his debut extended play recording Bloom EP on 20 October 2017,[15] on which he worked with Grammy Award-winning producer Malay, a long-time collaborator of Frank Ocean.[16] He later released his first track "Bruises" on 31 March 2017. The song quickly amassed close to 28 million plays on Spotify worldwide, making him the fastest ever unsigned artist to reach 25 million plays on the platform.[17] Shortly afterwards, he was signed to the German branch of Universal Music Group, and was assigned to Vertigo Berlin division. His releases are distributed in UK by Virgin EMI Records and in North America by Capitol Records.[18]" (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lewis_Capaldi).

About Shannon King: Born in St. Augustine, Fl, Shannon has a Master of Arts Degree in Applied Behavior Analysis from USF. She is currently pursuing a career in music, singing and writing with a focus in poetry, biographies, and inspirational messages.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Shannon King

Born in St. Augustine, Fl, Shannon has a Master of Arts Degree in Applied Behavior Analysis from USF. She is currently pursuing a career in music, singing and writing with a focus in poetry, biographies, and inspirational messages.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.