Beat logo

Sinikka Monte Talks New Song, Television Appearance, Winning Multiple Awards, and More

Sinikka Monte's "Dead End" is out now!

By Meikhel PhilogenePublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
@endorphinaa

Sinikka Monte (20) is a Finnish and South African singer-songwriter who was born in Scotland and currently living in Austria. In 2021, she took part in the German RTL show, I Can See Your Voice. In 2021, she was awarded Youngster of Arts by her hometown, St. Pölten. In 2019, she received the Joe Zawinul "Z" Award. In 2021, Sinikka Monte received the third prize in the Songwriting Awards of the Austrian Composers' Association.

With her single, “Dead End,” out now, we took some time to hear more from Sinikka Monte. Read below to learn more about Sinikka Monte, the story behind her single, and what’s to come.

Hi Sinikka Monte! Let’s start with how did you get your artist name?

I was born with it. Sinikka Monte is my real name. 😊

What city are you from and where are you based now?

I was born in Kirkcaldy, Scotland, and now I live in Vienna.

At what point in your life did you decide to pursue a career in music? How did you get started?

From a young age, I used to love singing. I would perform at home for my mom and grandma. Then, I joined a band in middle school and started writing songs at the age of 12. I think I was 16 when I realized that I wanted to take this more seriously and start a career in music.

Has your upbringing played a role in shaping who you are and defining your sound today? If so, how?

Growing up in a multicultural family and having had access to different environments has made me more open to experimenting and combining genres, and staying open-minded to what I should sound like. Also, I think that because my parents have always put emphasis on emotional intelligence, my songs are candid and very emotional.

How would you describe your sound to readers who may not be familiar with you?

Emotional and etheric.

Do you have any hobbies outside of music? What do you do to stay creative?

I love going for long walks in Vienna. I love to go out partying and enjoying time with my friends. My life events and overthinking keep me creative.

Who are some of your main musical influences?

Madison Beer is probably one of main musical influences, especially her last album, 'Life Support.' The album is a masterpiece, lyrically and sound wise. I’m also influenced by Raye and Labrinth.

Who would be a dream to collaborate with?

My dream musical collaboration would be with Madison Beer and her producer.

What are some of your future music career goals?

Releasing and writing more music. I really want to do more writing sessions with other musicians. I am also just looking where my journey is headed, and enjoying the big and small steps of it.

Now onto your release, “Dead End.” What inspired this song?

A heartbreaking love affair. It’s about falling in love with someone and them cheating on you.

What is “Dead End” about in your own words?

Trying to love again in the same way after being completely betrayed.

What is your favorite lyric in “Dead End” and why?

"Still coughing up the words that u left in my mouth

U should’ve left me better than the way I was found"

What message do you hope fans take away from your music and from “Dead End?”

That it takes time to process pain, and that it is also okay to forgive. I feel like this song is also so candid that my message actually is that it’s okay to write about something so messed up and heartbreaking.

What’s one of your proudest moments of your music career so far?

That I see my improvement lyrically and musically. If I look back on two years ago, I know back then, I must have thought, 'what a lyrical genius I am,' but now I am like I could have changed a few things about these lyrics or about the sound.

What would you say are the greatest lessons you’ve learned so far?

That it takes time to develop a career in music. There are no short cuts. It’s just hard work and also filled with disappointment.

What’s next for you? Are you working on any upcoming projects, or do you have any upcoming shows that we should be on the lookout for?

I’m working on new and very exciting music. I am so looking forward to releasing it.

All the songs are very emotional for me, and I can’t wait for people to hear my new stuff. I hope people will hear and listen to what I have to say.

Where can we follow you on social media?

Please follow me on TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@sinikka.monte

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sinikkamonte

interviewpop culturesong reviewsfeature
Like

About the Creator

Meikhel Philogene

https://meikhelphilogene.com/

@meikhe1

@meirecordings

@psalminfinity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.