Beat logo

Shihori Releases New Album "Shihorism

Album dedicated to fans & her artist anniversary

By Rebecca TaylorPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

Moving is never easy for anyone but many artist will take the risk to fuel their careers. We discovered an artist originally from Nagoya, Japan who is now making strides in todays American music industry after moving to New York. Known for writing songs for major anime shows and other artist overseas, Shihori moved to NYC in 2018 to expand to the American Music market and has performed at notable venues such as Rockwood Music Hall, The Bitter End, and more. Her latest album Shihorism is unique as she covers songs she wrote throughout her career and dedicated the project to both her fans and as her artist anniversary. Below, check out an exclusive interview with Vocal Creators and Shihori. Make sure to stream her new album as well below.

1.) Hi Shihori! Please tell us a little bit about yourself to our readers.

Hi, I am Shihori, pop singer songwriter from Japan. I started my career as a professional singer since 2002, made major debut as a singer songwriter in 2007. And I started providing songs for other artists in Japan since 2009. I moved to NY in 2018, started my musical activities in US.

2.) We know that you have written many songs for popular shows and artist. What has been your favorite project you have worked on?

It’s very hard to choose one but I would say writing songs for Nana Mizuki, one of the most successful anime singer has been very special for me. My first work as a songwriter was her song, which was selected over 200 songs for her album. I was recognized in anime music industry as soon as the album was released, my career started to grow since then. I’ve been working with her for a decade, her extreme talent has inspired and motivated me a lot. Her producer always called me to the studio for her recording when they picked my song out, we discussed a lot each other. They let me in the team. It doesn’t happen much to songwriter who doesn’t arrange music. Also I learned a lot from her performance, personality and how she works with people as an artist. I’s been great honor to be a part of her project to me.

3.) You have been in New York City and describe it as a “jungle” what do you love about New York and what is the biggest challenge being an artist from Japan and moving to NY.

I love the most in NY about that people love the people who express who they are. In Japan, people require you to behave not to bother others or to behave as everyone does. But I am so happy to see that many people express themselves freely, and accept each individual style very naturally. Nobody scolds me when I start to dance or sing on the street, rather smiles to me and talks to me. My biggest challenge is combining my songwriting style and American sound. I never knew that songwriting in Japanese and in English are too different from the basic, because of structure of languages. Even the idea of “beat” or “flow” doesn’t exist in Japanese language, I needed to understand the basic structure of English. I don’t think necessarily I have to get everything along with American culture but I am so excited to see what will come out from myself.

4.) What is your favorite part about the American music industry so far that you have experienced?

I haven’t experienced much enough yet but I really like that people evaluate the strong energy or attitude on the stage. Also that people like women who are strong and independent.

5.) You have had much success in the music industry and also play piano. When did you start learning how to play?

I started studying piano when I was nine years old.

6.) Do you write with other artist or do you write by yourself?

I’d written by myself in all my career, but I just started co-writing recently

7.) You are a very positive person. What makes you feel inspired as a person and creative?

When I see something new, when I feel this world is unlimited, I feel inspired. When I see the people enjoy my music (either as a singer or songwriter), I really appreciate that I am alive.

8.) Your latest album consist of songs you have written in your career. I understand you funded a lot of this through crowd funding. How did your fans contribute to the creation of this project?

My fans shared the information about crowd funding a lot, voted for which song to be selected and gave me many enthusiastic comments of their memories or supporting my project. So I feel so happy that I and my fans made this album together as celebration for the 10th Anniversary of my career.

9.) What is your favorite song off your album?

“Chinmoku no Kajitsu” is the first one I mentioned above, was for Nana Mizuki. The original version sounds like really “J-Anime” but I made it into jazz fusion. This song was the most wanted by fans from the beginning of my crowd funding project, I think I made it nicely reborn!

10.) What is next for you in 2020? What can our readers look forward to?

I’ve been struggling to find the best balance to mix my style and American sound, but I think I found something. I wanna reach out many more listeners in America through upcoming singles, and I aim to create the album in 2020.

11.) If you could give a young artist new in the music industry advice what would you say?

Just always follow your heart. Try everything you want cause life is too short. Nobody knows what leads you to the best future, but your heart always knows the best for you. Be respectful to people around you. People look at how you’ve been even they don’t look like. Entertainment industry is really about people and people. How you treat people will help you or destroy you in the future.

12.) Where can our readers follow you?

You can follow me on Spotify, @shihori94 on Instagram, @shihoriNY (@shihori94 Japanese) on twitter, I also have Shihori Official Channel on YouTube. Thank you so much!

FOLLOW SHIHORI

US Twitter Japan Twitter Spotify Youtube Website

interview
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.