Beat logo

Shambhala

home away from home

By Kendra J. AnthonyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Shambhala Music Festival

I know a place where we can frolic like elves in an open field of wonders, where we can dance like the faeries in the warmth of our evening gowns when the heat turns to dew. I know a place where the woodland creatures come out to play in the midst of the night, and mermaids glisten in the rays of the day. Where giants roam the grounds on stilts, bees buzz in mystical gardens of colors, and butterflies flutter around the free-thinking spirits who lay napping under the Wishing Tree. I know a place where you can find hidden doors, that lead to abandoned, un-melodious pianos where the goblins perch by the "Poe-tree", dazzling with poems galore, and touched by the energy of all the joyful walker-by’s. I know a place where you're free to be yourself and be who you want to be, real or not, and no one could nor would bat an eye; a place so beyond this realm its hard to believe it’s existence is among this world. I know a place we can escape, a place we can all call home.

In the heart of the Kootenays, lives the small town of Salmo, and in the hills of that small town, lives Shambhala Music Festival, on Salmo River Ranch. I call this place home because I can truly be myself there. We return each year, and we are welcomed home by our “Farmily”, the festival goers reunite in this commune like community of love and peace for one week, once a year, in August. To put this magical place into words is merely impossible, for if I could explain, it wouldn’t be the paradise of mind bending extravagance it so very much is.

I have been a total of 5 years, 6 if this year had not been canceled due to the unfortunate corona virus. My first year, was overwhelming. I was 19, growing up on an acreage, I’d never been to a festival. It was kind of terrifying. To see all these unusual people, odd structures, booming music. But it was electrifying, I felt like I had finally found my calling, that I finally found my people, my home.

On most days, the weather was scorching with a high of +40 Celsius, and as I danced around in my little green pixie outfit, I realized I actually belonged. Like, my depression and anxieties were obsolete and I could finally be happy. And I thought to myself, “This place must have a spark of magic if I can suddenly make my demons disappear.” It was like it altered my mind to see a new light, a new way of living, that maybe this planet and myself, wasn’t doomed after all.

It had always been my best friend's dream to visit Shambhala. We talked highly of it and planned for a period of time to come together. Unfortunately, and it pains me to even speak of it, the day I dread most in all 25 years of my life, she passed away from an overdose the year we were supposed romp in the land of wonders together. So when I received her ashes, I spread her all over the grounds and into the mystical gardens. Now each year when I visit, we can frolic together in the fields of green and the gardens of beauty. Oh, how I miss her beauty. Now when I dance at any of the stages, I find a dime. It’s how she lets me know she is near. So we dance, and we laugh together once again.

It is quite impossible to say all the words I would love to say about this wondrous experience. Perhaps I will come back ceaselessly to write more adventures that partook; but I highly recommend this Shambhala to anyone that needs an escape, who needs to find themselves again or just needs a little party in their life. Whether your fresh out the of being a teenager, or you're on your way to your retirement. This is the place for you, this is a place you can call home.

festivals
2

About the Creator

Kendra J. Anthony

She was a gnomist, a writer of beliefs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.