Beat logo

Shake Your Skele-bones

Let's get some EDM up in here!

By Alexandra ZellerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Photo by Toni Cuenca from Pexels

I'll be the first to admit I'm an absolute scardey-cat. I, for one, cannot handle any type of suspense or gore. I do my best to make it through your typical Blaire-Witch-Esque movie, but I almost always end up watching it through the cracks in my fingers.

However, that doesn't mean I enjoy the spooky season any less. In fact, I find the whole event to be fun- from the makeup, to the outfits, to the events, everything is just so fucking fun.

So, without further ado, here are the songs that would be in my personal party playlist. Start the party bumping, but leave them with that extra bit of unease as they head home at the witching hour. Most of these are meant for a party or get-together type of event, with minimal use of words to give that extra party feel. Just some nice ambiance to twerk to.

1. Spooky, Scary Skeletons - Undead Tombstone Remix Extended by Andrew Gold

Uh, hello, it's not Halloween without Spooky, Scary Skeletons. I felt that this was just such a bop to listen to, not to mention, to bring all the scaredy cats into your house. I have been afraid of scary and gory things since I can remember, so this would for sure lure me in with its sick beats and nostalgic feel.

Shake them bones baby!

2. Barracuda by Noisestorm

Although not inherently "spooky" by nature, Barracuda by Noisestorm is a song you just can't ignore. Its G♯ Phyrigan scale (for those music nerds) makes it more unique and stands out from other songs. This inherent "difference" makes it creepy in comparison to other songs. I mean, even Fated Death by Takeru Kanazaki uses a similar chord structure. Barracuda takes that and flips it on its head, making it the perfect song to show off your spooky-season dance moves.

3. Spooky by Tokyo Machine

By now, the party should be in full swing. The people you are planning on having there should be there by this point. It's time to dance, eat, and get wasted (or just let loose for those alcohol-free events).

Anyways, Tokyo Machine has GREAT EDM music. Their brand is quite unique, and they use the stereotypical 8-bit music bytes with some rocking basslines. Can you seriously tell me this doesn't make you want to bang your head?

Impostor (Among Us Dubstep) by Punyaso

No party is complete without at least one meme-inducing craze. Among Us has become an extremely popular game over the last year. Its endearing werewolf-eque gameplay can dismember even the strongest of friendships with one simple backstab. Although some claim the game is "dying", the memes birthed from it will never fade. Needless to say, the sound bytes from the game, when paired with some sick EDM basslines and melody, make for a great jam session mid-party.

Goosebumps by VGR

Night's beginning to wrap up now is it? Well, the party isn't over yet! Any 90's, 00's, or even kids now can recognize the iconic Goosebumps theme. From the books that terrified me as a kid, to the show that horrified me, I will always love Goosebumps for giving me that special feeling of dread in my childhood. So let us start to get even creepier by getting down to the spine-chilling EDM version of Goosebump's iconic theme!

Stranger Things Theme - Remix by MK3

Are the wee hours of the night creeping up on you? Want to get some more spine-chilling fun in before you kick them all out? Well, this Stranger Things remix is for you. The show has made itself a household name in the last couple of years, with Eleven, Steve, Nancy, and Demo-puppy providing some quality costume muse. Bring on the hours of horror with this jam!

Halloween Theme Song (Michael Myers) - Remix by Keiron Raven

Nothing says please shut up and leave my house like Michael Myers. The notorious killer known for simply wanting to spread fear is probably the pinnacle of Halloween. Hence the Halloween franchise and all. The spooky song gets a bit of a make-over with some EDM beats, and overall, this screams "leave or face the consequences". I mean, we all know if you hear this music you better start running.

Well, if they still stick around after this point I think you've just got some serious spooky-immune friends.

If you are interested in hearing the full playlist, here it is! I'll be updating it every once in a while to have some other music choices. However, these were my favorites.

Now get your costume ready, stop waiting till the last second like you did the last couple of years.

dance
2

About the Creator

Alexandra Zeller

A young adult still trying to find her place in this world.

You can follow me on all my socials!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.