Beat logo

RUSSELL SIMMONS PRESENTS "THE SHOW" SOUNDTRACK

MY ALBUM REVIEW 25 YEARS LATER

By Sakoli Norman Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
"THE SHOW" SOUNDTRACK ALBUM COVER (SOURCE UNKNOWN)

I sit here in disbelief because its hard to believe that 25 years has passed since the release of Russell Simmons Presents: "The Show" soundtrack. It was released on August 15th 1995 through Def Jam Records. Russell Simmons, one of Def Jam Co-Founders, executive produced the project. The Show is a Hip Hop documentary that captured the lives of Hip Hop Artists on tour. It gives the audience a behind the scenes look on the artists lives on tour, their thoughts and perspectives on the current state of Hip Hop at that time, and a minor look at their personal lives.

The film was grossed over a million dollars in its opening week and over two million dollars in its theatrical run. While the numbers fall short of great expectations in comparison to todays standards, its still a great informative piece of work. In my opinion its a very underrated film. Its not talked about enough as it should be.

Not only is the film underrated, but the soundtrack is as well. It was top twenty on The Billboard Charts in 1995. It's Easily one of my favorite soundtracks growing up. I'd play it back to front in my grandmother's Kenwood Stereo System. She had a five disc CD Changer, two cassette tape players, a vinyl record player, and two large speakers.

THE SHOW SOUNDTRACK ALBUM COVER (SOURCE UNKNOWN)

I would make my own mixtapes and listen to the songs on the way to school in my walkman. The album was a absolute classic to me! Picture a 10 year old singing Onyx "Live!!" while walking to school. The base on that record made me want to throw furniture across the room, but of course I didn't because I'd get my behind whooped. Artists such as: WU-TANG, The Notorious BIG, Bone Thugs N Harmony, LL Cool J, Treach from Naughty By Nature, and 2Pac, and many more were on the album.

I remember wearing windbreaker suits and pulling one pants leg up trying to rap "Papa Luv It" by LL Cool J in the mirror. It was one of the smoothest sounding songs I'd ever heard. The horns on that track were Amazing, I have always wondered how they were able to sample horns for that track. Another song that I loved was "Everyday It Rains" By Mary J Blige and Faith Evans. "Waking up in the morning knowing your not there, is the only thing that keeps me scared" Sing Mary! I remember thinking.

That song registered more to me when I got older, because of the content. I had no idea Mary J Blige was going through rough times in her life at that time. So for her to use music as a source of therapy and put out music that meaningful, makes her that much more of a great artist.

THE SHOW DVD (SOURCE UNKNOWN)

There were definitely songs on the album that I played after my grandmother went to work. Songs such as Notorious BIG's "Me And My B****" and "Sowhatusaying" by the South Central Cartel drove me crazy. "Throwing my clothes out the window, you see the wind blow, all my Polos and Timbos". I would rap along with Biggie and Puffy bopping my head to the beat sitting near the stereo.

"Bailing up out of the cut, Breaking them off for this 95 G thang, jumping up out that Mustang, about to let these nuts hang" I would rap along with Havoc from The South Central Cartel. I just thought that was the coolest way to start off a verse. It definitely amped you up!

RUSSELL SIMMONS (SOURCE UNKNOWN)

From "How High" featuring Method Man and Redman, "My Block" featuring 2Pac, or "Old School" featuring Isaac 2 Isaac, where they sampled the classic song "Groove With You" from the legendary Group The Isley Brothers, "The Show" Soundtrack is a five star album from start to finish. It makes you think, it makes you smile, it makes you reminisce, and it reminds you of how abstract and multi-dimensional Hip Hop can be. Everyone had a different way to tell their story, but if you understood Hip Hop you identified with it no matter how it was told.

Shout out to Russell Simmons and all of these legendary artist for creating this timeless classic! In my opinion it will always be a great piece of art and storytelling. If I were The Source Magazine I'd definitely give this five mics! Checkout the Album!

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to read my review! Enjoy your day and happy writing!

90s music
Like

About the Creator

Sakoli Norman

The world is a blank book, what you choose to fill in that blank is the purest form of creation.

Aspire to create and Create to inspire!

Check out my Instagram! @writingisthriving

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.