Beat logo

"Run Boy Run" by Woodkid Review

When Violins Sing

By Rand EinfeldtPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
1

I enjoy running, I also enjoy listening to music, a combination of both creates a sense of home for me. Before I go on a run, I usually pick a random radio station on Spotify to listen to, and I’m well on my way. I like putting my list in shuffle mode, so that I can expect the unexpected. If I like the song, I add it to my playlist. There was this one song on a run that rang beautifully in my ears. The song was "Run Boy Run" by Woodkid. I found that the title of the song was ironic because... well... I was running. Prior to listening to this song on Spotify, I only heard the intro of it being played over a meme depicting someone running away from something. I never heard it in its entirety.

As I was running, the beats matched with my breathing as well as my heart. It got me pumped, as if I was getting ready for the race of a lifetime. Or as the song would say, “The race is a prophecy.” Speaking of that, the lyrics were simple and motivative. I wish I could dissect each word to you, but certain keywords will suffice. The line “You’ll be a man, boy!” stuck out to me the most. It fit perfectly with the title of the song by using the word “boy.” The said sentence is significant. When the word “man” is associated with “boy,” it shows the level of maturity of what we can become, but we still have much to learn.

I believe the best part about this amazing song is the usage of instruments. To be more specific, the use of the violin. I’ve always been a sucker for the violin, every since I heard my sisters play it when I was young. It seemed to bring an angelic warmth to the heart when played. I felt my soul radiate from within, and my eyes glazed with tears of joy as I heard the violins sing.

The best thing about violins is that they don’t need lyrics to tell a story, in away, the instrument do sing. When a violin is strummed with vigor and passion, its voice becomes more personable. Our own theme song, if you will. We create our own lyrics when the instruments sing.

Below is the music video for the song, as well as the lyrics so that you may be able to follow along. It is also part of the soundtrack for The Umbrella Academy on Netflix. What are some songs that have inspired you? Let me know!

"Run Boy Run" by Woodkid

Run boy run! This world is not made for youRun boy run! They’re trying to catch youRun boy run! Running is a victoryRun boy run! Beauty lays behind the hillsRun boy run! The sun will be guiding youRun boy run! They’re dying to stop youRun boy run! This race is a prophecyRun boy run! Break out from societyTomorrow is another dayAnd you won’t have to hide awayYou’ll be a man, boy!But for now it’s time to run, it’s time to run!Run boy run! This ride is a journey toRun boy run! The secret inside of youRun boy run! This race is a prophecyRun boy run! And disappear in the treesTomorrow is another dayAnd you won’t have to hide awayYou’ll be a man, boy!But for now it’s time to run, it’s time to run!Tomorrow is another dayAnd when the night fades awayYou’ll be a man, boy!But for now it’s time to run, it’s time to run!
song reviews
1

About the Creator

Rand Einfeldt

I'm an inspiring story teller! When it comes to movies, books, music, you name it! I want to write about it, and give my own opinion on how they effect the human society that is constantly absorbed in nostalgic pop-culture!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.