Beat logo

Romney Lewis shares music video for "Perfect"

A video celebrating black women

By noinstatePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
photo by @alexbrunophoto

Romney released "Perfect" in April 2016 and has been patient with spreading track to make sure its properly heard. It was originally on his first album entitled "Society" and also got placed on his sophomore album "If you only knew...". He said that Chance the rapper's "So Far Gone" challenge inspired the song. The "So Far Gone challenge" was about someone rhyming over Monica's 2003 hit single "So Far Gone" about their significant other. The challenge had celebrities such as Damian Lillard, Dwyane Wade, Kevin Hart, Keke Palmer and many more partaking on social media.

Romney's second verse started as a freestyle for the "So Far Challenge".

See below for original video.

"I randomly wrote the verse and my cousin recorded the video. I never knew it'd turn into a song until I heard the instrumental that Nine-Ease created. I heard the beat and wanted to change a few things so I called my producer, Eclipse, and he made a few adjustments. I wanted to be clear about who I was talking to and celebrating. I want the song to make everyone feel good, but my intention was to make black women feel great about themselves mentally and physically. I want them to feel LOVED. In addition to that it was fun to write, I enjoy writing about celebratory things such as love, family and friends. I think the song is unique, there's not a lot of songs that apologize, take accountability and remain explicit about intent such as thing one. I hope everyone enjoys the song but I want to be clear about who the song is for."

"I WANT THEM TO FEEL LOVED"

What inspired the "Perfect" Music Video?

"The video concept was about celebrating women, I didn't know most of the girls in the video and did a casting call. I received 100 submissions but only a handful showed up for multiple reasons. I had to turn some women away because of the roof top capacity limit. It was slightly frustrating but it turned out amazing! I wore all black because the video isn't about me at all..I tried to write from the perspective empathy and support. Check it out!"

Video shot by @Alexbrunophoto. Edited by @AdamBrussell

Romney handles the record by delivering a slick, catchy and simple chorus that doubles as a bridge. “and you nothing nothing less!” and he finds himself in the zone repeating it through the whole song. Anchored with a hard beat, banging production suited to him and a soothing sample. Romney is reminding the audience of they are and that he’ll always stay true and uplift women.

What did you mean when you said "I see strength where you see a scar"?

"We've all been through things...as a man I've been through a lot and I know a lot of strong women that have gotten through worse. The difference is, I feel like strength on a man is celebrated. Strength on women isn't celebrated the same. To get that strength you will garner scars...and I don't mean only physical scars. I'm speaking about trauma too. Those are all scars but to me it just shows how much you've been through. Perfect is never about the lack of scars or blemishes, it's about celebrating those details that make us individuals. I tried to write as if I was having a conversation with a women from a carrying empathetic man. Hopefully it's relatable to everybody."

Anything else you want us to know?

"Nothing specific, if you've gotten this far in the article, thanks for reading. I'm grateful to be able to spread my music and hopefully all of you enjoy my music as much as me."

Check out more from Romney Lewis below

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

noinstate

writer by day, typos by night...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.