Beat logo

Review: Paramore - Riot! (2007)

Is there more to this classic emo kid album than Misery Business?

By Victoria (@fodmapfeasts)Published 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Artist: Paramore

Album: Riot!

Genre: Alternative Rock/Pop Punk

Released: June 2007

Album length: 38:58/11 tracks

Background

Paramore is a rock band from Tennessee, formed in 2004. Hayley Williams is the band's well-known vocalist. Riot! is the band's second studio album: a mainstay on the playlist of every emo kid for a couple of years with its pop punk vibe, angst-filled lyrics and Hayley's fiery hair.

The track breakdown

On repeat: Let the Flames Begin, Crushcrushcrush , When It Rains

Skip it: None of it!

For the gym (150+ BPM): Misery Business, Fences

---

For a Pessimist, I'm Pretty Optimistic is a great start to the album with nice little bits of electric guitar and drumming thrown in. I love the angsty lyrics "you never wanted to stay, I put my faith in you, so much faith, and then you just threw it away" which I seriously related to as a (unrequited) lovestruck teenager. And I still sing along to it today.

That's What You Get is another one of their singles, and best known early song alongside Misery Business. It's another song about why you shouldn't give into the silly whims of the heart. Hayley's voice on this sounds great, and I like the way the instruments are quieter to give her the spotlight outside of the bridge and chorus.

Hallelujah is a gorgeous little track that's got some real love song vibes. Hayley's vocals on this are wonderful and really shows off the tones in her voice. There's catchy riffs and nice drumming to accent her vocals nicely. The last couple of lines show off a more powerful side to her voice too, which is great to hear, and we hear more of that through this album. I didn't realise this had been released as a single for this album until I researched it for this review - it's a good choice.

Misery Business is the classic Paramore track. Hayley has since discussed her pretty dire slut-shaming on the track's second verse, and has said it's not something she agrees with now; they've stopped playing it live. I guess we were all edgy, ignorant teenagers at some point, and she wasn't immune to that, but acknowledging it is really bold on her part, and props to her.

Musically it's one of the best on the album, there's even a guitar solo! The storytelling (apart from the internalised misogyny) is great as well, and alongside the cheeky music video, it leaves you feeling that second-hand vindication. I can easily see why it was so popular.

When It Rains is a seriously pretty track; there's even some piano thrown in. The lyrics are sad but beautiful, and there's a lot of feelings I (obviously) related heavily to as a teenager, and Hayley's vocals on this are really stunning. One of my favourites.

Take these chances to turn it around

Take these chances, we'll make it somehow

Let the Flames Begin is probably my favourite Paramore song. Hayley's voice on this track is phenomenal and the lyrics really give off feelings of strength from weakness; they're full of hope. The music on this song is awesome too; there's great drumming and the guitar is excellent.

Miracle is one of the tracks that doesn't really grab me on this album until it hits the chorus. It picks up really nicely after that though, and Hayley's vocals are gorgeous as always. The lyrics seem to touch upon depression and the crawl out of it. Miracle isn't one I listen to outside of the album, but it's not terrible by any means.

Crushcrushcrush is another favourite, and another single from the album. I really like the way this song is put together. It's super catchy, a great drumbeat throughout, as well as Hayley's edgier vocals on this track. I feel like it's a bit repetitive towards the end, but the outro is awesome.

We Are Broken is a song I cried over so many, many times as a deeply depressed teenager, so it's really strange listening to it now! Apparently it's written as a prayer to God, and it's a truly stunning song even for non-believers like me. It's seriously well put together song with the smallest little additions that just take the song up to another level. Really beautiful.

Fences is a welcome cheerier track after We Are Broken. Fences was actually my first ever Paramore song, and it hooked me! It's really catchy, and discusses the media's impact on a star, and having to pretend you're okay even when you aren't. This is another track with a guitar solo, which is a cool addition. The outro is great too. Still enjoy listening to it!

Born for This is a song for the band's fans. I really like how this song is constructed too; the guitar and drumming throughout is awesome, and Hayley's vocals are stunning. The bridge's little distorted interjection of "we want the airwaves back" designed to sound like it's over a radio is a really neat touch. Great finish to the album.

In summary

It's pretty strange coming back to this album from a critical standpoint after absolutely loving it and recalling how emotional, depressed teen me used to cry and yell along to this album. How times have changed - I even managed to get through We Are Broken without crying (okay I felt that nose tingle)!

I still enjoy the whole album (and know every lyric), even if I don't relate to it anywhere as near as much now that I'm an adult. I still enjoy the little hooks, deeper lyrics and the general feel of the album. I was shocked to see it's less than 40 minutes long; thankfully it doesn't feel that short when you're listening to it.

If you somehow avoided this album and its singles in peak emo years, you will lack the nostalgia attached to it that I have, and maybe I'm a teeny bit biased here when I say I. Love. It.

I'd recommend listening to Let The Flames Begin if you've not already heard that incredible track, as well as the stunning We Are Broken as long as you don't mind the risk of repressed tears resurging from your teen years.

Overall, I love the album and the way none of the tracks feel out of place on it, even with a ballad or two against the pop punk sass of Misery Business.

I'm cutting off a point for the boring intro for Miracle, and the repetitiveness on Crushcrushcrush (in a 3 minute song, how?) and that'll be it from me!

Album rating: 9/10

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Victoria (@fodmapfeasts)

Everything from tasty low-FODMAP recipes, to album reviews, to mental health topics.

You can follow me on IG for more delicious recipes: https://www.instagram.com/fodmapfeasts/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.