Beat logo

Review of 2 Chainz's 'Pretty Girls'

Two weeks later and here’s my review 2 Chainz’s fourth album, 'Pretty Girls Like Trap Music.'

By Sadé SanchezPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

Pretty Girls Like Trap Music serves as a follow up to his 2016 ColleGrove. Debuting at No. 2 on the Billboard 200, Pretty Girls is his second highest ranking album. His first album, Based on a T.R.U. Story, debuted No. 1 back in 2012. He spoke with Billboard about the album’s big debut.

"I feel real good. I feel real blessed and humbled by it. Hard work pays off. I prayed for this album to be number one. I put a lot of effort into this album. I put a lot of resources together for this album, so it feels good to celebrate it on a night like tonight."

The 16-track album has producers from the likes of Mike WiLL Made-It, Ducko Mcfli, Mano, Mike Dean, CuBeatz, Murda, Buddah Bless and more on it. As far as features, we hear from Gucci Mane, Quavo, Travi$ Scott, Nicki Minaj, Swae Lee, Drake, Jhené Aiko, Trey Songz, Ty Dolla $ign, Migos, Pharrell Williams, and Monica.

The features on the album are notable, Nicki Minaj for one. She did have a couple of nice bars, but of course, Nicki threw a jab at Remy Ma: “Papoose wrote a ‘Ether’ record / I broke Aretha record.” I’m sure Remy taking home that award, ending Nicki's streak, shut her up alright.

But I digress.

The features are all good choices, but I think 2 Chainz really did make this album. As in, this is him. This is his album, no one outshines him. They compliment him, as they should. You may think an artist having features on their album doesn’t affect the dynamic, but it does. Some artists almost let their features take over the song. Well, that doesn't happen here in Pretty Girls.

I’ll admit, I was never a real fan of 2 Chainz. I wasn’t dismissive but I just wasn’t looking for his music. However, that has changed with Pretty Girls Like Trap Music. Before I get into the deep part of the album, oh man does 2 Chainz throw some jabs. He does speak about this new era of artists with lyrics like “Substance shallow on shit creek” and “Man, fuck all that mumble shit.” I was snapping away, like “Go ahead, tell ‘em.”

Pretty Girls Like Trap Music embodies 2 Chainz. It’s some real shit laid over a trap beat. As he looks to the past, he enjoys the present and looks to the future. He’s all about continuing to work hard and being able to enjoy his life now. With all that said, he reaches out to his listeners to say it’s all about the grind, just “believe in yourself,” and you’ll make it. With messages like “If you’re hearing this right now, you’re a miracle,” to say you’re blessed you’re alive and don’t take it for granted.

The content of this album is a bit different, and refreshing. In my first run, I liked the album. Then the last track, “Burglar Bars” with Monica, came on and I loved it. I might be wrong, but this is the first time 2 Chainz has gotten this deep. For me at least, I never heard a song from him of the same magnitude. The messages and sentiments of “Burglar Bars” echo throughout the album, but it all comes together in that last track.

2 Chainz is going on his Pretty Girls Like Trap Music Tour. Starting in LA July 9th and he circles around the country, goes into Canada, then ends the tour in Las Vegas on September 22nd. More tour dates are available above, and you can purchase them here.

Pretty Girls Like Trap Music is hands down 2 Chainz's best album yet. It shows a lot of growth as, not only an artist, but a person. It is definitely worth a listen. Stream the album above via Spotify, or Apple Music, but make sure you cop yourself a copy via iTunes.

album reviewscelebrities
Like

About the Creator

Sadé Sanchez

I'm a 20-something year old who's obsessed with music, and sometimes I write about it. I hope you enjoy my ramblings.

IG: @writtenbysade

@thelyricalfixpod

@checkit.openmic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.