Beat logo

Releasing Music Is Fun?!

"Now it is time to put it out for people to hear."

By Kasper ParkPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I just finished a seven song project called Network. The genre for this project is not singular. It encompasses a broad range of hip-hop, soul, and trap. I meant for these to be truly expressive soundtracks of different times in my life. Honesty was a big part of achieving that. I had to say things I hear no one else saying. This is something was very difficult and strenuous as you can imagine. The mission was to give similar messages in a completely unique way. At the same time, it had to remain relatable. I believe people listen to more relatable tracks. It’s feels nice to hear a song that describes something you have gone or are going through.

I’ve been working on it for the past nine months. Different songs happen at different times since I wanted to be spontaneous. The best takes happen for me when I am feeling the music not reciting it. I'm sure a lot of other artists can relate. Improvising can reward great results for the artist. When your expression is natural and aligns with your desired vision; it's bliss. That being said not all songs were made the same way. Some songs were recorded in one night while others had to be re-recorded and crafted over a span of months. A lot of time and effort when into this, a lot more than any other project I’ve ever completed.

Now it is time to put it out for people to hear. It is weird because for the past nine months no one has heard these songs except a select few. Still, no one has grown to love them as I do. The thing that connects humans to music is the emotional realm. This is the divide between the artist and the audience. No one else really understands the piece like the artist, me. No one as seen them grown from nothing like I did... sounds like I’m talking about a kid. No one has felt the shares the connections I have already made. Anyway, I am super anxious to put this project out. There are so many mixed emotions about how it will be accepted and perceived. How will people I don’t know perceive it? How will people close to me perceive it? It’s a bunch to take in and process. The process can be so personal and intimate the end goal creeps off your radar. So focused on getting everything perfect, one somehow forgets the whole point is to share with others. Since I don’t hear other artists expressing this narrative, I’ll say it. Releasing music is not as fun as it seems.

I want to be perfectly clear; releasing music can be a very fun process. At the same time, it can be stressful wondering the type of response your creation will get. The duality of releasing music and exposing people to your art for the first time is well and alive... It is upon the artist to decide what kind of experience it will be. It can be a fun exciting thing where you can't wait for other people to hear what you have created. This positive mindset is ideal for artists seeking stable careers. Getting pumped for your own releases will not only attract others, but it will make you feel better about yourself. It's okay to be nervous. Most of the time when you're nervous, you are doing something right. You are taking part in something you usually wouldn't. This is how you grow as a person and as an artist.

Feel free to leave your thoughts. I want to know what others think...

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.