Beat logo

Ranking Every Song Harry Styles Has Ever Covered

& we need studio versions of them. like, now.

By hannah irelanPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

"Harry Styles: Live on Tour" birthed some of the best live covers I've ever heard in my life, seriously. Some of these songs, I've literally only heard Harry's version, and now, I can't un-hear them, and let's be clear: I don't think I want to.

16. "Hey Ya!" (covered on Carpool Karaoke)

The only reason this song sits lowest on my list is because I wasn't privileged to hear it in its entirety. Literally, that's it.

15. "The Horses"

The only version of this song that I've heard is Harry's. Because of this, I don't think it would be fair to judge it too high on my list. I'm sure Harry did a phenomenal cover, I just would like to have the chance to hear the original before I give a final ranking.

14. "Wild Thoughts"

This song isn't one of my favorites anyway. With that being said, Harry took a song that I wouldn't have listened to again and made it into something that gets stuck in my head each time I hear it. That's talent.

13. "Endless Love" (covered on Carpool Karaoke)

THIS. Just this. James + Harry? The collab we literally never knew we needed. And let's be clear: Harry is one phenomenal Lionel Ritchie.

12. "Stop Draggin' My Heart Around" (Duet with the Stevie Nicks)

Okay. This is royalty. This whole performance literally deserves to be framed and appreciated for the true work of art that it is.

11. "Leather and Lace" (with Stevie Nicks)

Every time Harry performs with Stevie, I swear his voice is better. It's clear that he's happiest when he's singing with her. You can hear it in the way he sings so effortlessly without fear of hitting a wrong note. He's simply having fun, and you can hear it in the way he's so at ease.

10. "Story of My Life"

It's hard for me to hear 1D songs without the other boys, but I love Harry's covers of these songs when he was on tour. It's clear that when he's singing them, all those memories come flooding back. It's amazing that we have the chance to share those times with him.

9. "What Makes You Beautiful"

This song was so special. This song is so full of some of the best memories, and to make matters even better, Harry took this song and really made it his own.

8. "Stokholm Syndrome"

Harry wrote this song. It was really special to hear Harry perform it solo for the first time. The glimmer in his eye as he sang a song that was so personal to him was such a refreshing moment to us.

7. "Just a Little Bit of Your Heart"

This is one of my favorite songs that Harry has ever written. His broken heart isn't something that I love to know exists, but it sure does create some damn good tunes.

6. "Still the One"

I really wish I could've heard this more than just once. It really deserves to be part of Harry's setlist. This song was made for Harry's voice; I'm sure of it.

5. "Landslide" (alongside Stevie Nicks)

The way Harry was so emotional during this entire performance really lended itself to the song as a whole. We could tell that he was on the brink of tears the entire time, and that really made me tune in and really listen to him. And of course, the breakdown at the end just sent me over the edge.

4. "If I Could Fly"

I'm not sure I would survive 1D performing this song live. I can barely make it through Harry's solo rendition. The way he dramatically pauses before Louis' line, and how he gives the crowd the stage for the second to last chorus? Yeah, I'm living.

3. "Girl Crush"

That high note though. Enough said.

2. "The Chain"

I love Harry's cover of this Fleetwood Mac classic, almost as much as I adore the original. This man and Fleetwood Mac seriously need to collab. Like, now.

1. "Ultralight Beam"

I'm not even kidding you, I listen to this at least once a day, and I would kill for a studio version. I cannot get enough of the literal perfection that is that performance.

list
Like

About the Creator

hannah irelan

24, treat people with kindness, always support the small joys of others

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.