Beat logo

Quarantine Music Therapy

Here is a multicultural, multigenerational playlist to get your day going from the moment you rise out of bed to that last minute of your workday.

By Geomara FloresPublished 4 years ago 10 min read
2
Quarantine Music Therapy
Photo by Peter Conlan on Unsplash

If there is something that’s kept me sane during quarantine its music. I find music as my own personal mental health booster. I often go to sleep with music and find dancing at the most random moments the most perfect form of self-expression and therapy a human can have.

My Spotify is full of playlists where I mostly collect songs I hear, I get from people, or discover within the app itself. I have hours and hours of music which people might think are the most random playlists because they are curated by feeling rather than by genres or artists. My brain gets stimulated by different types of beats together and the feelings they create so in my playlists you can go from What is Love by Haddaway to James Blunt – 1973 to La Rubia Remix 2 - La Nueva Escuela (Dembow) to Detroit 3AM by David Guetta (EDM).

If you think about it, if aliens came to this planet, I think they would be most impressed by the ability humans have to convey different emotions and feelings through sound. Depending on the lyrics and the melody, we can find ourselves immersed in our most hurtful/nostalgic emotions or shaken up to move our body with pure joy and ecstasy.

I am pretty sure you are bound to find a song here that gets you jamming or singing out loud. At least it does it for me multiple times a day while I work from my home office and I’ve found that listening to these songs motivates and helps me to go through another day in isolation. As humans we need emotional connections and music provides just that feeling, especially during lonely times.

Let’s highlight some of my favorite songs here and why I chose them.

MANIAC – MICHAEL SEMBELLO

This song just makes me happy and joyful, it brings out all of what is me. It doesn’t matter if I am sad or happy. I will dance this song wherever and whenever I listen to it. I grew up listening to 80's music in Ecuador thanks to my mom. I remember having no idea what the lyrics were but I always went crazy with her to this song.

I WAS MADE FOR LOVIN' YOU – KISS

This song is absolutely amazing! definitely a karaoke go to, road trip go to, it's just a classic! I love it because I am all about passion and love. This song is the epitome of letting someone know you love them with style and passion.

DANCIN – AARON SMITH FT KRONO

Love this song because random dancing is my favorite activity to cope with my quarantine blues. The beat starts slow and then picks up to rev up my spirit and jam while I get out of bed and start my day. Also captures how badly I want to hit the dance floor! This song also reminds me of my little sister who I have not been able to see or hug in days

Which in turn reminds me of my parents….

MONSOON – AMBER MARK

This one gets me in the feels hard! It reminds me of my parents, especially my mom. The food she made and the hugs and bendiciones she gave me every time I used to go over her house. I miss her, her hugs and her food so much!

BLINDING LIGHTS –THE WEEKND

This song is officially my quarantine song. I love the modern 80's take he did on this album. It brings me back to my love for 80's music while stimulating my brain and body to start random dancing. It has the same effect as Maniac on me.

GOD IS A DANCER – TIËSTO FT MABEL

I think I mentioned I like dancing... a lot. This song's beat and tempo just make me want to get off my chair and dance. Also I feel sexy as hell with this song.

ALLERGIC –POST MALONE

The tempo switches when he says Allergic! Allergic! hype me up so much.

PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS – KID CUDI, MGMT, RATATAT & STEVE AOKI

Aren't we all just trying to find happiness? Definitely the one that starts the craziness in my room! That drop at 2:30 just gets me moving in my chair so hard.

SAFAERA AND YO PERREO SOLA– BAD BUNNY

Because every Latina woman (some men) out there are mourning the fact these two fire songs dropped and quarantine did not let us dance them at the club. The moment the dance floors open I am breaking my back dancing these two songs. Bonus? The number of drunk friends that will be made to these songs is unimaginable! Everyone will be on the same vibe the moment one of these songs start playing! I picture everyone will react like the it's happening! gif from The Office when these songs start playing.

AZUL – J BALVIN

This song just oozes summer vibes! Beach, drinks, long drives with friends. I need summer to be open this year. I just see myself soaking in the sun at the beach and getting drinks at the tiki bar with friends.

HEY JUDE – BEATLES

Definitely one that brings hope and so much love to my chest, the mellow beat plus the positive lyrics are so encouraging – I find 2:44 – 3:34 so relatable to these isolation weeks.

STAYING ALIVE – BEE GEES

Because we are literally trying to stay sane in isolation and there are actual people working hard to beat this virus. Plus, who doesn’t start jamming to this song! The beat is at least bound to make you shake your head.

OCEAN EYES – BILLIE EILISH

Because there was someone who had eyes like water who I was in love with but sadly it didn't work out. The song brings me the feeling of looking at that someone’s eyes.

While you are at it complement with ……

YOUR SOUL – BISKWIQ

Also the same person, such a beautiful soul. This song oozes summer and beach vibes. Tequila and bonfires at sunset please!

YOUTH – GLASS ANIMALS AND COOL OUT- MATTHEW E. WHITE

The vibe is just amazing for chilling at the beach over sunset with friends over a bonfire. Perfect for a drive before sunset as well.

For Youth:

His voice is so sexy! 0:19

Best part of the song: 0:40 to 1:20

PASS THE HOURS BY MORMOR

Literally what I do during quarantine, but this song makes me happy the beat is upbeat and soft.

FLAME – SUNDARA KARMA

Read Plato's Allegory of the Cave then listen to this song.

MOONSHINE – BRUNO MARS

Such lovely memories to that song. I fell in love to someone driving around to that song and it captures that relationship so beautifully. I can karaoke the hell out of that song as well, just saying.

BEST ON EARTH –RUSS, BIA

This song is absolute fire! I love this song because of the sexy beat, honest lyrics (because all of us women need to start feeling like the best on earth) It’s bound to make you grind on your chair and think about someone to do that with as well.

WILD THOUGHTS – RIHANNA AND FOCUS – BAZZI & 21 SAVAGE

Because quarantine is HARD if you are single… YOU know what I mean!

WILD LIKE THE WIND – DEORRO

All this alone time has helped me embark in this inner personal journey. One of the lessons learned is that I am enough and I absolutely love myself and the person I am. I have embraced the wild child inside of me and I am absolutely loving it.

WALK ON WATER AND WHO WE ARE – GATTÜSO

These two songs are so empowering, I just listen to them on repeat to feel self-empowered in my own skin. I definitely get hyped up when they play.

TE QUIERO – HOMBRES G (ROCK EN ESPAÑOL)

Old throwback to my childhood. I get so many feels, I sing this top of my lungs every time. It definitely captures the emotion if you have a special someone but are missing them like crazy for any reason.

Translation: 1:35

I need to see you

wherever you are,

I love you, I love you, I love you

And there is no other thing but think about you

I just live and breathe for youuuu

DE MUSICA LIGERA – SODA ESTEREO (ROCK EN ESPAÑOL)

This is a South American Rock en Español music anthem, play this song in a party and South Americans will most likely yell it out top of their lungs. Clubs play it when the party is about to be over. Accompany with Lamento Boliviano by Enanitos Verdes and your crowd of Latinos will go home happy. It’s literally about how music is the only thing you need.

The guitar solo at 1:55 is fire! Gives me Nirvana vibes.

FROM EDEN – HOZIER

This song is perfect for a chill afternoon or an early morning song to get your day started.

Backstory - I dedicated this song to someone I loved with all my heart. I think it captures his personality in the melody and lyrics and just the overall feeling of the song. So direct and honest. We were not compatible as a couple so nothing but good feels for that love. I learned so much about myself and regardless of our end I became a better person because of it.

Talking about love! for a romantic mix of love and sex listen to:

CRUSH, SWEET, HEAVENLY, AND TOUCH – CIGARETTES AFTER SEX

I discovered Cigarettes After Sex while in quarantine and I will never be so grateful for it. Me planning a weekend trip to London to go see them as soon as this is over is how much I love them. Simply put, if love had sound this band captured it and commercialized it.

SOMETHING GOOD, UNTIL MORNING, TEAR IT APART – JAMES VICKERY

James Vickery just has the sexiest voice; To put it bluntly his voice just gets you in the mood. Play your lady Until Morning and let me know if it doesn’t work.

OTRO TRAGO –SECH, OZUNA, ANUEL

This song is first in the Latino breakup song list if you are on the road of overcoming heartbreak. I love reggaeton songs that talk about break up because they hype you up and are about being sexy, independent and obviously moving on by dancing your way through the pain.

1973 – JAMES BLUNT

This song brings me so much nostalgia. He captures the feeling of nostalgia so perfectly; it is hands down one of my favorite songs of all time. I read this song is based on a real lady he met named Simona whom he met in Pacha nightclub on the Mediterranean Island of Ibiza.

Talking about nostalgia...

HOTEL CALIFORNIA – THE EAGLES

This is a must for any playlist and a great song to sing top of your lungs in a long drive. Especially after dusk, when the highway is just about to go pitch dark. It has been one of my favorite songs since I was a child. I heard it in Ecuador and I fell in love with it. I've always been a sucker for nostalgia AND I definitely dance to forget.

POPCORN (GATTUSO REMIX) & RAVE BY STEVE AOKI

Those drops are pure FIRE!!!

list
2

About the Creator

Geomara Flores

I’m Geo, a writer, illustrator, and Marriage and Family Therapy graduate student. I believe in the importance of information and knowledge, and I write about psychology, mental health, spirituality, and social justice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.