Beat logo

Quando Non Ci Sei (When You Are Not Here)

Stefano Pesapane (Bentley Records) continues to add to new music to an already impressive discography.

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2

A genre-bending composer, multi-instrumentalist, and producer from Latina, Italy, Stefano Pesapane has become a unique and wonderfully engaging fixture of the modern music scene. With a sound that journeys through smooth jazz, vibrant EDM, and downtempo grooves, Stefano’s music is a world unto itself.

- BROKEN 8 RECORDS

Tell us a little bit about yourself. Do you come from a musical family? Your (music) background?

My parents were music fans so radio at home was playing music all day long, mostly Italian pop songs and everything started from there.

I started playing drums at the age of 8 and at the age of 16 I was playing in nightclubs and bars.

I perfected my studies at Centro Jazz St. Louis in Rome (1977-81) and at Berklee College Music during the Umbria Jazz Summer School (1988).

With a band called "The Nightworkers" I spent two years playing around the Mediterranean Sea (Italy, Morocco, Greece) while, in 1987, I joined Rocky Roberts orchestra, touring across Italy, later

I was session man for musicians such as Sonny Costanzo, Tony Scott and many others.

Since 2020, I'm under contract with Bentley Records.

While under contract with Bentley Records Stefano Pesapane has released the singles Neon Bends, Powered By The Sun, MamboTambo, Never Say Goodbye, Urban Flow, Changes, After All" ,"SoulCity", "Crossing Hearts" and "Quando Non Ci Sei"

What is it about music that makes you feel passionate?

The opportunity that music gives to create from nothing and the energy and the magic that comes out of it.

Do you have a preferred genre?

Jazz is the basis of my musical education so starting from there R&B, Soul, Funk and so on.

Tell us a bit about your new song release “Quando Non Ci Sei”?

It's about missing a very special person, with the hope to meet up soon.

Do you have any other plans relating to this release? A video?

Not a full video yet but I'm releasing reels on IG and Tiktok

Do you create and release or do you plan each release? Any plans for an EP or album?

A little bit of both, the aim is to release a song every two months or so but it depends a lot on inspiration and mood. I'm planning to release a new EP soon which will include my last five songs.

Are there any challenging aspects to writing and/or recording your music?

Putting everything together in order to give meaning and life to just a basic idea it's something very challenging.

You have an impressive discography. Where did the ideas come from? What is your creative process like?

I start building up my tracks from a drum beat and a chord progression.

In terms of the overall composition, do you have a favorite song and why?

I do not have a favorite song but I like Donald Fagen and Steely Dan work among the others.

What song do fans seem to favor?

As per what I see in my reports, I would say Quando Non Ci Sei, After All and Changes.

Do you, or would you like to, perform live?

It is not in my plans at he moment but the door is open.

Which of your songs is, or do you think would be, fun to perform live?

Quando Non Ci Sei

Has your style evolved since the beginning of you career?

During my musical career, I went through almost all the musical styles and what I am today is the sum and synthesis of all my previous experiences.

What do you enjoy most about being a musician?

To be able to share my vision of the life with the rest of the world.

Playing live or recording in studio? Do you have a preference?

Live is adrenaline, studio is rationality, I enjoy both.

Are there any musicians who inspire you? What qualities do you admire about them?

I have a couple of musicians that insipired or are inspiring me, just to name a few, Donald Fagen/Steely Dan for the beautiful taste and balance of their songs Chet Baker for the magic of his sound, Prince for his genius, Pat Metheny/Lyle Mays for the elegance and vision of their music.

Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? If so, what would be your first stop?

The door is open, Japan is one of my favorite.

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

Growing as a person, keep learning as much as possible and being able to share my emotions, moods and feelings with other people.

Are you currently working on any projects we should look out for?

I'm working on a new single and I'm planning to release a new EP in the next couple of weeks, so stay tuned :)

Is there something you would like to say, that we didn't cover?

Music is a wonderful thing. Thank you!

interview
2

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.