Beat logo

Presenting Depeche Mode

A quick review on a few of my favorite songs and more

By Jasmine AguilarPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Dave Gahan Bilbao BBK Live 2009 II.jpg via Wikimedia commons

Sooner or later, I was going to write about yet another one of my favorite bands — Depeche Mode. However, with the recent passing of Andy Fletcher (a.k.a. Fletch) on May 26, I thought now would be a good time to go ahead and write about Depeche Mode and a few of my favorite songs of theirs and then some.

Depeche Mode is a New Wave / Alternative Rock band hailing from Basildon, Essex, England since 1980. With the use of synthesizers, Depeche Mode’s songs have a very unique and memorable sound to them.

The band now consists of lead singer Dave Gahan and guitarist and keyboardist Martin Gore. Gore is also Depeche Mode’s main songwriter. Formerly the band also consisted of keyboardist Andy Fletcher (now deceased), songwriter, arranger, and producer Alan Wilder, Vince Clark who was Depeche Mode’s main songwriter before his departure, and keyboardist, bass guitarist, and backing vocalist, Peter Gordeno.

Interesting fact:

Depeche Mode fans are called Devotees. This is based on their 1993 album, Songs of Faith and Devotion. It was their number one album.

Note: Songs are in no particular order.

“Enjoy the Silence”

This has to be my all-time favorite Depeche Mode song and the one that they are probably best known for. It was also their top hit within the U.S. From the very beginning to its very end, this song has an edgy tune that is seriously catchy with lyrics that are memorable.

The lyrics and tune are both a little dark but at the same time, they’re also a bit relatable. At times, we could all use some peaceful silence if only for a moment. I don’t think I could ever get tired of this song.

“Just Can’t Get Enough”

This is a fun and perhaps more upbeat song compared to their other ones. It has a fun tune that will fit perfectly under a party playlist. They actually play this song on a Fidelity commercial (U.S.) I just noticed it while watching T.V. as I worked on this article!

“Never Let Me Down”

I’m taking a ride with my best friend!

This is such a fun song! It is my favorite Depeche Mode song right after “Enjoy the Silence”.

This song is perfect for listening and jamming to during a drive/road trip. The whole song is phenomenal, but my favorite part is closer towards the end when it picks up in intensity and in which I can really get into it.

Strangelove

If you like “Never Let Me Down", you might like “Strangelove” as it has somewhat similar beats to it. I haven’t heard this song in a while, so it was a treat to hear it again as I went through and played some Depeche Mode songs.

Personal Jesus

This song has a good and steady beat. To me, it’s easy to get into from the very start.

People Are People

This is actually the very first Depeche Mode song I ever heard. You’d think it might have been “Enjoy the Silence”, but no. This was the song that introduced me to Depeche Mode. I always thought this song was catchy and it piqued my interest to discover even more Depeche Mode songs.

Policy of Truth

This is a great song to listen to while just chilling whether via headphones or the stereo.

Bonus Interesting Fact:

Depeche Mode got their name based on the French magazine Dépêche mode. It loosely translates to “fashion news”.

This was a fun article to write and even more fun going back and listening to some Depeche Mode. Of course, these are just a few of their songs. Are you a fellow fan of Depeche Mode? What are your favorite songs?

bands
2

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I enjoyed reading this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.