Beat logo

Playlist of a 90's Stripper

Dance, Baby, Dance

By Marilyn GloverPublished 3 years ago Updated 11 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - June 2023
45
Playlist of a 90's Stripper
Photo by Alfonso Scarpa on Unsplash

In my 20s, I loved clubbing and dancing the night away. A couple of weekends a month, I would get a babysitter for my two young daughters and hit the club scene with my girlfriends. It was a great way to unwind, socialize with old pals, and meet new people. I enjoyed getting a break from my usual mom gear (t-shirts & jeans, or sweats) to swap out for some heels, a sexy new dress, a fresh hairdo, and makeup. Oh, those sure were the days. My friends and I could move on that dance floor which caught much attention.

I will never forget the night a young man dropped a pile of $1 bills down on me from an upper seating level in a club. He approached me afterward, telling me that I should be a stripper. This immediately became a dare made by my friends, one of which I made good on that summer.

At 24, I packed up my daughters and moved from Pittsfield, Massachusetts, to Utica, New York. Before this, I had performed at various clubs throughout the tri-state region, scouting out the scene until choosing a stable location. I gained experience in the adult entertainment world but ultimately wanted to settle in one place to raise my children. In Utica, I found a juice bar and, for the next two years, became a permanent fixture known as a “House Girl.”

The revolving circuit scene gave me a good idea of all the personalities I would encounter and answers to safety concerns and club etiquette before taking my permanent home in upstate New York. In addition, I was greeted by several other young stripper moms, all single mothers. Believe it or not, I had a great support system with the other girls, networking for child care, housing, shared safe rides, etc. Sure, there are typical downsides to this type of business, but my experiences were mostly positive.

My playlist includes my ten favorite songs used in my 1995 & 96 performances. Like every stripper, I had a genre of music that I preferred; mine was dance, rhythm and blues, and a bit of rap. A typical set for dancers is 2 or 3 songs depending on the number of girls scheduled to work on a particular shift. I generally would pick one upbeat tune followed by a slowdown. Even though my stripper days are long behind me, I still use these songs to work out at home. Dancing is an excellent form of exercise and a whole lot of fun.

My first set of 2 songs is by Aaliyah, one of my favorite female artists from the '90s. I didn’t necessarily choose multiple pieces by the same artist in one set, but I loved her voice. Later in my life, I went on to name one of my twins Aaliyah who, just like the artist, sadly passed away.

Set number 2 begins with the La Bouch, a German- American electronic music duo. They had several popular hits, including “Be My Lover” and “Sweet Dreams.” This hit was one of the top picks for the dance genre. The second song, “Who Can I Run T0,” is by Xscape, an all-girl group who’s cd often played on repeat at my apartment.

Set number 3 goes to Method Man and Mary J. Blige with “All I Need” and Mariah Carey and ODB with “Fantasy” remix. Sometimes I would perform sets that did not include any slower pace music. I loved mixing things up, and “Fantasy” is one of my top picks for stage performance songs.

Set number 4 is “Never gonna get it” by En Vogue and “Sweetest Taboo” by Sade. “Never gonna get it” was probably one of my best- choreographed numbers. I love the energy of this song. Although “Sweetest Taboo” is not a 90’s song, it will always be on my playlist. This hit came out in 1985, and I had never heard of anyone like Sade before. There is a very sensual appeal to her music.

My 5th and final set is “Sexy MF” by Prince and “How do you like it” by Keith Sweat featuring Left Eye. The Late and Great Prince is one of my all-time favorite performers, and there is no way I would exclude his music. Besides, his style is fitting to the strip club environment. I used to get an uproar of approval with this one. Finally, I close out with Keith Sweat, who has some of the best old-school songs. This choice was a massive hit, especially when paired with Left Eye from TLC.

It has been 25 years since my stripper days, but I still listen to my playlist, dancing at home. I worked as an exotic dancer for a short period, but I appreciate dance on an even greater level from my experiences. Dance is an art, but you do not have to be a professional or a stripper to enjoy it or benefit. So find some music you like, perhaps something from my list above, and make space in your living room. Get comfortable; turn the tunes up and dance, baby, dance!!

90s music
45

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

I am a top Medium writer, editor, and owner of the publication Third Eye Gypsy. Poetry and spirituality are my favorite genres, and I like writing about topics often left untouched. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Simona Rosso10 months ago

    Congratulations on your win, I loved your story!

  • I enjoyed this so much! Loved your music here! Congratulations on your win! I've subscribed to you!

  • Denise Larkin10 months ago

    This was a well-deserved second-place win. So uplifting and deely expressive with lots of great artists and tunes. Congrats.

  • Raymond G. Taylor10 months ago

    Well done for a deserved win. Inspiring and upbeat story.

  • Joe Patterson10 months ago

    My condolences. I love this list, Aaliyah is one of my all time favorite artist as well. Liked and subscribed.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Nicely done. Congrats on the win.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Congrats on your win! I really enjoyed this story/playlist that brought back memories. So sorry for your loss. May Both Aaliyahs continue resting in heaven 🙏💖.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    A great read and a lot of great music. Congratulations on the win!

  • Neesem Khan10 months ago

    congratulations on Top Story! I love ❤ it..

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Congrats on your win! I’ve been planning on doing my own playlist here on Vocal from my stripper days. I keep saying I will do it, then think of something else to write. I enjoyed seeing your song selection.

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Congratulations 🎊

  • Congratulations on your win 🏆 🎉😉This Playlist is Awesome ❤️❗

  • Scott Christenson10 months ago

    Thanks for the playlist, I didn't know most of these songs. At my job we would take customers to a few strip bars in NYC back in the 90s, that Sade song def brings back the mood. (Was so scary watching that movie about customers being drugged at Scores btw).The days before the internet and social media were very different.Think it was the search for human connections which made gen-x quite the rebels we were. Congrats on making the shortlist! hope this helps your writing career.

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    I did once date a girl who was in the profession, one of the sharpest minds I ever encountered, and I thought of her as I looked at your list and appreciated your taste in music. Congrats on the win (second is closer than I have ever been to the golden prize)!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Awesome music choices and I really love your story - one of such empowerment and inspiration :) Huge congrats to your placement in the challenge! 🤗❤️❤️❤️

  • Tina D'Angelo10 months ago

    Amen- strippers are the meaning of feminine empowerment. We depended on no one to take care of us and were tough businesswomen who took on the men's club.

  • K. C. Wexlar10 months ago

    This is a great list and happy you found an opportunity that worked for your family. I did a fantasy on the dark side of this for fun and would love your feedback: https://vocal.media/fiction/the-boomerang-lounge Congrats on a great piece and keep on dancing baby!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.