Beat logo

Playing Cello Music on the Flute

More music, more problems?

By Hannah HaefelePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Playing Cello Music on the Flute
Photo by Manny Becerra on Unsplash

As a flute player, I have access to TONS of fantastic solo, chamber, and orchestral pieces. The J.S. Bach Sonatas and Mozart Concertos are some well-known flute works, and many people play at least one of each.

However, there are a lot of great pieces that weren't originally written for the flute. After all, the violin, cello, keyboard, and other instruments have all been around for as long as the flute (then known as the traverso).

This inspired me to start arranging string works for the flute. That way, I can play some of my favorite pieces, and I can share them with my fellow flutists.

So, why did I arrange these works when I could technically play from the score?

Treble vs. Bass Clef

The flute plays in the treble clef, while the cello plays in bass clef. Now, since I do have two degrees in music, I can read both clefs. However, I know that a lot of flute players can't.

Even some music majors learn just enough to survive music theory and piano class. But they might not be able to read bass clef and play a lot of music on it.

I want to make famous cello works, like the Bach Cello Suites, available to any flute player who wants to play it. Sure, beginners probably can't play it, but I don't want the clef to affect that.

Instrument Mechanics

The cello and other string instruments have four strings, so you can play up to four notes at a time. With the small exception of multiphonics, you can only play one note on the flute.

Because of that, some cello pieces have double stops or triple stops, quadruple stops even. But that just isn't possible on the flute. By arranging those pieces for my instrument, I can narrow those parts to the most important note.

That way, I don't get confused when reading the music later. And I can save other musicians that same hassle. While I could mark the note I want to play, that doesn't look as clean as rewriting a piece for the flute.

More Unaccompanied Repertoire

Another thing that draws me to the Bach Cello Suites, for example, is that they're unaccompanied. Pandemic or not, I don't always get the chance to play with a piano player. So unaccompanied music gives me the chance to have music that I could perform if I wanted to.

The violin also has a lot of solo music, such as the Paganini Caprices. I've played a flute edition of those, which is great. Not only does it not have the string double stops, but the flute can't play as low as the violin.

Whether I or another musician arranges music for the flute, it will fit the range of the instrument that I play. Then, I don't have to worry about what notes to leave out or when to play something up an octave.

Sell to Others

Sure, I can read bass clef thanks to years of piano lessons. But not every flute player can. One reason I love arranging music is to make it accessible to more musicians than just me.

By arranging a piece specifically for the flute, any flute player can give it a try. They don't have to learn how to read bass clef. And they don't have to figure out which note to play when the cello part has multiple notes.

Are my arrangements the only editions of those pieces? Probably not. But as someone who's passionate about music history, I know how to arrange pieces without over-editing them and making them unrecognizable.

Don't Knock It 'Till You Try It

I love playing music for the flute on my flute. But there's something to be said for experimenting with music that was originally for other instruments.

If you're a musician and you want to play a piece, find a way to play it. Whether that means you arrange it yourself or find an existing arrangement, you can do it. Then, you can enjoy your favorite pieces as a listener and performer.

classical
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Haefele

Freelance blogger with an emphasis on music and online business | Hire me: https://hannahbflute.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.