Beat logo

Pizza For One

Vanwho's new release, 'Pizza For One', is a folk song that evokes feelings of self-reflection and loneliness.

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1

Vanwho, the independent bilingual musical project of Montréal based artist and singer-songwriter, Vanessa Boivin-Drolet, came onto the scene in 2009. She was seen on 3 episodes of ‘’The Voice’’ in Quebec in 2018 and was also a finalist on ‘’Faites comme chez vous’’ in 2015. She has played over 300 live shows in Canada, UK, Europe and the USA since day 1.

Vanwho’s music is a fusion of refined folk & grunge accents, smoky vocals, masterful whistling and tasteful, unique guitar stylings. Contemplative, ethereal, intimate and dreamy; the songs of Vanwho invite the listener on a timeless journey, and focus on the importance of our collective impact on the present moment.

Recently released ....

Pizza For One is a folk song that evokes feelings of self-reflection and loneliness. With her raw emotion as the star of the track, the luscious harmonies and silky reverb guitar brings the listener through the wave of emotions of wishing to reunite with a loved one. Throughout the track you can feel Vanwho’s complete trust that love will never fade. And really… who has never eaten a whole pizza by themselves?

Do you come from a musical family?

My dad plays guitar, my grand father is an amazing whistler, my mom always listen to music of any genre.

Is there someone or something that inspired you to be part of the music industry?

Music is my therapy, I grew up with music around at all time.

Do you have a preferred genre?

I like pretty much everything but I'd say Indie-Folk like Lucy Rose, Grizzly Bear, Radiohead, Feist, Common Holly, Gaspard Eden... But I also love punk rock, Anti-Flag/Propagandhi/Strike Anywhere / Some emo shoegaze like Ovlov, Title Fight, DIIV... It just needs to reach me out lyrically and melodically.

Tell us about your sound and what sets you apart?

Mmmmm, such a tricky and uncomfortable question haha... I simply do what I feel, I hate comparing myself to other projects.... Art is not a competition to me. There will never be too much of it.

Do you write and release or do you plan each release?

I've been writing songs since 2009, I was too broke to record them in studio then and really believed in their potential. So I've waited... I consider myself really lucky i've met Olivier Girard in 2018 because I dont even know if I would have something out yet, I've had 3 songs out before meeting him. I would say now that I tend to write and release but I also have a francophone EP coming out in winter 2022 so it always depends.

What is your creative process like? Where do the ideas come from?

I usually take an instrument, guitar or piano, build up a chord progression that makes me feel something and I start to sing melodies over it... I often end up getting some words with the melodies that leads me to a subject and then write about it.

Are there any challenging aspects to writing and/or recording your music?

Yes, especially recording. It cost a lot of money in this life. Luckily we can now record some really good quality stuff from home 🙂 The challenge in writing is that I hate to push it, I like the feeling of a song falling on my head and being inspired all of a sudden.... Most of the songs you can hear from me has been written within a day. The other challenge is that I am totally self-taught, never had class of any kind, I have hardcore ADHD that makes it really difficult to keep my concentration on, weirdly, I remember what I see but not the word that describes it. I don't even know what I'm playing HAHAHA!

Is there a hidden message in your music?

Not really, it's more of a therapy than a conspiracy I'd say haha!

Tell us about your latest song, EP, or album.

Long story short, I was deeply in love, I still am... With a man who was living in an apartment in the woods near Brattleboro, Vermont. He was on tour and I was staying over his place all by myself because I couldn't go back to Montreal cause my tires were bald and I needed to change them. So I stayed over his place, bought myself a pizza, ate it all by myself and I was scared looking out the window. Scared of bears, of coyote and anything you can imagine. Even Sharks, forest sharks... Did you hear about em'? So I wrote that song over a night, well, everything but the bridge. I wrote the bridge after we went on tour together and the pandemic hit.

Do you have any other plans relating to this release? A video?

Oh my, I would love a video of pizza for one. Will definitely try to get something out in the future for sure... I'd also love to find a sync organization who could get it on some Netflix/Amazon show.

What is the best song you ever released and why?

I seriously think Pizza For One will be my best song since I started. But best is to come!

What song do fans seem to favor?

Nos Visages is the one that even people who doesn't speak french cries while listening to it.

Which of your songs is, or do you think would be, fun to perform live?

Aaahhhhh, they are all so fun to perform live... I would say On se laisse aller because the end is totally blasting.

Tell about a magical moment or positive experience that has happened during your career.

I was a candidate on ''The Voice/La Voix'' In Quebec in 2018, that's how I've met Olivier Girard. He was one of another candidate's musician with whom I've played a show and he literally flipped out seeing me live. He asked me if I had anything recorded and I told him not really... And he took my hand, and recorded ''Nos Visages'' with me. This song got on SiriusXm, onto some really good commercial radio station in the province of Quebec and since then, I am always working with Oli.

Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? If so, what would be your first stop?

I did! And will certainly do it again. I want to go back to Europe and UK, and USA... I want to cross Canada again. I just want to play everywhere.

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

Share a peaceful message of love and bring people together a little bit more. Realize that we are all going crazy over something we literally created ourselves, money. We let people die because they don't have it and it is completely disgusting. It's not normal to feel bad because I have a roof, heat, food and water. Everyone should have that. Everyone could.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

Instagram, Spotify, Facebook.

What does the future hold for you?

Only future can tell.

Is there something you would like to say, that we didn't cover?

Thank you so so so so much for giving me this chance, I'm sorry my english is not really good. If you can correct me I would be so happy! hahaha. French is my first language.

I rarely edit the Q&A's. I like the realness.

interview
1

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.